$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

One King West Hotel and Residence

4 stars
View map of 1 King Street West,, Toronto, ON M5H 1A1

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
130 reviews
Lovely Hotel

Hotel itself is gorgeous. The room was clean and incredibly spacious. The bed was very comfortable... See full review

  • Steph
  • Jan 25, 2015
Great hotel

This was a great hotel rooms are very clean and the staff are amazing See full review

  • Ninja
  • Jan 19, 2015
Exquisite suites and timeless elegance in a grand, historic building
Experience the past and present in exquisite harmony at this stunning downtown heritage hotel. The grand, beautifully preserved One King West Hotel and Residence blends attentive service with suite decor designed for contemporary tastes and the modern, high-tech amenities world travelers have come to expect. A perfect location in an architectural treasure, this prestigious address is the luxury traveler's gateway to the nearby business and shopping districts.
Highlights
  • Canada's tallest residential building
  • Private limousine service available
  • Architecturally significant Heritage building
Rooms

Ideal for extended stays, the spacious suites of One King West Hotel and Residence offer high ceilings, fully equipped kitchenette, flat-screen HD TV, safe deposit box, and in-suite washer/dryer. Some suites have separate lounge area and offer panoramic city and lake views. High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access are available (fees apply).

Features

A prestigious address for nearly two centuries, the the One King West Hotel and Residence has been expertly maintained to preserve the elegance of its era, but also has been upgraded to reflect modern-day tastes and conveniences. In its former life, the building was the head office of The Dominion Bank, and the bank's impressive vault, with a 40-ton door, is still here. A state-of-the-art rooftop fitness center offers amazing views of downtown from every angle. Explore the city streets above or below ground with easy access to PATH and the charming boutiques, fine dining and cultural centers surrounding the hotel. Bistro on King, Petite Thuet and Henri's Bar offer a range of menu options on-site.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
  • Public bus stop (on the same block)
Attractions
  • PATH (accessible beyond the lobby)
  • CN Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art (2.1 mi/3.5 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Internet access available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed One King West Hotel and Residence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

One King West Hotel and Residence Rooms

Historic Studio Suite with Atrium View
A quiet retreat with windows into our five-story atrium. Our HISTORIC STUDIO Suite w/ Atrium View suites feels spacious while still providing you luxurious comforts, such as a plush King-size bed, large flat screen HDTV, chic bathroom, and convenient kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher. Standard Amenities Plush king-sized bed High ceilings Kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher Individual climate control High-speed wired & wireless internet access (surcharge) Electronic in-suite safe that fits a laptop 47 240 Hz, 3D-ready, Smart HDTV
Historic ONE Suite
Our HISTORIC ONE suite offers true condo-inspired living with stunning city or lake views, a separate bedroom featuring a king-sized bed, chic bathroom with tub, an open lounge area with stylish furniture and HDTV, plus a kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher. Standard Amenities Plush king-sized bed High ceilings Large windows that open Kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher En suite washer and dryer (upon request) Individual climate control High-speed wired & wireless internet access (surcharge) Electronic in-suite safe that fits a laptop 47 240 Hz, 3D-ready, Smart HDTV
Tower Premium Suite
Our popular TOWER PREMIUM suites span the entire width of the building and provide spectacular panoramic views of the city or lake. Each suite features a luxurious king-sized bed, separate lounge area with stylish furniture and large-screen HDTV, a kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher, and en suite washer & dryer. Standard Amenities Plush king-sized bed High ceilings Large windows that open En suite washer and dryer Kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher Individual climate control High-speed wired & wireless internet access (surcharge) Electronic in-suite safe that fits a laptop 47 240 Hz, 3D-ready, Smart HDTV
Historic Double Suite
Our HISTORIC DOUBLE suite features two luxurious double beds along with stylish modern dcor, en suite washer/dryer, large-screen HDTV, chic bathroom and kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher. Standard Amenities Two plush double beds High ceilings Large windows that open Kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher En suite washer and dryer (upon request) Individual climate control High-speed wired & wireless internet access (surcharge) Electronic in-suite safe that fits a laptop 47 240 Hz, 3D-ready, Smart HDTV
Historic Superior Suite with Atrium View
A quiet retreat with windows into our five-story atrium. Our HISTORIC SUPERIOR Suite w/ Atrium View suites come with spacious layouts. Each suite is furnished with stylish modern dcor, plush king-sized bed, large-screen HDTV, and kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher. Standard Amenities Plush king-sized bed High ceilings Kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher Individual climate control High-speed wired & wireless internet access (surcharge) Electronic in-suite safe that fits a laptop 47 240 Hz, 3D-ready, Smart HDTV
Tower Deluxe Suite
Our TOWER DELUXE suites feature incredible city or lake views and are designed with extended stays in mind. A variety of spacious layouts are available, each with plush king-sized bed, large-screen HDTV, chic bathroom, and kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher. Standard Amenities Plush king-sized bed High ceilings Kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher En suite washer and dryer Individual climate control High-speed wired & wireless internet access (surcharge) Electronic in-suite safe that fits a laptop 47 240 Hz, 3D-ready, Smart HDTV
Tower ONE Suite
Our TOWER ONE suites feature stunning city or lake views, a separate bedroom with king-sized bed, open lounge area with stylish furniture and HDTV, plus a kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher. Standard Amenities Plush king-sized bed High ceilings Large windows that open Kitchenette with fridge, electric cooktop, microwave oven and dishwasher En suite washer and dryer (upon request) Individual climate control High-speed wired & wireless internet access (surcharge) Electronic in-suite safe that fits a laptop 47 240 Hz, 3D-ready, Smart HDTV

