$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

One King West Hotel and Residence

4 stars
1 King Street West,, Toronto, ON M5H 1A1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
116 reviews
Perfect choice for a romantic night in Toronto

Arriving at the hotel we got an upgrade on our room which was great! Te room was very spacious and... See full review

  • Arno22
  • Sep 2, 2014
amazing

needed to extend my stay and the staff was great! The staff gave us GREAT service and suggestions... See full review

  • rohin
  • May 21, 2014
Exquisite suites and timeless elegance in a grand, historic building
Experience the past and present in exquisite harmony at this stunning downtown heritage hotel. The grand, beautifully preserved One King West Hotel & Residence blends attentive service with suite decor designed for contemporary tastes and the modern, high-tech amenities world travelers have come to expect. A perfect location in an architectural treasure, this prestigious address is the luxury traveler's gateway to the nearby business and shopping districts.
Highlights
  • Canada's tallest residential building
  • Private limousine service available
  • Architecturally significant Heritage building
Rooms

Warm wood walls and soft leather sofas in the One King West Hotel & Residence's lobby mingle with sleek modern work desks and stunning big-city views in its suites. Perfect for extended stays, the spacious suites here offer high ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, operable windows with phenomenal city and lake views and in-suite washer/dryer units. Feature suites boast some of the finest views in the city from their balconies. High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

A prestigious address for nearly two centuries, the the One King West Hotel & Residence has been expertly maintained to preserve the elegance of its era, but also has been upgraded to reflect modern-day tastes and conveniences. In its former life, the building was the head office of The Dominion Bank, and the bank's impressive vault, with a 40-ton door, is still here. A state-of-the-art rooftop fitness center offers amazing views of downtown from every angle. Explore the city streets above or below ground with easy access to PATH and the charming boutiques, fine dining and cultural centers surrounding the hotel. Bistro on King, Petite Thuet and Henri's Bar offer a range of menu options on-site.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
  • Public bus stop (on the same block)
Attractions
  • PATH (accessible beyond the lobby)
  • CN Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art (2.1 mi/3.5 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Internet access available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed One King West Hotel and Residence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

One King West Hotel and Residence Rooms

Superior Suite
The room offers 1 King Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.
One Bedroom
The room offers 1 King Bed & 1 Double pull out sofa with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.
Superior Suite
Our Superior Suites with Two Double Beds are located in our grand historical section, offering stunning high ceilings. Your refreshingly spacious suite comes with a host of luxurious features, including a stylish in-suite kitchen with laundry, Two Double Beds, tall ceilings, chic bathroom and designer decor through-out. Approximate size: 450 sq ft
Tower Superior
The room offers 1 King Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.
Studio Suite
The room offers 1 King or 1 Queen Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available. Atrium Views.
Premium Suite
The room offers 1 King Bed & 1 Double pull out sofa with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), t complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.
Studio Deluxe
The room offers 1 King Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available. Atrium or obstructed views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.4 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.4 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.1 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.6 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.6 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.3 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for One King West Hotel and Residence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Armond
Business
Detroit
Apr 30, 2012

Never Again

For starters, the rooms are disgustingly dirty. The carpet had tons of stains and so did the bed sheets. All of the staff members were friendly, but the valet service is a complete rip off. They charge $30 a night for parking which is not advertised on their web site and there is no alternative parking. So I ended up paying an additional $60 on parking. What makes it worse is that once you check into your room they will come and slide you a letter stating that it takes 45min to get your car from valet. Between the dirty rooms, the horrible valet service, and the price gouging I will never ever use this hotel again. You should try the Hyatt down the street that offers better pricing and better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There are bikes right outside of the hotel. If you want to do any site seeing it may actually be cheaper to ride a bike than take a taxi. The walks are just far enough that if you dress up, it becomes a pain to get to any significant point of interest, but they are too close to justify a $15 taxi ride that is only $15 because you have to wait for people crossing the street and street lights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colchester
Aug 24, 2008

Worst Service Ever

Every employee we dealt with screwed up. At check-in (4:30PM) room was not ready, clerk said to sit with no estimate of how long and she'd get us when ready, wnet back up after 1/2 hour and magically room was ready though she never came to tell us. Room had only towels for two though the reservation was for 3. Next day room was never cleaned. Maid had started, told my son she'd be back and never reappeared. When I called they sent someone up with towels and toiletries. Parking attendant failed to give us a receipt for the car. When went to use car the next day they were baffled as to why it wasn't in the system.Bill was slipped under door night before checkout. When checking out they advised that bill was wrong, and charged a different amount. Room was nice, location great but staff the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ballpark

