$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

One King West Hotel and Residence

4 stars
1 King Street West,, Toronto, ON M5H 1A1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
116 reviews
Perfect choice for a romantic night in Toronto

Arriving at the hotel we got an upgrade on our room which was great! Te room was very spacious and... See full review

  • Arno22
  • Sep 2, 2014
amazing

needed to extend my stay and the staff was great! The staff gave us GREAT service and suggestions... See full review

  • rohin
  • May 21, 2014
Exquisite suites and timeless elegance in a grand, historic building
Experience the past and present in exquisite harmony at this stunning downtown heritage hotel. The grand, beautifully preserved One King West Hotel & Residence blends attentive service with suite decor designed for contemporary tastes and the modern, high-tech amenities world travelers have come to expect. A perfect location in an architectural treasure, this prestigious address is the luxury traveler's gateway to the nearby business and shopping districts.
Highlights
  • Canada's tallest residential building
  • Private limousine service available
  • Architecturally significant Heritage building
Rooms

Warm wood walls and soft leather sofas in the One King West Hotel & Residence's lobby mingle with sleek modern work desks and stunning big-city views in its suites. Perfect for extended stays, the spacious suites here offer high ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, operable windows with phenomenal city and lake views and in-suite washer/dryer units. Feature suites boast some of the finest views in the city from their balconies. High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

A prestigious address for nearly two centuries, the the One King West Hotel & Residence has been expertly maintained to preserve the elegance of its era, but also has been upgraded to reflect modern-day tastes and conveniences. In its former life, the building was the head office of The Dominion Bank, and the bank's impressive vault, with a 40-ton door, is still here. A state-of-the-art rooftop fitness center offers amazing views of downtown from every angle. Explore the city streets above or below ground with easy access to PATH and the charming boutiques, fine dining and cultural centers surrounding the hotel. Bistro on King, Petite Thuet and Henri's Bar offer a range of menu options on-site.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
  • Public bus stop (on the same block)
Attractions
  • PATH (accessible beyond the lobby)
  • CN Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art (2.1 mi/3.5 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Internet access available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed One King West Hotel and Residence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

One King West Hotel and Residence Rooms

Superior Suite
The room offers 1 King Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.
One Bedroom
The room offers 1 King Bed & 1 Double pull out sofa with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.
Superior Suite
Our Superior Suites with Two Double Beds are located in our grand historical section, offering stunning high ceilings. Your refreshingly spacious suite comes with a host of luxurious features, including a stylish in-suite kitchen with laundry, Two Double Beds, tall ceilings, chic bathroom and designer decor through-out. Approximate size: 450 sq ft
Tower Superior
The room offers 1 King Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.
Studio Suite
The room offers 1 King or 1 Queen Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available. Atrium Views.
Premium Suite
The room offers 1 King Bed & 1 Double pull out sofa with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), t complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, window opens, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available.
Studio Deluxe
The room offers 1 King Bed with cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, hypo-allergenic bedding available, climate control, blackout drapes, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, voice mail, kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, microwave, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptops), electronic/magnetic keys, clock radio, desk, cribs (infant beds) available. Atrium or obstructed views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.4 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.4 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.1 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.6 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.6 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.3 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for One King West Hotel and Residence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HotelGuest2012
Business
Kingston, Ontario
Jul 10, 2012

Excellent Weekend Getaway

Love the mini kitchen in the rooms. The other major perks are: - washer / dryer - separate stand-up shower and tub - room sizes - lots of storage for luggage - nice full size mirrors on the storage unit - hotel staff was extremely courteous and very pleasant. The only down sides (which wasn't a deal breaker for us) are: - the small vanity in the bathroom, not much room to put your bathroom stuff. - beds are a little on the smaller side

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tohmmy
Business
DC
Jul 6, 2012

Great place to stay

I've stayed here twice and would stay again. Try to get an upper floor room if one is available. I purchased an upgrade and had a fabulous lake view. Staff were friendly and helpful. I did have to request clean sheets after 2 nights there, but they accommodated the request quickly. The location is in the financial district, but very central to subway system. It's quite close to the waterfront, which offers many activities in the summertime. (Toronto Island is delightful -- a bit like going on vacation a 10-minute ferry ride from town.) I like this place a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maryanne
Business
Lahti, Finland
Jun 24, 2012

A view to remember

The view from the 46th floor room was unforgettable, we didn't want to leave the room, just sit and enjoy the Toronto skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hockey Hall of Fame and Toronto Maple Leafs home arena

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leonie1234
Business
winnipeg
Jun 5, 2012

