$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Fairmont Royal York

4 stars
View map of 100 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1E3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Royal York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GMcGreen
Couples
alexandria, Virginia
Aug 8, 2012

perfect for experiencing toronto!

the staff, location and amenities and room were perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

check out the distillery district for cool brew pubs and shopping

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Live in Toronto
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 29, 2012

First experience at Fairmont Royal York

The facility/location are perfect but the room is not very spacious and no view from the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lire50
Single
New York City
Aug 27, 2012

The Lone Traveler

The Royal Fairmont's exterior was obscured by construction, however it does still present itself as a place of distinction...like "well-worn, but still taken care of, old money charm". I was told that I'd be getting a room with a view. "The view" was of huge white plastic sheets covering the scaffolding and of an office building's windows. No view of the landscape what-so-ever! I was too tired from the 14 hour train ride to ask for a room change! I decided that the room was clean and set up nicely...so I decided to stay in the view-less room! Weird Note: The comforter is covered by a tucked in white sheet! It didn't look bad...but it was strange! Bath tub sides were unusually high. I tripped getting in and out of it often! The housekeeping staff was very efficient (I had a problem with a leaky iron.). The resturants Epic and Piper's were really good. I would stay at The Royal Fairmont Hotel again, however I would upgrade my room choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

For first time Toronto visitors, take the Hop-On-Hop-Off Sightseeing 3-Day Package. It was extemely helpful and the narrative monologue by the college-age tour guides was very amusing at times!

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anton The Great
Single
New York City
Aug 8, 2012

My Trip To Toronto

The Fairmont Royal York was exceptional! This hotel offers its guests only the best. I stayed there twice and the second time was better than the first - and my first stay there was perfect! The Fairmont Royal York is truly a class act! When you come to Toronto - stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you come to Toronto - buy a TTC pass for transit. It will save you money if you plan to do a lot of traveling around the city! Great city to explore and a pass will help you with this.

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike the planner
Family
michigan
Aug 6, 2012

Great family getaway

The room was a good size for our family,but the bathroom could be a little larger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ businessman
Business
NJ USA
Jul 31, 2012

Good hotel

The hotel was good Cons: No free Internet No safe in the room Rooms are dark lighting is poor All in room dining is expensive Smell of shampoo conditioner soap is roses sweet and nauseating Pros: Great location Accommodating staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiger Joe 53
Couples
Michigan
Jul 30, 2012

Detroit Tiger getaway

The hotel was great. Only complaint was the const.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to the CN Tower, and the ball park.

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steelerfan
Family
Falls Church, VA, USA
Jul 30, 2012

Classy and convenient

Great hotel in a fabulous part of town. A throwback to a different era with all the modern conveniences. Rooms need a touch of TLC (bathroom was a little musty and wallpaper a bit damaged) but still with lots of style and definitely worth the price. Even my teenager was impressed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bacvic
Couples
New Jersey
Jul 23, 2012

Beautiful and Great Location, but...

This hotel was beautiful, impressive, and in a *perfect* location. But I felt like they spent a lot of money and detail on things like the lobby instead of in the rooms (which is what I happen to care about since that is where I am staying). The fridge was tiny and full of *really* expensive items... and you had to pay for wi-fi (also quite pricey). I can get those things at a cheap chain hotel but not at this fancy place? I was surprised to say the least. You can't beat the location and the staff though, they were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CamPac
Single
Montreal
Jul 23, 2012

Excellent hotel... but get a room as far as possible from...

I stayed two nights at the Royal York. If you arrive with Porter (Downtown aeroport), the shuttle drops you off at the door and picks you right up there too. No hassle, no taxi. Very central, walking distance form everything, subway access. However Breakfast very expensive and mini bar too. STAY AS FAR AS YOU CAN FROM A ROOM NEAR THE ELEVATOR and you feel the vibration.... super noisy if you are a light sleeper. But I recommend this hotel anyways, if like me you feel secure in a clean well know hotel (but I would not pay the regular price for it).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top