$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

One King West Hotel and Residence

4 stars
View map of 1 King Street West,, Toronto, ON M5H 1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for One King West Hotel and Residence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reunion Rick
Business
Arlington, VA
Jun 25, 2009

No better location

For business in the financial district, the location of the Suites at One King West couldn't be better. Everything's within a 5 minute walk, and the subway entrance is just out the front door. The hotel is connected to the underground PATH walkway system, and all the major banks' HQ are just steps away. I've stayed here many times before: you get a kitchenette unit, comfortable bed, good desk, and OK bathroom (not the Park Hyatt or Four Seasons, but not Motel Six either). They've recently upgraded amenities. This time, though, I had a room that looked into a dark atrium -- not the best room in the hotel but for all I was there, it was fine, and the price was right. Other rooms have great views, very high up, and the windows open, desks in the window nooks overlooking the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

JUMP is right out the back door of the hotel. Great food, great ambiance, and sitting outside on the patio on a warm summer evening was just wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Malibu, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Good choice for business or pleasure

I been coming back to One King West for some time now. The location is great and only few blocks from the Entertainment Districts to the west and Eaton shopping Centre to the north. This is not your regular hotel - it's actually residence hotel thus the look and service is a bit different. Rooms are equipped with a small kitchenette, including stove, dishwasher, and washer/dryer combo. Great an extend stay or somebody that likes to have those amenities handy (e.g. if you travel with small children). Unfortunately there is no concierge and the front desk team could not assist me. Also - skip the breakfast. It's too pricey for what you get and the buffet choices are not very appealing. I suggest Eggspectations - a great breakfast and brunch place north of the hotel and towards Eaton shopping centre. For lunch head south and across the streat to Irish Embassy Pub & Grill (great curry, choices of beer, and very lively) -- for dinner head to Huston's (great and very elegant stake house). Overall - it's a good hotel, modern and with amenities that you usually don't see in other hotels. Location is perfect. Service is good. Thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In Toronto
Business
Virginia
Nov 11, 2009

Right Choice

Would like to Have a breakfast that was less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
May 9, 2011

Love this hotel

I went to this hotel with my mother to celebrate Mother's Day. Before we arrived, the concierge was so incredibly helpful that I brought her a gift to thank her for her time. She arranged a rental car and gave me extra sets of directions for our adventures. Every person at the hotel was VERY helpful. Location is great right next to a subway stop and an easy walk to any area (entertainment district, China Town, Museums, the Distillary...). Numerous great restaurnants just steps from the hotel with reservations and recommendations from the hotel staff.We upgraded to the 2 room suite which was perfect for 2 independent people and would work great if it was a family traveling with small kids. Hotel has a town car service to take you to the airport for the same price as a cab. Would 100% stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

By booking [...] with a combined flight/hotel package we saved $750. Usually I only see things like "save $30 by booking hotel with flight." The savings was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time to Canada
Business
Madison, WI
Oct 20, 2010

Great Location

The location was great, right in the center of downtown and the connection to the subway was right outside the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try places around downtown and try the places that have rooftops, don't just look at the street level for food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Nov 24, 2008

Good for business, not for pleasure

The location lends itself more to business than pleasure. Walking North to the Eaton Centre becomes tedious after a few visits, otherwise we were quite happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fran's is a few blocks North and serves a great breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanna newly retired
Business
mpls mn
May 8, 2011

Fine hotel

Old bank with classic bones and wonderfully thick walls makes for quiet retreat. Staff responsive to needs. Lobby bar still being renovated but friendly service. Good choice with underground and trolley 2 steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a visual as well as gustatory delight go to Aria for dinner. It's between the Roger's Stadium and the Air Canada arena. A costly but worthwhile treat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 16, 2009

Bustling City Hotel

This was a beautiful hotel, in a great location and was very vibrant with lots of people staying there. There is a bar and a restaurant in the lobby and a great atmosphere. One negative is that every little thing cost us extra. The parking was $30, Internet was $9.95, they had a washer and dryer in the room (which was great) but you had to pay extra for soap. Even though we paid through Orbitz, they charged the full rate to our credit card, then refunded the difference afterward (without asking). The towels were kind of tattered and the bathroom was the tiniest I have seen. The room was great and very efficient, but very small. The bathroom was not very private. I thought to myself, I would not want to be on a romantic weekend in this hotel unless I was really comfortable with the person I was with. Because it is so small and the bathroom was a foot from the bed and just had a sliding pocket door. I was there with my daughter, so it was okay for us. The kitchenette was great though. It had a dishwasher, washer, dryer, fridge & microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This is more about the city - driving is a nightmare. There are one ways and do not turn signs everywhere. So many pedestrians, you can't move in traffic. Just plan on walking everywhere. We were there in summer and the weather was gorgeous, but I hear in the winter everyone walks below the city, as there is an entire underground city beneath the streets. It is like a giant underground shopping mall and all of the streets connect under the city. So maybe in winter driving is easier, but the streets are poorly planned. It took us forever just to find the hotel parking, because we could not turn to get to it. The city is amazing, just be prepared to experience it on foot and not by car. They have a ton of public transportation. Also - if you rent a car, get GPS. It made our entire trip, because we would never have found anything without it. We needed a car because we had a hockey tournament in the suburbs we were attending and to get to and from the airport. In the city it was not needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B-Leigh
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 4, 2011

Very nice rooms, centrally located

Very well decorated hotel. Staff was great. Located near everything in Toronto that you can walk to in 10 minutes. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Staff had some great recommendations for dinner, which were spot on. Rooms are very well decorated and have all the amenities of an efficiency apartment (DW. W/D, stove top, micro, fridge, etc.). Lots of windows to view the city or the lake. The blinds do not block out the light in the morning. There are no valances on top of the drapes so the morning light came in. I was up every morning at 6:30am due to the light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Saint Tropez: French restaurant with a great courtyard. Good food, wine list is nice, and its reasonably priced for Toronto.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business mommy
Business
DFW, Texas
Sep 8, 2009

Good Location, needs better service

I enjoyed everything about the hotels room. The showers were great I didn't realize how much I would appreciate the desk and kitchenette. I was having trouble with the phone. At first it wouldn't let me dial out of the hotel. Then I couldn't receive messages. Once I called, I was informed by the hotel staff that their voicemail service had gone down. I would have appreciated some notification prior to my looking into the issue. When people attempted to call me it continually said that no one had checked into this room. I had told the desk this several times and asked that they leave me a physical note when this was fixed. I never received a note and my voicemail was never fixed. This cost me more money due to the fact that I had to call people back all the time because I couldn't receive any voicemails. Local calls cost 75cents a min. or something close to that. So if you are not intending on communicating with people outside of your group staying at the hotel plan on another method or pay for the internet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the hotel is a GREAT breakfast place called Croissant. It had great Omelets and baked goods. Much better than Starbucks, Tim Horton's and especially the hotel's breakfast which was way overpriced. The metro and trolley is right out the door so convenience is everything here. There is a ton of shopping a block north and restaurants 2 blocks west but the area is quiet at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top