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.4 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.4 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.1 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.6 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.6 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.3 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for One King West Hotel and Residence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Armond
Business
Detroit
Apr 30, 2012

Never Again

For starters, the rooms are disgustingly dirty. The carpet had tons of stains and so did the bed sheets. All of the staff members were friendly, but the valet service is a complete rip off. They charge $30 a night for parking which is not advertised on their web site and there is no alternative parking. So I ended up paying an additional $60 on parking. What makes it worse is that once you check into your room they will come and slide you a letter stating that it takes 45min to get your car from valet. Between the dirty rooms, the horrible valet service, and the price gouging I will never ever use this hotel again. You should try the Hyatt down the street that offers better pricing and better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There are bikes right outside of the hotel. If you want to do any site seeing it may actually be cheaper to ride a bike than take a taxi. The walks are just far enough that if you dress up, it becomes a pain to get to any significant point of interest, but they are too close to justify a $15 taxi ride that is only $15 because you have to wait for people crossing the street and street lights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colchester
Aug 24, 2008

Worst Service Ever

Every employee we dealt with screwed up. At check-in (4:30PM) room was not ready, clerk said to sit with no estimate of how long and she'd get us when ready, wnet back up after 1/2 hour and magically room was ready though she never came to tell us. Room had only towels for two though the reservation was for 3. Next day room was never cleaned. Maid had started, told my son she'd be back and never reappeared. When I called they sent someone up with towels and toiletries. Parking attendant failed to give us a receipt for the car. When went to use car the next day they were baffled as to why it wasn't in the system.Bill was slipped under door night before checkout. When checking out they advised that bill was wrong, and charged a different amount. Room was nice, location great but staff the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ballpark

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephanie F.
Business
Niagara Falls
Feb 17, 2015

Valet robbed my vehicle

There was no parking available. It was freezing cold and you had to walk 3 streets away to park for your vehicle. Last time I stayed there the valet robbed my vehicle so I guess not have parking available was the best option even though very inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 24, 2011

Kind of Beat-Up

The hotel location was terrific, Starbucks, The Subway etc. were right across the street - very convenient. However, the room I stayed in was beat-up, stained carpeting, stained bedskirt, carpet had shifted and was coming up. Not what I expected in such a young hotel. The staff was terrific, but could not accomodate my request to move my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GilNY
Business
New York, NY, USA
May 23, 2012

Stay away from this hotel: bad customer service and no wifi in the rooms

If you need wi-fi in the room, forget it: this is not the hotel for you. Stay away from One King West. You have to bring your laptop to the lobby and work there, in case you need wi-fi connection. The TV set was very old and the mugs available in the small kitchen had some sort of grease at bottom. It was just nasty. They have an OK breakfast at the hotel for CAN$24. Way overpriced for what they were offering there. Most of the staff were not welcoming and there were some moments that I kinda felt like I was at the DMV, specifically at check-in moment. Gym is ok and the machines were all working, which is a big plus to me, but the treadmills were nasty and sticky. The windows of this building look like they have never been cleaned since the construction of the hotel. It sounds sarcastic, but it's true: the view I got from my room was compromised by a lot dust! Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? NO. Would I stay there again? probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tazzer
Business
new york
Sep 29, 2009

Adquate accomodation in a central locati

It is v convenient for going to Rogers Centre, shopping etc but overall it's a disappointment. We stayed in a suite room which is tiny- literally the bed is one step from the bathroom door! Very noisy in the mornings with the cleaning crew- doesn't help that front door has a big gap. Parking is $30 for overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 29, 2008

Location is good...

Location is good. Somehow it was not that comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The olderst market at Toronto is not open on Sunday nor Monday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 19, 2007

Upon check-in, we were ...

Upon check-in, we were told the pool and jacuzzi were closed for cleaning, but should be open the following day. The pool and jacuzzi did not open during our three day stay, however I did catch a glimpse of them. The pool and jacuzzi were the exact same size, resulting in a large jacuzzi but a very small pool. The garden patio did not exist; it was basically a roof, including ventilation ducts, and there was nothing garden about it. I literally spent a half hour looking for it, and called guest services twice. I was told I had the right place when I found the roof, and there was a patio set out there. The patio set was directly outside a sliding glass door to someone's room and it was dirty; half covered by a tarp that was wet, with spiders and cigarette butts. One restaurant recommended in the hotel book no longer existed, and when we asked for directions to another restaurant recommended, the hotel staff had no idea what we were talking about. In the time it took the concierge to provide another recommendation, I had called the restaurant myself and obtained directions. I was disappointed in the pool etc. amenities and the hotel staff, however the manager did remove one night's charge for the valet in response to our feedback. The hotel itself is beautiful and the location couldn't be better. The food, restaurant, and wait staff were lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the heart of downtown, with shopping, dining and public transportation all within less than a mile. Strongly recommend Richtree Cafe - excellent food of all kinds and multiple dining areas, all decorated delightfully!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ra.de
Business
N/A
Feb 17, 2015

Valentinew horror

Booked this hotel expected 4 star service the service was below my expectations. I had called prior my arrival to make sure a hot plate when I got there the hot plate doesn't work. The heat in my room didn't work. Had to switch rooms, I got sick that night asked in room dining for ginger ale none was ever delivered to the room. I was kicked out of the parking pad because the parking lot attendant said the parking was full. My fridge which was working at the time, stopped working in the evening and my food spoiled. What I disaster!!!! The only good think was Kimarley the manager who offered a voucher for another night to make up for their mishaps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlies
Business
San Diego, California, EEUU
Oct 3, 2011

Family trip

Good in general, but the attention in the sunday brunch was bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top