$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

The Fairmont Royal York

4 stars
100 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
91 reviews
Wonderful Weekend Getaway

This hotel has great old world charm. Back in the day, it was the largest hotel in the British... See full review

  • Mike and Christine
  • Aug 20, 2014
Reunion in Toronto

We arrived by train at 10 am! We just had to walk across the street!The bellman claimed our luggage... See full review

  • LinLake
  • Jun 3, 2014
Updated landmark hotel boasts modern conveniences in downtown's center
The landmark Fairmont Royal York hotel defined luxury when the city of Toronto was still in its infancy, and it continues to meet guests' high standards for first-class accommodations. Updated with modern conveniences, this classic hotel in the heart of downtown is perfect for business or leisure travel. Get a fabulous meal at one of the hotel's five restaurants. Stay connected at the business center. Work out in the fitness center, swim in the heated indoor pool, relax in the steam bath or rejuvenate with a specialized spa treatment.
Highlights
  • Luxurious accommodations in a landmark hotel
  • Magnificent hand-painted ceiling
  • Historic hotel featured in numerous Hollywood movies
Rooms

Choose from a number of spacious, elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites at the Fairmont Royal York. Standard amenities include bathrobes, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and operable windows. Some guest rooms feature gorgeous city views. Separate sleeping and sitting areas are included in all suites, but to enjoy enough space to entertain up to 16, reserve the Royal Suite. Experience truly royal treatment when reserving a Fairmont Gold guest room or suite. Private reception and check-in on the 12th floor, access to the exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge and complimentary use of a private boardroom are included.

Features

Guests enjoy a sophisticated and elegant part of Toronto's history, updated to incorporate modern conveniences, at the Fairmont Royal York. In addition to the stately rooms, the hotel features a state-of-the-art fitness center, heated indoor swimming pool and steam bath. Elevators are home to images of England's royalty, and guests can expect the royal treatment throughout the hotel, from the concierge to the on-site Spa. Original hand-painted ceilings and ornate pillars recall the hotel's past, but the five on-site restaurants and four lounges offer contemporary fare and fashionable cocktails.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Union Station (across the street)
Attractions
  • CN Tower (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harbourfront (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bloor-Yorkville (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • Fully equipped business center
  • Meeting and conference facilities available
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Royal York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Royal York Rooms

Fairmont Room
Located throughout the hotel, Fairmont rooms are our traditional guestrooms, with elegant, comfortable decor. Both smoking and non-smoking Fairmont rooms are available. Rooms are approximately 250 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are larger open-concept rooms, with a sitting area as well as a sleeping area. All are located on the 1st to 11th floors, and both smoking and non-smoking Deluxe rooms are available. With their larger size, Deluxe rooms are ideal for families, or any guest who will be staying for an extended period. Rooms are approximately 500 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Gold Room
Our elegant room selection on our Fairmont Gold floors at The Fairmont Royal York include: Fairmont Gold Guest Rooms Fairmont Gold Junior Suites Fairmont Gold One Bedroom Suites

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Fort York: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.7 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

EPIC Restaurant
EPIC takes a reputation for innovation and quality and infuses it with premium quality regional elements.
Benihana Japanese Steakhouse
Benihana is a fabulous teppan steakhouse experience in the heart of Toronto.
The Library Bar
The ideal venue for pre-dinner or theatre beverages, business lunches or evening cocktails.
Piper's Gastropub
Join us on our coast-to-coast journey of casual favourites with a uniquely local twist.
York Station
The smallest bar in Toronto is the meeting spot before catching the commuter train.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Royal York brings cosmopolitan flair and dedicated expertise to conferences, meetings and banquets. Recently renovated, this elegant hotel's conference facilities meet the technological needs of modern business, while its knowledgeable staff contributes to seamlessly executed events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Royal York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chillabear
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 10, 2014

Great location, old favorite

It is a good location but the hotel could use a little more renovating in order to be even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yariel
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 23, 2014

Great customer service

From the moment we arrived the staff was extremely friendly. There were renovations happenings on the floor we were on so they gave us the internet access for free. The lady also walked us to the liquor store to make sure we didn't get lost. That really surprised me. The rooms were nice, not fancy but good enough. The location is very close to the CN Tower and the Air Canada Centre. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msgrz
Business
massachusetts
Aug 29, 2014

End of summer get-a-way

We had a very pleasant stay at the Fairmont Royal York. Although there is some construction in the area, this did not negatively impact our comings and goings around the hotel. It is conveniently located to the Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Harbourfront which were all key destinations for our group. All of these attractions are a short walk away. The airport shuttle service is also close by.The desk clerks and concierges were all more than helpful and top notch. We were a bit surprised that Wi FI services were not complimentary as there was a daily fee for internet access. Wi Fi is available at no charge in the lobby, which is not always ideal. Given that this hotel is in the financial district, one would expect this amenity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike and Christine
Business
Castleton, Vermont
Aug 20, 2014

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

This hotel has great old world charm. Back in the day, it was the largest hotel in the British Empire. The rooms were beautiful, clean and roomy. The place was bustling, in a good way! We also stay at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Best way to see Toronto is by an on & off bus tour. You can book it right in the hotel and see all the interesting neighborhoods in Toronto.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LinLake
Business
South Hero, Vermont
Jun 3, 2014

Reunion in Toronto

We arrived by train at 10 am! We just had to walk across the street!The bellman claimed our luggage just in case no rooms were ready that early. Wonder of wonders, after a little finagling, a room was found available and we moved in. Our bellman was wonderful and gave us great hints to lunch and getting the day pass for the subway. Our room was comfortable and clean and very conveniently located close to everything. We even got to take in a baseball game. We went to the Esplanade twice to try out the pubs. The waitstaff in every restaurant were so friendly and sociable. It was a joy to try out so many new places to eat. We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk from the hotel are so many pubs and restaurants to sample: Scotland Yard, The Irish Embassy and Jack Astor's to name a few. Yummy food and great beer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lorna Molly's mum
Business
Kanata
Jun 1, 2014

Baseball weekend

1st room very noisey due to construction. Moved to another room, forgot some articles of clothing in 1st room. When reported, housekeeping said they found nothing and security said they had no time for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Inside walk to Rogers Centre, TN Tower and Ripley Aquarium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dave me
Business
buffalo, ny
May 20, 2014

few days to R&R

hotel was great but a real nightmare to get into ! massive construction around with one ways was horrible. took almost 30 minutes to get to main door, driving in heavy city traffic. this will be going on for years and people NEED to know this !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FarmerDoc
Business
Norman, OK
May 19, 2014

Temporary renovation Confusion

Our room(newly renovated) was very comfortable, well appointed, and a reasonable view from the window. The street construction and renovation of Union Station across the street produced difficulties in cabs, limos, and buses loading and unloading. Food service was good, and the hotel staff were courteous and friendly. Would not hesitate to stay there again when in Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Connecting to the underground shopping was very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Txt
Business
Toronto, Canada
May 18, 2014

Fairmont stay

It was a romantic getaway for me. Loved the hotel. Its beautiful and dining experience was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Epic restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LMM Business Travel
Business
Chicago IL
May 15, 2014

Convenient location but requires updating - very very runned down room

The people were nice and the location would be convenient if there is no construction however I would rather be inconvenienced by staying at a more updated facility. I do not plan to stay there again. The rooms are disappointing because they are very very old, runned down and require lots of updating to be competitive relative to other hotels. The price is not cheap so you can stay at a more up to date place for the same money. Maybe my room was poor because I ordered it from an on-line discount provider. But $276 is not a discount for a poor room. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top