Great Location For Family Event

Great hotel! It was close to all our events. Room was big and had a washer and dryer in the room. Bed was very comfortable. Great brand for bathroom supplies. Even had a hot plate in room and had microwave and fridge. Great Location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

lots of shopping near by or a short subway ride to eaton centre. Also subway station right across from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLW69
Business
Durham, NC
May 31, 2012

Conference

I stayed at the One King West while in Toronto for the annual AAPA conference. My room was beautiful, complete with kitchenette and washer/dryer hidden behind classy wooden doors. The bed was amazingly comfortable. I would have liked to see free wireless internet throughout the hotel (without the hassle of 24-hour passcodes through the front desk), and a pool would have been a nice touch, but I really enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xmatlow
Business
Livingston, Scotland
May 27, 2012

Great Location

Everything is on the doorstep of this hotel, and under it. Access to the subway and the PATH (27km of underground shopping and fast food joints) directly from the hotel lobby. The staff are very friendly and courteous, the bar and food are a little pricey though. But who needs to eat or drink there when there's reasonable priced food and an off-licence underneath the hotel in the PATH. The room we had was a bit grubby, could do with a deep clean, especially the carpets. There is a dishwasher, tumble drier and washing machine, plus a double hob, microwave, toaster, coffee machine, and fridge. Very well thought of for the longer stay, they even gave us free washing powder. However, there were no pots or pans! and very little crockery. We only had 2 plates (1 chipped), 1 mug, and a bowl for our room. Did ask for extra but nothing appeared. The TV was an old CRT type! No WiFi in the rooms, only hard line connection. Although there was WiFi in the lobby which was free to access, but a tad annoying that every day we had to ask for a new code to access it. The view from the room we were given was amazing. We had a view of the CN tower and Lake Ontario. The gym facilities were good with great views out over the city whilst you work out. There is also a resistance swimming pool, large Jacuzzi and male and female saunas. Lifts are fast and never had to wait very long for one, although there was one morning (very early) where they were not working (woken by a loudspeaker announcement in the room informing us of the problem). Overall this is an average hotel, in an excellent location but could be great if they sorted out the little issues, i.e. WiFi in the rooms, better stocked kitchen, and cleaner carpets. I would however stay here again and I love the fact that you can wash and dry your clothes in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try "Marche" 2 blocks south of the hotel on Yonge St. Market style dining, with everything cooked to order in front of you. Reasonable prices for Toronto although they do automatically add 13% gratuity to your bill if you eat in, but still worth the experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GilNY
Business
New York, NY, USA
May 23, 2012

Stay away from this hotel: bad customer service and no wifi in the rooms

If you need wi-fi in the room, forget it: this is not the hotel for you. Stay away from One King West. You have to bring your laptop to the lobby and work there, in case you need wi-fi connection. The TV set was very old and the mugs available in the small kitchen had some sort of grease at bottom. It was just nasty. They have an OK breakfast at the hotel for CAN$24. Way overpriced for what they were offering there. Most of the staff were not welcoming and there were some moments that I kinda felt like I was at the DMV, specifically at check-in moment. Gym is ok and the machines were all working, which is a big plus to me, but the treadmills were nasty and sticky. The windows of this building look like they have never been cleaned since the construction of the hotel. It sounds sarcastic, but it's true: the view I got from my room was compromised by a lot dust! Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? NO. Would I stay there again? probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nestle
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
May 7, 2012

Nice Hotel

Parking was a little hassle, but otherwise it was a nice hotel. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Armond
Business
Detroit
Apr 30, 2012

Never Again

For starters, the rooms are disgustingly dirty. The carpet had tons of stains and so did the bed sheets. All of the staff members were friendly, but the valet service is a complete rip off. They charge $30 a night for parking which is not advertised on their web site and there is no alternative parking. So I ended up paying an additional $60 on parking. What makes it worse is that once you check into your room they will come and slide you a letter stating that it takes 45min to get your car from valet. Between the dirty rooms, the horrible valet service, and the price gouging I will never ever use this hotel again. You should try the Hyatt down the street that offers better pricing and better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There are bikes right outside of the hotel. If you want to do any site seeing it may actually be cheaper to ride a bike than take a taxi. The walks are just far enough that if you dress up, it becomes a pain to get to any significant point of interest, but they are too close to justify a $15 taxi ride that is only $15 because you have to wait for people crossing the street and street lights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of One King West Hotel and Residence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mherrera
Business
Toronto
Apr 3, 2012

Dissatisfaction

I was surprised that when I went to check-in at the appropriate time after making reservations well in advance that there were no rooms available. Fortunately, a person at the front desk that was also working helped the associate that was helping me find a room for me. I was also very dissatisfied with the service of valet parking. If I was informed in advance that I would need to notify the valet service to get my car and that it would be at least a half hour wait, I would have not stayed at the hotel. I had to wait an hour to just get my car. I plan on not staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top