Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

2 stars
View map of 14 Roncesvalles Avenue, Toronto, ON M6R 2K3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.9

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 22, 2011

Small Clean Quiet Hotel!!

The Hotel was 15 minutes from where I needed to be, each day. The Hotel manager was extremely helpful with directions and traffic avoidance issues!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown stores are great!Also Real Sports Sports Bar! Sensational!!!@

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
St Catharines, ON, Canada
Sep 12, 2011

Not very good

Got this room at an ok price considering if was TIFF time...but room smelled like stinky feet, wasn't ready for check in at 3PM! Also, no parking, had to park my car in an open public lot down the road and go down at 7am to put more money in the machine. They have an underground lot under an apt building a block away but only have like 10 spots and people park there who arent even staying at the hotel. Contintental breakfast was only open 7am to 10am...thought that was kind of short. The night desk guy couldn't understand or speak English...just shrugged his shoulders at us when we asked for something. Also asked the hotel to call us a cab and we waited outside for 15 mins then went in to ask if it was on the way and the girl said she forgot to call them back. so ended up waiting 30 mins for a cab. Shady location, lots of homeless people. I don't suggest the hotel, we had to stay there or else we would have been paying 250 or 300 bucks for a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Toronto, Ontario
Sep 28, 2009

No fine restaurants and European

There was no elevator and you have to carry your luggage by urself to the upper stairs. There is no minibar. When arrived the safe box was not working and they fixed it to me the next day. Parking is not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is the cheapest one[...] in general the hotel is close from the subway station, bus station, and street car station beside that there are stores around it which sell all the basics u might need.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York City
Apr 22, 2009

not that great, i made a complaint.

the street car is accesible; and buses, my main concern was climbing three flight of stairs. And breakfast was served across the street, not on premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Jersey USA
Nov 17, 2010

Howard Johnson

Parkdale is a nice location, but the specific location of the hotel is not. Parking is two blocks away and costs $12 per night. The hotel is right above a streetcar depot and the windows do not block noise. The streetcars in Toronto run 24/7. Additionally the hotel is across the street from a bar and practically above a McDonalds. If you're looking for convenience, it is convenient, but if you're looking for comfort, look elsewhere. The rooms are very small. Breakfast is juice, coffee and toast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of small, unique retail shops and antique shops within walking distance.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 8, 2010

M'eh

Hotel was what you'd expect from the cheapest hotel room in Toronto. Room was dirty, but not unbearable. Walls were paper thin, and there was a serious domestic dispute going on. Also the street cars park right behind the hotel, so if you're a light sleeper (I'm not), the room could very well be intolerable. On the plus side, the staff was totally cool and very nice. In fact during the domestic dispute, one of the hotel staff was trying to mediate. Oh and the wi-fi was really spotty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
vancouver ,bc
Mar 5, 2011

parking was terrible

the hotel wasnt that bad,it was the parking that is terrible.you have to walk 2 blocks away and it kinda scary when you park late night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ada B.
Friends
Orlando
Apr 17, 2015

Weekend with friends

The hotel is far from the downtown are. I recommend to rent a car. Also, the floors were very dirty and be prepared to enjoy the tran all night if you get the room in the corner facing the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krysta
Business
Watertown, NY
Oct 10, 2011

HoJo has no mojo

This HoJo is in a bad part of town, I actually had a cab driver tell me not to go outside at night because of drugs and crime. Good to know. Also, rooms extremely small, like can't get your suitcase to the bed because there is a desk in the way small. Not very clean smelling, no bed bugs though. The light rail trains are going all night outside the window though, so very noisy. Overall, cheap place to stay, but you certainly get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Gluten-Free restaurants in Toronto, look them up on line! I particularly liked Villa on Bloor Street.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Canrane
Couples
San Francisco
Jan 1, 2012

Noisy!

Streetcars were loud all night, couldn't sleep at all. Temperature control possibly busted, it was way too hot. All in all. I would not stay at this location again even if you paid me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top