$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

2 stars
14 Roncesvalles Avenue, Toronto, ON M6R 2K3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
42 reviews
bonding with cousin

hotel staff is very accommodating and warm, location is just what i need, close to the airport and... See full review

  • ngingipops
  • May 26, 2014
Nice hotel

The hotel building looks awful, but inside is really nice. I used to live at the first floor double... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 28, 2010
Spend your next family adventure at this Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West near the Toronto International Airport, the Hockey Hall of Fame, and the CN Tower with breathtaking views of the city. Take a stroll along the waterfront at Ontario Place to see local culture and entertainment, or just relax on the sandy beach. The University of Toronto is just minutes away. Tour the impressive Casa Loma, a private residence turned museum which resembles a gothic castle, or see the exhibits at the Royal Ontario Museum. Walk to several restaurants including Cardinal Rule, all day breakfast at Easy Restaurant, and Amico Pizza. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast and complimentary newspaper. Copy and fax services are available for your convenience. Plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access. Smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

43.6388 -79.4462
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • High Park: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 2.2 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 2.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 2.9 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 3 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 3 mi
  • Massey Hall: 3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 3.2 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 3.3 mi
  • High Park: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 2.2 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 2.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 2.9 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 3 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 3 mi
  • Massey Hall: 3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 3.2 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 3.3 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 3.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Yorkville: 3.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 3.5 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 3.5 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 3.6 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 3.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 3.7 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 3.8 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 3.8 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 3.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 4.4 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 7 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 7.6 mi
  • The Beaches: 7.7 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 7.9 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 9 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 12.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 42
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.9

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ngingipops
edmonton, alberta
May 26, 2014

bonding with cousin

hotel staff is very accommodating and warm, location is just what i need, close to the airport and public transportation is very much accessible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
jefferson city, mo
Jun 27, 2010

it was good for these money

public transportation near hotel's door, close to lake. there wasn't a lot of variety in breakfast choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 3, 2009

Parking charge

In general was good excaept the sentence about parking charge was NOT clear at all at Orbitz website. It stated: available parking. Which was understood as free parking at site. There was No mention for the $10/day fee at all or the 1 bloack distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
vancouver ,bc
Mar 5, 2011

parking was terrible

the hotel wasnt that bad,it was the parking that is terrible.you have to walk 2 blocks away and it kinda scary when you park late night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wonderful Wizard
Hong Kong
Sep 17, 2012

a noisy night

I arrived in the hotel at about 1 am. The train still undergoing and it was very noisy as we sleep near that. No lift to go up to 2nd floor. The baggage will let you feel crazy. I don't know is it all air-conditioners was so noisy. No thing let me live in this hotel next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown and commercial center

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Jul 24, 2011

NOT GOOD

Extremely noisy at all times. Very unprofessional and non courteous staff. Imposing fees and parking fees that when you reserve are mentioned. King size bedroom was really a smaller version of a double bed room. Required a$50 "SAFETY and SECURITY " deposit fee and parking is about 3 blocks away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nixon
Ottawa,Ontario (Canada)
Apr 30, 2010

Don't stay in this hotel!

The room smelled terrible which I had not noticed when I initially checked in. It was not until after spending the day out on town when I returned that I noticed how horrible the smell which came from the room that reeked into the corridor. The manager tried to place the blame on my infant daughter and would not give me another room for the evening. He even stated that since I payed in advance I received a discount and I am not entitled to a refund. The second night was worse and the housekeeping did not clean the room nor the bathroom and signed off that they had done so. I complained so much that they caved in and gave me another room after I threatened to file a complaint with their head office. I do not recommend staying there and I advise others who have read this comment to look at all the other negative comments written. They reserve the room that nobody would hire coming from the streets without reservation. I also found that there were 45$ rooms in the city that had much better quality. PS- This is not a real HJ Hotel, it was under another name not to long ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search