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 24, 2011

Kind of Beat-Up

The hotel location was terrific, Starbucks, The Subway etc. were right across the street - very convenient. However, the room I stayed in was beat-up, stained carpeting, stained bedskirt, carpet had shifted and was coming up. Not what I expected in such a young hotel. The staff was terrific, but could not accomodate my request to move my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GilNY
Business
New York, NY, USA
May 23, 2012

Stay away from this hotel: bad customer service and no wifi in the rooms

If you need wi-fi in the room, forget it: this is not the hotel for you. Stay away from One King West. You have to bring your laptop to the lobby and work there, in case you need wi-fi connection. The TV set was very old and the mugs available in the small kitchen had some sort of grease at bottom. It was just nasty. They have an OK breakfast at the hotel for CAN$24. Way overpriced for what they were offering there. Most of the staff were not welcoming and there were some moments that I kinda felt like I was at the DMV, specifically at check-in moment. Gym is ok and the machines were all working, which is a big plus to me, but the treadmills were nasty and sticky. The windows of this building look like they have never been cleaned since the construction of the hotel. It sounds sarcastic, but it's true: the view I got from my room was compromised by a lot dust! Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? NO. Would I stay there again? probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tazzer
Business
new york
Sep 29, 2009

Adquate accomodation in a central locati

It is v convenient for going to Rogers Centre, shopping etc but overall it's a disappointment. We stayed in a suite room which is tiny- literally the bed is one step from the bathroom door! Very noisy in the mornings with the cleaning crew- doesn't help that front door has a big gap. Parking is $30 for overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 29, 2008

Location is good...

Location is good. Somehow it was not that comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The olderst market at Toronto is not open on Sunday nor Monday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 19, 2007

Upon check-in, we were ...

Upon check-in, we were told the pool and jacuzzi were closed for cleaning, but should be open the following day. The pool and jacuzzi did not open during our three day stay, however I did catch a glimpse of them. The pool and jacuzzi were the exact same size, resulting in a large jacuzzi but a very small pool. The garden patio did not exist; it was basically a roof, including ventilation ducts, and there was nothing garden about it. I literally spent a half hour looking for it, and called guest services twice. I was told I had the right place when I found the roof, and there was a patio set out there. The patio set was directly outside a sliding glass door to someone's room and it was dirty; half covered by a tarp that was wet, with spiders and cigarette butts. One restaurant recommended in the hotel book no longer existed, and when we asked for directions to another restaurant recommended, the hotel staff had no idea what we were talking about. In the time it took the concierge to provide another recommendation, I had called the restaurant myself and obtained directions. I was disappointed in the pool etc. amenities and the hotel staff, however the manager did remove one night's charge for the valet in response to our feedback. The hotel itself is beautiful and the location couldn't be better. The food, restaurant, and wait staff were lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the heart of downtown, with shopping, dining and public transportation all within less than a mile. Strongly recommend Richtree Cafe - excellent food of all kinds and multiple dining areas, all decorated delightfully!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlies
Business
San Diego, California, EEUU
Oct 3, 2011

Family trip

Good in general, but the attention in the sunday brunch was bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ranger400401
Business
Naples, FL, USA
Oct 28, 2011

One King West Review

I booked this blind and was nicely surprised that it was a "Suite" hotel so the room had good space. In addition, it had a dishwasher, washer and dryer and mini-kitchen facilities. Given I was there for 4 days and working from my room for most of the time this was a good thing. Two complaints: 1 - the common/social facilities are prettty limited. 2 - there was a lack of flexibility in giving a credit as my stay was cut short by one day. If I was going back on my own for business I would definitely consider this hotel again. If I was with my partner and on vacation I would probably look for another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a basement mall of sorts within a few metres walk. Substantial number of places to grab something to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mherrera
Business
Toronto
Apr 3, 2012

Dissatisfaction

I was surprised that when I went to check-in at the appropriate time after making reservations well in advance that there were no rooms available. Fortunately, a person at the front desk that was also working helped the associate that was helping me find a room for me. I was also very dissatisfied with the service of valet parking. If I was informed in advance that I would need to notify the valet service to get my car and that it would be at least a half hour wait, I would have not stayed at the hotel. I had to wait an hour to just get my car. I plan on not staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top