$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

3 stars
300 Jarvis Street, Toronto, ON M5B 2C5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
45 reviews
Fantastic experience

Used the hotel as a base to explore downtown Toronto and the location couldn't have been better.... See full review

  • DebraM
  • Mar 29, 2013
We'll be back

We like that this hotel is located within walking distance of subways, shopping and theatres. The... See full review

  • ex torontonian
  • Nov 20, 2013
Garden-district comfort with easy access to Toronto's top attractions
Guests at this comfortable, affordable hotel in the heart of Toronto's garden district can leave the car at home because they simply won't need it. Business travelers and vacationers alike will appreciate the Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown's central location. Among the many attractions within an easy 10-minute walk are Allen Gardens, Toronto Eaton Centre, Centre Islands Ferry, CN Tower and Ontario Place. Want to get there faster or go farther? Take the convenient bus or subway. There is also parking available for guests who need it (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Heritage building
  • Close to many of the city's best attractions
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Location

When it's time to see the city, start with Allen Gardens, the inspiration for the garden district's name. Also, don't miss the view from CN Tower or the fascinating history of Casa Loma.

Rooms

Choose from among the Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown's nicely decorated guest rooms and suites, all with Serta pillow-top mattresses, individually controlled heating and cooling units, large CRT or LCD televisions, in-room games and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Suites are spacious and offer separate living and sleeping areas. In some cases, they also include a dinette, mini-fridge and microwave.

Features

A number of Toronto's hottest attractions are within a leisurely 10-minute walk of the Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, and those that aren't are an easy bus or subway ride away. Start the day with a breakfast at on-site Shade Restaurant or a fast-paced game of squash. The fitness center and indoor pool offer two additional alternatives for sticking to your exercise routine. With 10 meeting rooms and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, this is also a great location for business.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
Attractions
  • Toronto Eaton Centre (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • CN Tower (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Royal Ontario Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting and conference facilities available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

43.6614 -79.3763
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Steam bath
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.8 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 1 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.1 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.8 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 1 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.1 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.1 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.1 mi
  • Massey Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.2 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2 mi
  • Fort York: 2 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.3 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 2.7 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.4 mi
  • The Beaches: 4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.5 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 5.1 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 7.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 8.5 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 14.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ron 21
Tampa FL
Jul 26, 2012

Not a good experiance

Overall not a good experiance..Old/dirty carpet... Washroom lock was not working ..not at all comfortable stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NJ goovaerts
belgium/toronto/tucson
Apr 26, 2013

such a bad experience never again

on arrival, nothing special, but once in the room, impossible to switch on the light (had to call maintenance), temperature 16°C, ridiculous!, no chairs in the room (only 1 office chair), I had asked for a king-size and got without prior notice a (small) queen-size bed and a not asked for upgrade with a sort of sitting room.; but everything small, no central light and the other standing or side lamps inefficient The bath was very small (not even 4 square meter!), only 1 towel, the bathrobes had to be asked for, the light in the shower was not working (took them 2 days and 2 demands to fix it). The toilet paper was not renewed on time. The power outlets were or hidden behind desk, or so far away from the (miniscule courtesy) cafe maker that we had to put the cafe maker on the floor. The pool was another disaster: small, extremely shallow and fresh, the notice in the changing rooms: wash before swimming!, but no soap in the dispensers; the towels had to be asked at the reception desk, the fitness room was the size of a private fitness room, no water dispensers or paper towels. The maintenance was bad, a half used bar of (courtesy) soap was left sitting on the sink in its soap stained cup, the contraption under the sink for storing the towels (small and not soft) fell apart. The rooms were cleaned very superficially. As a test, I dropped an information leaflet from the desk, 4 days later it was still lying on the ground. never to be booked again I do not know if this is the usual situation for the Ramada hotels, but this is definitively below acceptable standard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jun 21, 2007

The location was fine. ...

