$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

2 stars
14 Roncesvalles Avenue, Toronto, ON M6R 2K3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
43 reviews
OK hotel

The rooms were small but cozy, the bed was very comfy, the bathroom was not super clean, but the... See full review

  • fin chan
  • Sep 10, 2014
bonding with cousin

hotel staff is very accommodating and warm, location is just what i need, close to the airport and... See full review

  • ngingipops
  • May 26, 2014
Spend your next family adventure at this Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West near the Toronto International Airport, the Hockey Hall of Fame, and the CN Tower with breathtaking views of the city. Take a stroll along the waterfront at Ontario Place to see local culture and entertainment, or just relax on the sandy beach. The University of Toronto is just minutes away. Tour the impressive Casa Loma, a private residence turned museum which resembles a gothic castle, or see the exhibits at the Royal Ontario Museum. Walk to several restaurants including Cardinal Rule, all day breakfast at Easy Restaurant, and Amico Pizza. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast and complimentary newspaper. Copy and fax services are available for your convenience. Plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access. Smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

43.6388 -79.4462
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • High Park: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 2.2 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 2.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 2.9 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 3 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 3 mi
  • Massey Hall: 3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 3.2 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 3.3 mi
  • High Park: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 2.2 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 2.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 2.9 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 3 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 3 mi
  • Massey Hall: 3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 3.2 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 3.3 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 3.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Yorkville: 3.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 3.5 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 3.5 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 3.6 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 3.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 3.7 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 3.8 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 3.8 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 3.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 4.4 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 7 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 7.6 mi
  • The Beaches: 7.7 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 7.9 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 9 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 12.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chatham, Virginia
May 2, 2011

Not a good stay at the Howard Johnson.

The room was very small and it smealt very bad. My room was never cleaned by a cleaning lady. There was no parking for customer staying at the hotel unless you paid them $15.00 per day. There was no elevator in the hotel. You could not control the heat in the room you actually had to go downstairs to the front desk and ask for heat. The staff turned off our heat during the middle of the night when we asked for it to be on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you are coming from America you can use American money just make sure you do not have any currency bigger then $20.00 so if you are bringing $500.00 just make sure they are in $20.00 because no one will break American money over $50.00

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Canrane
San Francisco
Jan 1, 2012

Noisy!

Streetcars were loud all night, couldn't sleep at all. Temperature control possibly busted, it was way too hot. All in all. I would not stay at this location again even if you paid me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Nov 25, 2010

Howard Johnson: Hotel or hostel?

The rooms in this hotel are incredibly small, but decently kept. Getting luggage in and out was a major issue, as there is no elevator and no parking within at least a full block of the building (not even an 'unloading zone'). The website is misleading in that there are not microwaves or refrigerators in the rooms (there is only a dorm-sized microwave and fridge in the lobby for common use!). The pictures for the hotel on the website are not of this location; my room contained a twin bed which left about a foot on each side between it and the wall - very small. The staff was very friendly but seemed totally unaware that having no parking within at least a block was a slight inconvenience. The main trolly car destination and launch-point (and repair station) is directly behind the hotel, which is why there is no parking anywhere near the hotel. This is in a fairly rough neighborhood. Parking is quite expensive and hard to access due to the abundance of trolly cars and one way streets. The breakfast was decent but quite limited (the coffee was horrendous!). The walls are paper-thin, but thankfully it was a quiet couple of nights that I stayed there. This hotel is definitely not 5 minutes from all the important spots in Toronto. It was a 40 minute trolly ride to University of Toronto (St. George's campus). By car, it would not be much quicker, as it is quite a hike to get to your car and then the streets are very 'stop and go' and quite busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LizzyKizzy
Sudbury, ON
Aug 15, 2010

Very Disappointed

After we checked in and saw our closet-sized, closterphobic room, we asked if we could get a bigger room for the next night. We were told that we were only paying $52 for our room and that we would have to cancel and rebook to try to upgrade through [...] or else pay $115 through the hotel to "upgrade". [...]The hotel was not what we had anticipated - had it been as nice as advertised on [...] I wouldn't have minded paying a little more. I have never seen a Howard Johnson so dilapidated and depressing with rooms so tiny. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Distressed TorontoON-Lakeshore Traveller
Houston TX
May 27, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE

