$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

3 stars
108 Chestnut Street, Toronto, ON M5G1R3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
171 reviews
Wonderful Hotel

Staff were very helpful with dinner recommendations and quickest travel routes. The bed was the... See full review

  • snoel
  • Jun 23, 2014
Excellent value!

We were in Toronto for a conference at the convention center. Everything about this hotel was... See full review

  • Steve the Hockey Dad
  • Jun 13, 2014
Expert hospitality and high style in heart of financial district
The Metropolitan Hotel Toronto's sleek design is a perfect match for the vibrant urban landscape of the financial district it inhabits. There's a lot going on, with business centers, theaters, galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques nearby. But while the thrum of the streets is fast-paced and exciting, guests find a refuge of tranquility inside the hotel. After a day of meetings, shopping or sightseeing, relax with friends and colleagues at one of the hotel's award-winning restaurants. Or soak in an in-suite whirlpool tub and order dinner in.
Highlights
  • Complimentary downtown limousine service
  • In-suite whirlpool tubs
  • Award-winning on-site Lai Wah Heen Restaurant
Rooms
Find stylish, contemporary decor, European linens, operable windows and business-friendly amenities in all guest rooms and suites at the Metropolitan Hotel Toronto. Some suites also have large marble bathrooms with whirlpool tubs and plush bathrobes. Executive suites feature a fax machine, laser printer, stereo with CD player, and a walk-in closet, in addition to all the standard amenities. Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel (fees apply).
Features
The staff at the Metropolitan Hotel understands what it takes to make a business trip successful, from providing high-tech amenities to complimentary limousine service. Leisure travelers, too, will appreciate the stylish ambience of the hotel and the proximity to some of Toronto's most exciting tourist attractions. The state-of-the-art fitness center and heated indoor pool are great for burning off energy. Both on-site restaurants are award-winning regional stars, but they offer entirely unique menus. In fact, local critics say that Lai Wah Heen serves the best dim sum in North America.
Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway station (in the same block)
Attractions
  • Royal Ontario Museum (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Air Canada Centre (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • CN Tower (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • The Opera House (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Centre Island (3.1 mi/5.1 km)
  • High Park (4 mi/6.5 km)
Business
  • 13,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

43.6539 -79.3854
Nearby airports
Lester B. Pearson Intl Airport, (YYZ), 30.00, KM, E; Billy Bishop Toronto City Airport, (YTZ), 5.00, KM, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KateIsCool
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 13, 2011

Good Location in a Great City!

I think I might have lucked out more than normal with the room (room 1603), because the view was absolutely AMAZING! (I don't think it was as good on the other side of the hotel.) I had a great view of the CN tower and downtown. It also was within a great distance of the St. Patrick Subway station - which was great for getting around the rest of the city! It was slightly more than I would usually pay, but it was a great place to rest up from traveling all around town and the bed was EXTREMELY comfortable! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NZ321
Business
New York, NY
Oct 1, 2010

Paid $200 a night for motel-like rooms

By the time I checked in, the hotel only had Smoking rooms left, even though I The staff was nice, the lobby had a feel of a larger, more professional hotel. But the rooms were a totally different story! I specifically requested a non-smoking room. The room smelled terrible - air felt very mildewy and stale. The walls are so thin that I could hear my neighbor snoring. In fact, the snoring and smoke was so bad that I could not sleep. I had to request earplugs - which the staff was nice enough to bring to my room. The room was small. The bathroom had cheap plastic finishing. Everything in the room looked like it was from the mid-1990s, including the TV - one of those big boxy bricks with terrible picture quality. You can't even give those away now-a-days! I felt like I was staying in a motel!! The carpet was old and faded, the corners are visibly stained. It was so dirty that I dare not walk barefoot in the room. I was here on business, and chose this hotel for the location. It's just 3-4 blocks away from the city center. It's a good thing I didn't pay out of pocket $200 a night for this hotel, I would not stay here again. I would not suggest you stay here. There are cheaper hotels in the area, that may offer the same, or even better quality rooms for less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the concierge desk to book an airport car service for you - $58 flat fee.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NZ321
Business
New York, NY
Oct 1, 2010

Paid $200 a night for motel-like rooms

By the time I checked in, the hotel only had Smoking rooms left, even though I The staff was nice, the lobby had a feel of a larger, more professional hotel. But the rooms were a totally different story! I specifically requested a non-smoking room. The room smelled terrible - air felt very mildewy and stale. The walls are so thin that I could hear my neighbor snoring. In fact, the snoring and smoke was so bad that I could not sleep. I had to request earplugs - which the staff was nice enough to bring to my room. The room was small. The bathroom had cheap plastic finishing. Everything in the room looked like it was from the mid-1990s, including the TV - one of those big boxy bricks with terrible picture quality. You can't even give those away now-a-days! I felt like I was staying in a motel!! The carpet was old and faded, the corners are visibly stained. It was so dirty that I dare not walk barefoot in the room. I was here on business, and chose this hotel for the location. It's just 3-4 blocks away from the city center. It's a good thing I didn't pay out of pocket $200 a night for this hotel, I would not stay here again. I would not suggest you stay here. There are cheaper hotels in the area, that may offer the same, or even better quality rooms for less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the concierge desk to book an airport car service for you - $58 flat fee.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dh
madison, wi
Aug 31, 2010

great location

Polite staff. The location, you cannot beat. Within walking distance of Chinatown and the CN Tower. Korea town is nearby as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dh
madison, wi
Aug 31, 2010

great location

Polite staff. The location, you cannot beat. Within walking distance of Chinatown and the CN Tower. Korea town is nearby as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Aug 23, 2010

Great location

Perfect location for theater and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Aug 23, 2010

Great location

Perfect location for theater and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
So. California
Aug 22, 2010

Wonderful experience

This hotel is in Downtown Toronto and within walking distance of many, many attractions and destination locations. The only difficulty we had in our stay was the traffic and parking in the downtown Toronto area, this should not reflect negatively on the Hotel or the facilities. The staff was extremely kind and courteous and went out of their way to make our stay a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of restaurants located within a short walking distance, everything from elegant dining to whole in the wall gems!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, Pa
Aug 22, 2010

Excellent room, price, and location

We had a wonderful time in Toronto and the location of the hotel made a lot of it possible. We were within walking distance to most attractions and we were able to utilize the transit system nearby. The room had a great view and the staff was very friendly. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
So. California
Aug 22, 2010

Wonderful experience

This hotel is in Downtown Toronto and within walking distance of many, many attractions and destination locations. The only difficulty we had in our stay was the traffic and parking in the downtown Toronto area, this should not reflect negatively on the Hotel or the facilities. The staff was extremely kind and courteous and went out of their way to make our stay a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of restaurants located within a short walking distance, everything from elegant dining to whole in the wall gems!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, Pa
Aug 22, 2010

Excellent room, price, and location

We had a wonderful time in Toronto and the location of the hotel made a lot of it possible. We were within walking distance to most attractions and we were able to utilize the transit system nearby. The room had a great view and the staff was very friendly. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top