The location was fine. The hotel halls were old, dirty and had a bad smell to them. The room?s bathroom had mold all around the tub/shower. The blankets had nasty spots on them. The room?s carpet was old and spotted. The gym was an old weight set on the floor and a piece of rusted equipment that just partially worked. The in room internet we were told just didn't work - sorry. This is not a three star hotel. One star at best because you do get to sleep inside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Farmington Hills, MI
Jun 27, 2011

Not worth for the Price

Rooms too small and Carpets were sticky and smelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cucubear
Highland Park, NJ
May 31, 2009

Not Impressed

Hotel staff was ok but when we checked in there were no bell staff at all. The room was fair, clean but nothing to write home about. The elevators were very small and they just about fit us and our luggage. Nobody else would have been able to ride with us. They put us on the 3rd floor in the last room furthest from the elevator, there were stains on the carpets. No Ice machines on the floors - you had to take the elevator down to the dingy basement where there was one machine. The restaurant "Shade" was never open...when it was there was nobody dining there....tells you something. We ordered room service one morning - USD 41.00 for two aweful meals - the worst. Parking costs CAN 22.00 per day - no Security anywhere to be found. The pool was small and there was mold and mildew throughout it, the whirlpool hardly had any whirl - very little pressure...luke warm. The showers, steam room and sauna stunk of mold and mildew. Would not stay here again if you paid me!! Shamefull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reverend Spikey
Central NJ
Sep 26, 2012

Average hotel.

It's a basic place to stay for a few days. The beds are the hardest and least comfortable I've ever encountered, so I'd never stay for long. The front desk staff were excellent for dining suggestions, but not at all helpful in resolving our reservation problem. We had reserved a king bed room, and when we arrived we were given an "upgrade" to a suite. But no king bed, just a smallish queen. The bedroom had barely enough space to move around the edges of the bed, a larger person would have to climb on the bed from the end. The air conditioner was less than a foot away from one side of the bed, so whoever slept on that side was bombarded with noise and a serious draft. If it was turned off for more than a few minutes, the room became so stuffy you couldn't breathe. Not an upgrade at all in my opinion and very disappointing. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Casa Loma is incredibly beautiful and well worth the cab fare; or long walk for those able to do it.

Review of Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
On a mini vacation
Canada
May 23, 2013

Not worth it for the price we paid

The only good thing about it was the location. It is way too pricey for what you get. I would have rather paid an extra $50 and been at a 5 star hotel. Will not go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chinatown!!! Awesome deals and cheap food!! No food poisoning either!!!

Review of Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jacin
chicago
Jun 24, 2013

service

The man who is working in the front desk is not friendly. The garbage basket was not clean and placed by the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redlands, CA
Aug 6, 2010

Not a good value for the price

We visited the Toronto area and stayed in this hotel. I remember Ramada having a fairly good reputation, however this hotel was old and it was very noticeable. The carpet in the hallways was stained and the hallway itself appeared dark and had a strange odor. The first room we were given had small sinkholes in the floor that made noise when you walked over them. The carpet was also stained along with the tile in the bathroom. The bathroom was poorly maintained with stains and poor caulking jobs around the tile. The toilet pipes are clearly visible, so it gave that public restroom vibe. We requested a room change and we were accommodated. The second room was not much better. The floor had better lighting in the hallway, but the carpets were still very stained. Inside the room, the floor still made noises when you walked in certain spots and the bathroom again was poorly maintained. We did not feel comfortable. When we asked the staff about other rooms available, after many questions on our part, we were told that there were updated/renovated rooms with newer bathrooms. Asked if we could have one, was told that they were all filled. Very disappointing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 31, 2011

Rowdy guests not handled well

The hotel was fairly nice, but there were a few problems. When we arrived, we could not access the elevator from the parking garage and had to go through the outside. The restaurant was not open for dinner, which we were not aware of when we booked. The front desk staff was helpful and gave us a few take out menus which we utilized. Around 10 pm we heard a great deal of noise in the rooms surrounding us. At 10:30 I called down to the front desk to complain. At 10:45 the noise continued and I called again. At the same time the other family I was traveling had also called the desk. Finally the party left, but then came back in the hotel at 2:30 and were even noisier then when they left. The front desk did not really help with the noise. In the morning, we were told that if a party is complained about more than 3 times, they were to be evicted,that did not happen. The hotel did comp my parking, but that was not worth the aggravation or the restless night sleep that my daughter and I had. We were there for an important audition for my daughter. I would not recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search