14 Roncesvalles Ave Toronto, ON M6R 2K3: Dear Sir//Mam, Please post this on your website to help other Travellers. HOJO at 14 Roncesvalles Ave Toronto, ON M6R 2K3 This is a Really Terrible place to live. Please watch out for the following. Rude hotel staff, extremely dirty carpet (check carpet color INSIDE the ROOM versus OUTSIDE the room). Outside the room the carpet is clean, but inside the room the carpet is stained with black shoe and feces marks (never washed!!!). The comforter and the sheet underneath had the stains when I asked for the new comforter, i was given sheets in exchange. There is a stain going from the side of the mattress all the way to the edge of the bed all the way to the carpet. Patches of these stains were on the carpet. DO NOT trust the size of the rooms you see in a picture or photo. The ROOMS are Extremely TINY!!! Online advertisement will talk about in room safe. There is NO SAFE. Online advertisement will describe clean shower. I found pubic hair on the hair drier!!. When I brought to the attention of the staff, they did NOTHING. Area where the hotel is located is very dangerous. Please be careful with you possessions. There was NO fitness center. NO Parking facility, NO SAFETY DEPOSITE BOX, No CYCLING!!! There is CONTINOUS LOUD NOISE from the Street Car (similar to light rail/Tram) ALL DAY and NIGHT. It is really a terrible hotel please STAY AWAY because for a $10.00 difference they will rip you off saying "WE DID NOT PUT THE ADVERTISEMENT, the websites did. Complaint to the website not to us" Sincerely Distressed Traveler who lived at HOJO 14 Roncesvalles Ave Toronto, ON M6R 2K3 and became sick upon reaching home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KR1963
Business
Clearwater, FL
Feb 23, 2011

Absolute [*]

Where do I start? First the "receptionist" told me that I had to give her $50 cash as a deposit in addition to the money paid for it. I said no. She that EVERY HOTEL requires that. I told her that the Hyatt downtown didnt require it. Then she said that the company couldn't call in a credit card to do the deposit on. Finally she allowed me to give her my DL to get in the room.The hallway stank of stale cigarettes & urine.The room was about 10 x10 with a 6 inch by 12 inch HEATER on the side of the wall. The remote didnt work. The carpet has a HOLE in it 8x8 inches. [*]. $50 per night?The furniture was all chipped & cracked.At least the bathroom was decent.This place is BED BUG heaven. Don't stay here unless u r broke & have no other choice. They have WIRELESS INTERNET that I am writing this review on! HAHAHA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
London, On
Jul 7, 2011

The good. the bad and the reallybad

The only positive thing that I can say about this hotel is it easy to get to Exhibition Place from the hotel. The continental breakfast included dried out bagels, cereal and warm milk. The hotel is located right in front of the street car terminal that runs all night long. The convenient parking that is located a couple of blocks away is cheap to park at but you must get up at 6 am to feed the meter to pay for the rest of the day. The front desk staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I was truly disappointed in this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Jul 24, 2011

NOT GOOD

Extremely noisy at all times. Very unprofessional and non courteous staff. Imposing fees and parking fees that when you reserve are mentioned. King size bedroom was really a smaller version of a double bed room. Required a$50 "SAFETY and SECURITY " deposit fee and parking is about 3 blocks away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
piakpoon
bangkok thailand
Sep 11, 2010

very small room, too far from center

The room is very small not the same in the photo.In the hotel web says free hot breakfast but there is only coffee and bread which are hot.The staff forgot to give facial tissue in the room and we asked for it at the reception but he told us to get it at his reception desk.( was it our fault? )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jianzhong
USA
May 3, 2008

a disappointment

1. This hotel if far away from the Pearson airport -- inconvenient to get there unless driving, otherwise taxi charge is about $45, no easy public transportation; 2. inconvenient to carry luggage -- no elevator available; 3. big noise during the evening -- if the room is near the street side; 4. the room is too small. 5. the receiption desk is quite helpful, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

actually it's nearby nowhere, I choose 'Dining' above only because nothing applies. By 'Dining',I mean a Mac next to it.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search