$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

2 stars
14 Roncesvalles Avenue, Toronto, ON M6R 2K3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
43 reviews
OK hotel

The rooms were small but cozy, the bed was very comfy, the bathroom was not super clean, but the... See full review

  • fin chan
  • Sep 10, 2014
bonding with cousin

hotel staff is very accommodating and warm, location is just what i need, close to the airport and... See full review

  • ngingipops
  • May 26, 2014
Spend your next family adventure at this Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West near the Toronto International Airport, the Hockey Hall of Fame, and the CN Tower with breathtaking views of the city. Take a stroll along the waterfront at Ontario Place to see local culture and entertainment, or just relax on the sandy beach. The University of Toronto is just minutes away. Tour the impressive Casa Loma, a private residence turned museum which resembles a gothic castle, or see the exhibits at the Royal Ontario Museum. Walk to several restaurants including Cardinal Rule, all day breakfast at Easy Restaurant, and Amico Pizza. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast and complimentary newspaper. Copy and fax services are available for your convenience. Plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access. Smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

43.6388 -79.4462
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • High Park: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 2.2 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 2.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 2.9 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 3 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 3 mi
  • Massey Hall: 3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 3.2 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 3.3 mi
  • High Park: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 2.2 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 2.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 2.9 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 3 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 3 mi
  • Massey Hall: 3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 3.2 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 3.3 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 3.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Yorkville: 3.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 3.5 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 3.5 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 3.6 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 3.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 3.7 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 3.8 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 3.8 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 3.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 4.4 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 7 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 7.6 mi
  • The Beaches: 7.7 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 7.9 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 9 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 12.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SKalber
Rochester, NY
Aug 25, 2010

Small but tidy and effective

The service was good. The price was right. The rooms are very small. The parking situation leaves something to be desired. There is no actual Howard Johnson's parking lot. We ended up parking at a Hospital near by and spending $30 on parking from 4pm till 11am the next day. Overall we had a decent experience. For the price it seemed to be a decent value. We would have to find a better parking solution next time. The front desk will let you know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are looking to move about Toronto from this hotel buy a Transit pass from the TTC (Toronto Transit Commission), it cost us $11 CAN for the 2 of us and we traveled from our hotel to the Rogers Centre and back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LizzyKizzy
Sudbury, ON
Aug 15, 2010

Very Disappointed

After we checked in and saw our closet-sized, closterphobic room, we asked if we could get a bigger room for the next night. We were told that we were only paying $52 for our room and that we would have to cancel and rebook to try to upgrade through [...] or else pay $115 through the hotel to "upgrade". [...]The hotel was not what we had anticipated - had it been as nice as advertised on [...] I wouldn't have minded paying a little more. I have never seen a Howard Johnson so dilapidated and depressing with rooms so tiny. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PVLazz
Forest Hills, NY
Jul 4, 2010

July 1, 2010

The room was cozy. There was no elevator. There was a fire on July 1 after midnight, which caused the entranceway to be smoky. The best thing about that hotel was that there was free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jun 28, 2010

Nice hotel

The hotel building looks awful, but inside is really nice. I used to live at the first floor double nonsmoking room with 2 queen beds. The room was nice and big. Guests say the room at 2nd or 3rd floor not as nice. Please book room at the 1st floor. They are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
jefferson city, mo
Jun 27, 2010

it was good for these money

public transportation near hotel's door, close to lake. there wasn't a lot of variety in breakfast choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nixon
Ottawa,Ontario (Canada)
Apr 30, 2010

Don't stay in this hotel!

The room smelled terrible which I had not noticed when I initially checked in. It was not until after spending the day out on town when I returned that I noticed how horrible the smell which came from the room that reeked into the corridor. The manager tried to place the blame on my infant daughter and would not give me another room for the evening. He even stated that since I payed in advance I received a discount and I am not entitled to a refund. The second night was worse and the housekeeping did not clean the room nor the bathroom and signed off that they had done so. I complained so much that they caved in and gave me another room after I threatened to file a complaint with their head office. I do not recommend staying there and I advise others who have read this comment to look at all the other negative comments written. They reserve the room that nobody would hire coming from the streets without reservation. I also found that there were 45$ rooms in the city that had much better quality. PS- This is not a real HJ Hotel, it was under another name not to long ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Ontario
Sep 28, 2009

No fine restaurants and European

There was no elevator and you have to carry your luggage by urself to the upper stairs. There is no minibar. When arrived the safe box was not working and they fixed it to me the next day. Parking is not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is the cheapest one[...] in general the hotel is close from the subway station, bus station, and street car station beside that there are stores around it which sell all the basics u might need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew Murphey
West Chester, PA
Aug 20, 2009

Good value hotel with good location

Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The rooms are a little bit small but it was very clean, the breakfast was various and good and the location is really good (close to Trams which you can take into Toronto). The parking is not for free which was a little bit a disadvantage but it was not bad. Altogether the stay at this hotel was really nice and priceworthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 3, 2009

Parking charge

In general was good excaept the sentence about parking charge was NOT clear at all at Orbitz website. It stated: available parking. Which was understood as free parking at site. There was No mention for the $10/day fee at all or the 1 bloack distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Apr 22, 2009

not that great, i made a complaint.

the street car is accesible; and buses, my main concern was climbing three flight of stairs. And breakfast was served across the street, not on premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top