$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

2 stars
View map of 14 Roncesvalles Avenue, Toronto, ON M6R 2K3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.9

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
piakpoon
Business
bangkok thailand
Sep 11, 2010

very small room, too far from center

The room is very small not the same in the photo.In the hotel web says free hot breakfast but there is only coffee and bread which are hot.The staff forgot to give facial tissue in the room and we asked for it at the reception but he told us to get it at his reception desk.( was it our fault? )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SKalber
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 25, 2010

Small but tidy and effective

The service was good. The price was right. The rooms are very small. The parking situation leaves something to be desired. There is no actual Howard Johnson's parking lot. We ended up parking at a Hospital near by and spending $30 on parking from 4pm till 11am the next day. Overall we had a decent experience. For the price it seemed to be a decent value. We would have to find a better parking solution next time. The front desk will let you know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are looking to move about Toronto from this hotel buy a Transit pass from the TTC (Toronto Transit Commission), it cost us $11 CAN for the 2 of us and we traveled from our hotel to the Rogers Centre and back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LizzyKizzy
Business
Sudbury, ON
Aug 15, 2010

Very Disappointed

After we checked in and saw our closet-sized, closterphobic room, we asked if we could get a bigger room for the next night. We were told that we were only paying $52 for our room and that we would have to cancel and rebook to try to upgrade through [...] or else pay $115 through the hotel to "upgrade". [...]The hotel was not what we had anticipated - had it been as nice as advertised on [...] I wouldn't have minded paying a little more. I have never seen a Howard Johnson so dilapidated and depressing with rooms so tiny. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PVLazz
Business
Forest Hills, NY
Jul 4, 2010

July 1, 2010

The room was cozy. There was no elevator. There was a fire on July 1 after midnight, which caused the entranceway to be smoky. The best thing about that hotel was that there was free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jun 28, 2010

Nice hotel

The hotel building looks awful, but inside is really nice. I used to live at the first floor double nonsmoking room with 2 queen beds. The room was nice and big. Guests say the room at 2nd or 3rd floor not as nice. Please book room at the 1st floor. They are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jefferson city, mo
Jun 27, 2010

it was good for these money

public transportation near hotel's door, close to lake. there wasn't a lot of variety in breakfast choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nixon
Business
Ottawa,Ontario (Canada)
Apr 30, 2010

Don't stay in this hotel!

The room smelled terrible which I had not noticed when I initially checked in. It was not until after spending the day out on town when I returned that I noticed how horrible the smell which came from the room that reeked into the corridor. The manager tried to place the blame on my infant daughter and would not give me another room for the evening. He even stated that since I payed in advance I received a discount and I am not entitled to a refund. The second night was worse and the housekeeping did not clean the room nor the bathroom and signed off that they had done so. I complained so much that they caved in and gave me another room after I threatened to file a complaint with their head office. I do not recommend staying there and I advise others who have read this comment to look at all the other negative comments written. They reserve the room that nobody would hire coming from the streets without reservation. I also found that there were 45$ rooms in the city that had much better quality. PS- This is not a real HJ Hotel, it was under another name not to long ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Sep 28, 2009

No fine restaurants and European

There was no elevator and you have to carry your luggage by urself to the upper stairs. There is no minibar. When arrived the safe box was not working and they fixed it to me the next day. Parking is not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is the cheapest one[...] in general the hotel is close from the subway station, bus station, and street car station beside that there are stores around it which sell all the basics u might need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew Murphey
Business
West Chester, PA
Aug 20, 2009

Good value hotel with good location

Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The rooms are a little bit small but it was very clean, the breakfast was various and good and the location is really good (close to Trams which you can take into Toronto). The parking is not for free which was a little bit a disadvantage but it was not bad. Altogether the stay at this hotel was really nice and priceworthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 3, 2009

Parking charge

In general was good excaept the sentence about parking charge was NOT clear at all at Orbitz website. It stated: available parking. Which was understood as free parking at site. There was No mention for the $10/day fee at all or the 1 bloack distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top