$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

One King West Hotel and Residence

4 stars
1 King Street West,, Toronto, ON M5H 1A1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
115 reviews
amazing

needed to extend my stay and the staff was great! The staff gave us GREAT service and suggestions... See full review

  • rohin
  • May 21, 2014
Great stay

Trip was abruptly extended and for a last minute room it was a great bang for my buck. Had a living... See full review

  • Dolo From State to State
  • Aug 8, 2014
Exquisite suites and timeless elegance in a grand, historic building
Experience the past and present in exquisite harmony at this stunning downtown heritage hotel. The grand, beautifully preserved One King West Hotel & Residence blends attentive service with suite decor designed for contemporary tastes and the modern, high-tech amenities world travelers have come to expect. A perfect location in an architectural treasure, this prestigious address is the luxury traveler's gateway to the nearby business and shopping districts.
Highlights
  • Canada's tallest residential building
  • Private limousine service available
  • Architecturally significant Heritage building
Rooms

Warm wood walls and soft leather sofas in the One King West Hotel & Residence's lobby mingle with sleek modern work desks and stunning big-city views in its suites. Perfect for extended stays, the spacious suites here offer high ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, operable windows with phenomenal city and lake views and in-suite washer/dryer units. Feature suites boast some of the finest views in the city from their balconies. High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

A prestigious address for nearly two centuries, the the One King West Hotel & Residence has been expertly maintained to preserve the elegance of its era, but also has been upgraded to reflect modern-day tastes and conveniences. In its former life, the building was the head office of The Dominion Bank, and the bank's impressive vault, with a 40-ton door, is still here. A state-of-the-art rooftop fitness center offers amazing views of downtown from every angle. Explore the city streets above or below ground with easy access to PATH and the charming boutiques, fine dining and cultural centers surrounding the hotel. Bistro on King, Petite Thuet and Henri's Bar offer a range of menu options on-site.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
  • Public bus stop (on the same block)
Attractions
  • PATH (accessible beyond the lobby)
  • CN Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art (2.1 mi/3.5 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Internet access available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

43.6489 -79.3781
Area served
Ontario.
Nearby airports
Pearson International Airport (YYZ).
Area description
One King West is located directly in the heart of Toronto's business, entertainment and shopping districts. Direct access to the underground path system and five blocks from CN Tower, Air Canada Centre and Rogers Centre.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed One King West Hotel and Residence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

One King West Hotel and Residence Rooms

Superior Suite
Our Superior Suites with Two Double Beds are located in our grand historical section, offering stunning high ceilings. Your refreshingly spacious suite comes with a host of luxurious features, including a stylish in-suite kitchen with laundry, Two Double Beds, tall ceilings, chic bathroom and designer decor through-out. Approximate size: 450 sq ft
Tower Superior
The room offers 1 King Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.
Studio Suite
The room offers 1 King or 1 Queen Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available. Atrium Views.
Premium Suite
The room offers 1 King Bed & 1 Double pull out sofa with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), t complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.
Studio Deluxe
The room offers 1 King Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available. Atrium or obstructed views.
Superior Suite
The room offers 1 King Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.
One Bedroom
The room offers 1 King Bed & 1 Double pull out sofa with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.4 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.4 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.1 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.6 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.6 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.3 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for One King West Hotel and Residence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kings Kounty
Brooklyn
Aug 9, 2011

1King West

Nice staff, nice hotel, convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nicer eateries further up Yonge St

Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Homer Simpson
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Great location, amenities

Spent 5 days at One King, and we enjoyed it greatly. This is a split condo/hotel, so I think things are a little strange on the service side. The room (Superior Suite, King Bed) was almost too much. It is the only way to get on the upper floors and we asked for a city view (lake view other choice), and they obliged. Room had stove top, microwave, dishwasher and washer/dryer. This is the cross-over so it can be rented as a condo. But made for nice living. Car parking is by valet only, and since it at the edge of the financial district, not many other choices. At $30.00 a day, pricey. Could do better on that rate, and it takes 15 min to retrieve your car, so call ahead - but it never was a problem. Two gripes I have with this hotel. One and most important was the cleaning staff. Towels were left on floor, picked up but not replaced. Sheets were not changed in 5 days. I know this b/c of the coffee stain on a pillow and the main sheet we caused... Also, we had to call the front desk for more TP, as we ran out- they brought 1 roll! That was a bit stingy, I though. Second, lobby amenities. No real restaurant in hotel. Buffet-style breakfast and sandwich, small platter plates available in a quite small dining area. Bar is small, but very accommodating, coming to you at couches and chair spread across the lobby. News-stand in East entrance is privately run, and only has VERY basics. Overall I would recommend this hotel, it was reasonably priced and very nice. Also, one other thing. Although we did not watch much TV, flat-screens are so cheap now that a room with a conventional tube TV looks out-dated and the features/sound/picture quality was poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Bloor and Spadina Streets on West side of U of Toronto. Cool little shopping area with unique things. Then take in a lunch on the W side of Spadina, just past the really ugly discount store you can't miss on your right. Make a right back towards your hotel, in the middle of a cute residential neighborhood, several cafes and pubs that serve outstanding food/bev, reasonably priced!

Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B.A
Nashville, TN
Aug 7, 2009

Caribana at The Suites at 1 King West

nice hotel, staff was friendly. workout facility wasn't great at all. was expecting free internet service, but them i realized it was a big city and that nothing is free. otherwise great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is a short walk from the hotel (between 1 and 6 blocks) and if you can't walk you can catch a street car, trolley, taxi, bus or subway (entrance directly in front of hotel). nice Moroccan restaurant Sultan's Tent, right before you get to St. Lawrence Market on Yonge St.

Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mpls
May 31, 2010

Great location!

The location was absolutely perfect and the staff was excellent - very helpful. The room was very nice and kept well. The one complaint was that the air conditioning unit was really loud, but all in all I would go back there in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rex has great live jazz every night.

Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
launchpath
Business
Redmond, WA
Jun 13, 2011

Really nice!

I stayed at OneKingSt. because it was less expensive than the conference hotel. Nice location, very comfortable, had a nice kitchen and even a washer and dryer. Sound proofing was good, as was service. Wifi was free in the lobby. The fitness center was a tad disappointing, good equipment, just not lots of it and not all that accessible. Beautiful restoration of a historic building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Lawrence Public Market--200 year old public market nearby, lots of fresh produce and hot slices of Canadian bacon.

Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J-Scott
Washington DC
Aug 7, 2009

Toronto

The hotel was very nice and had a nice view of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

CLub district

Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Cookie Lady
Pueblo, Colorado USA
Jun 21, 2011

fit for a king

A most delightful trip. The staff were exceptionally helpful. Not only did they point out locations, but also walked us to the proper place and directed the cabbie the correct location to take us to. The Hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to things we had on our list to see. traveling in the city was easy and varied, lots of fun!! The double decker bus was a great way to see quite a bit of the city. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a ticket for the sight seeing bus, ride entire route then get off where ever you want and take your time to explore.Get the ticket when you first arrive and use it every day of your stay as a form of transportation.

Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mobile, AL
Jun 23, 2010

Great Amenities for the Price!

Overall the hotel was great. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had a studio room, but it was plenty big enough for two people. The design of the room was great, it was incredible they could fit a stove top, washer & dryer, dishwasher, refrigerator, toaster & coffee maker in the room. It was nice being able to use the washer & dryer, an amenity most hotels don't have. It would have been nice if the hotel provided wifi in the rooms. Since we use Apple Ipads, this was a problem. Wifi was available in the lobby but it was inconvenient to have to go to the lobby. The other main complaint is the $30 a night valet parking fee. One time when we called to get our car they told us there would be a 30 minute wait! However, most times they were very prompt about getting the car ready. The hotel is in a great location with a subway entrance right outside. There are also several restaurants in walking distance. The room service was a bit pricey. We paid $47 for a late night treat of macaroni and cheese and a chocolate cake. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel and return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you get a chance go to a grocery store for some snacks you could save a lot of money on the high priced room service. The hotel comes equipped with a refrigerator, stove top, toaster, coffee maker but on our first night we were hungry and didn't have a chance to find a store. We ended up paying $47 for a bowl of macaroni and cheese and some chocolate cake.

Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
geneseo ny
Jan 4, 2010

nice surprise

very nice.our room came with everything you could want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Aug 9, 2010

Pretty nice hotel

Overall the hotel was just what we needed. Our room was on the 6th floor with atrium view[...]. Direct access to Toronto's underground Path walkway and shops. Also, the subway is right across the street, as is a drug store, Starbucks and Subway resturant. 4 stars is about accurate for our experience. The bed was a bit stiff, but the comforter was perfect. Our dryer was quite loud the only time we used it, but it wasn't bothersome. We were able to watch a movie in our room that was still in the theaters(14.99 + tax). We were given an internet access code for the wired internet in our room (cord provided) for free, which was very nice. There is free wireless internet in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search