$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Fairmont Royal York

4 stars
100 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
91 reviews
Wonderful Weekend Getaway

This hotel has great old world charm. Back in the day, it was the largest hotel in the British... See full review

  • Mike and Christine
  • Aug 20, 2014
Reunion in Toronto

We arrived by train at 10 am! We just had to walk across the street!The bellman claimed our luggage... See full review

  • LinLake
  • Jun 3, 2014
Updated landmark hotel boasts modern conveniences in downtown's center
The landmark Fairmont Royal York hotel defined luxury when the city of Toronto was still in its infancy, and it continues to meet guests' high standards for first-class accommodations. Updated with modern conveniences, this classic hotel in the heart of downtown is perfect for business or leisure travel. Get a fabulous meal at one of the hotel's five restaurants. Stay connected at the business center. Work out in the fitness center, swim in the heated indoor pool, relax in the steam bath or rejuvenate with a specialized spa treatment.
Highlights
  • Luxurious accommodations in a landmark hotel
  • Magnificent hand-painted ceiling
  • Historic hotel featured in numerous Hollywood movies
Rooms

Choose from a number of spacious, elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites at the Fairmont Royal York. Standard amenities include bathrobes, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and operable windows. Some guest rooms feature gorgeous city views. Separate sleeping and sitting areas are included in all suites, but to enjoy enough space to entertain up to 16, reserve the Royal Suite. Experience truly royal treatment when reserving a Fairmont Gold guest room or suite. Private reception and check-in on the 12th floor, access to the exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge and complimentary use of a private boardroom are included.

Features

Guests enjoy a sophisticated and elegant part of Toronto's history, updated to incorporate modern conveniences, at the Fairmont Royal York. In addition to the stately rooms, the hotel features a state-of-the-art fitness center, heated indoor swimming pool and steam bath. Elevators are home to images of England's royalty, and guests can expect the royal treatment throughout the hotel, from the concierge to the on-site Spa. Original hand-painted ceilings and ornate pillars recall the hotel's past, but the five on-site restaurants and four lounges offer contemporary fare and fashionable cocktails.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Union Station (across the street)
Attractions
  • CN Tower (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harbourfront (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bloor-Yorkville (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • Fully equipped business center
  • Meeting and conference facilities available
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

43.6455 -79.3813
Area served
Nearby airports Lester B. Pearson Intl Airport, (YYZ), 32 KM; Toronto Island Airport, (YTZ), 2KM
Nearby airports
In the heart of the financial and entertainment districts, we are connected by the underground PATH Walkway to approximately 1200 shops, services and attractions, including: Hockey Hall of Fame, the Air Canada Centre, Eaton Centre and Union Station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Royal York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Royal York Rooms

Fairmont Room
Located throughout the hotel, Fairmont rooms are our traditional guestrooms, with elegant, comfortable decor. Both smoking and non-smoking Fairmont rooms are available. Rooms are approximately 250 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are larger open-concept rooms, with a sitting area as well as a sleeping area. All are located on the 1st to 11th floors, and both smoking and non-smoking Deluxe rooms are available. With their larger size, Deluxe rooms are ideal for families, or any guest who will be staying for an extended period. Rooms are approximately 500 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Gold Room
Our elegant room selection on our Fairmont Gold floors at The Fairmont Royal York include: Fairmont Gold Guest Rooms Fairmont Gold Junior Suites Fairmont Gold One Bedroom Suites

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Fort York: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.7 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Royal York brings cosmopolitan flair and dedicated expertise to conferences, meetings and banquets. Recently renovated, this elegant hotel's conference facilities meet the technological needs of modern business, while its knowledgeable staff contributes to seamlessly executed events.

Dining

EPIC Restaurant
EPIC takes a reputation for innovation and quality and infuses it with premium quality regional elements.
Benihana Japanese Steakhouse
Benihana is a fabulous teppan steakhouse experience in the heart of Toronto.
The Library Bar
The ideal venue for pre-dinner or theatre beverages, business lunches or evening cocktails.
Piper's Gastropub
Join us on our coast-to-coast journey of casual favourites with a uniquely local twist.
York Station
The smallest bar in Toronto is the meeting spot before catching the commuter train.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Royal York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marty Montessori
Business
Wasaga Beach, Ontario
Apr 29, 2013

Son's wedding inToronto

The valet was polite and helped us, the lobby beautiful as usual, the room was clean. The only issue is that we could not see out our window, as a filter or screen was covering the outside. This was an odd feeling, as we are used to a view (of something...). It could make some claustrophobic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are walking distance from theatre, the St. Lawrence Market shopping area and the Hockey Hall of Fame, along with many fine restaurants. The hotel, itself has so many places to dine and to shop, I would've liked to have had more days to spend right in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kath in Pa
Business
Philadelphia, Pa.
Apr 18, 2013

