$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

2 stars
View map of 14 Roncesvalles Avenue, Toronto, ON M6R 2K3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Nov 25, 2010

Howard Johnson: Hotel or hostel?

The rooms in this hotel are incredibly small, but decently kept. Getting luggage in and out was a major issue, as there is no elevator and no parking within at least a full block of the building (not even an 'unloading zone'). The website is misleading in that there are not microwaves or refrigerators in the rooms (there is only a dorm-sized microwave and fridge in the lobby for common use!). The pictures for the hotel on the website are not of this location; my room contained a twin bed which left about a foot on each side between it and the wall - very small. The staff was very friendly but seemed totally unaware that having no parking within at least a block was a slight inconvenience. The main trolly car destination and launch-point (and repair station) is directly behind the hotel, which is why there is no parking anywhere near the hotel. This is in a fairly rough neighborhood. Parking is quite expensive and hard to access due to the abundance of trolly cars and one way streets. The breakfast was decent but quite limited (the coffee was horrendous!). The walls are paper-thin, but thankfully it was a quiet couple of nights that I stayed there. This hotel is definitely not 5 minutes from all the important spots in Toronto. It was a 40 minute trolly ride to University of Toronto (St. George's campus). By car, it would not be much quicker, as it is quite a hike to get to your car and then the streets are very 'stop and go' and quite busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LizzyKizzy
Business
Sudbury, ON
Aug 15, 2010

Very Disappointed

After we checked in and saw our closet-sized, closterphobic room, we asked if we could get a bigger room for the next night. We were told that we were only paying $52 for our room and that we would have to cancel and rebook to try to upgrade through [...] or else pay $115 through the hotel to "upgrade". [...]The hotel was not what we had anticipated - had it been as nice as advertised on [...] I wouldn't have minded paying a little more. I have never seen a Howard Johnson so dilapidated and depressing with rooms so tiny. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, On
Jul 7, 2011

The good. the bad and the reallybad

The only positive thing that I can say about this hotel is it easy to get to Exhibition Place from the hotel. The continental breakfast included dried out bagels, cereal and warm milk. The hotel is located right in front of the street car terminal that runs all night long. The convenient parking that is located a couple of blocks away is cheap to park at but you must get up at 6 am to feed the meter to pay for the rest of the day. The front desk staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I was truly disappointed in this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top