Excellent hotel, convenient location

I was at the hotel for a one-night business trip, and found my room to be comfortable and the staff very pleasant. Location is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Panda163
Business
New Orleans
Mar 8, 2013

Great location, old hotel

Very comfortable bed, bathroom tiny and shower a bit awkward. Many problems with fire alarm in the middle of the night. Food and drinks at Epic very ordinary and pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ephraim23
Business
seattle
Feb 25, 2013

comedy of errors

Clearly the Fairmount Royal York is a grand old lady. Beautiful Art Deco architecture and glorious past, even a renovation that looks to update her. However in a practical sense the hotel's brand and management need major work to to equal one another. When we arrived, we were asked to voluntarily take a smaller room because we were married and because the hotel was overbooked. We were not given upgrades or any compensation for doing this, simply just a thank you. We asked for a refrigerator and bottled water as my wife was still pumping breast milk for our baby. Our first room was facing inward, dark, small and it took a while for our bags to arrive. As we looked around there was no refrigerator, or mini-bar, it literally had been torn out of the wall! We called down to complain, and were told they didn't believe us, and that they'd come to check immediately... After 40 minutes they still had not arrived and we had just gotten off a 6 hour flight and were starving. They offered to have housekeeping bring a refrigerator that evening but were busy. Knowing how things were headed and it could be midnight before our refrigerator arrived, and that there was torn out gear in our room, we asked them to change our room back to what we originally paid for. They said they would do it immediately and of course it took multiple calls, and hours to get it done. WE have now tipped multiple bellmen to get our bags multiple times, tipped to get a refrigerator that has not come, and it gets worse. The hotel is a party hotel for local teenagers and out of town conferences, so while its a non-smoking room, people smoke everywhere making the room nasty from second hand smoke. Our new room was right by the elevator and screaming partying teenagers roamed the halls until 3:00am. It is NOT a restful hotel. On our last day the fire alarm for the ENTIRE building went off at 8:30am on a Sunday, locking down the elevators for 1000's of people. We were forced to walk the stairs down from the 11th floor, the stairwells reeked from cigarette smoke, waste from construction everywhere and to our dismay, human feces in a pile where a party animal had unceremoniously taken a dump... With business meetings in the restaurant, we all had to talk over blaring alarms to get our work done. The highlight of the stay is SUPERB food at the restaurant, and excellent check-out service. Their limo to the airport is the same cost as taxi, and its faster, safer and immaculate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wpr61
Business
ny
Feb 6, 2013

lovely classic hotel

this is a lovely place, with old world charm, great service, and ideal location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ctdudette
Business
ysa
Dec 12, 2012

Great location difficult to navigate

There are many stairs up and down and difficult for handicapped people or travelers with lota of luggage. In the heart of torono business district and lovely hotel. Close to main attrations and train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Live in Toronto
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 29, 2012

First experience at Fairmont Royal York

The facility/location are perfect but the room is not very spacious and no view from the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lire50
Business
New York City
Aug 27, 2012

The Lone Traveler

The Royal Fairmont's exterior was obscured by construction, however it does still present itself as a place of distinction...like "well-worn, but still taken care of, old money charm". I was told that I'd be getting a room with a view. "The view" was of huge white plastic sheets covering the scaffolding and of an office building's windows. No view of the landscape what-so-ever! I was too tired from the 14 hour train ride to ask for a room change! I decided that the room was clean and set up nicely...so I decided to stay in the view-less room! Weird Note: The comforter is covered by a tucked in white sheet! It didn't look bad...but it was strange! Bath tub sides were unusually high. I tripped getting in and out of it often! The housekeeping staff was very efficient (I had a problem with a leaky iron.). The resturants Epic and Piper's were really good. I would stay at The Royal Fairmont Hotel again, however I would upgrade my room choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

For first time Toronto visitors, take the Hop-On-Hop-Off Sightseeing 3-Day Package. It was extemely helpful and the narrative monologue by the college-age tour guides was very amusing at times!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GMcGreen
Business
alexandria, Virginia
Aug 8, 2012

perfect for experiencing toronto!

the staff, location and amenities and room were perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

check out the distillery district for cool brew pubs and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anton The Great
Business
New York City
Aug 8, 2012

My Trip To Toronto

The Fairmont Royal York was exceptional! This hotel offers its guests only the best. I stayed there twice and the second time was better than the first - and my first stay there was perfect! The Fairmont Royal York is truly a class act! When you come to Toronto - stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you come to Toronto - buy a TTC pass for transit. It will save you money if you plan to do a lot of traveling around the city! Great city to explore and a pass will help you with this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top