$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

2 stars
14 Roncesvalles Avenue, Toronto, ON M6R 2K3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
43 reviews
OK hotel

The rooms were small but cozy, the bed was very comfy, the bathroom was not super clean, but the... See full review

  • fin chan
  • Sep 10, 2014
bonding with cousin

hotel staff is very accommodating and warm, location is just what i need, close to the airport and... See full review

  • ngingipops
  • May 26, 2014
Spend your next family adventure at this Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West near the Toronto International Airport, the Hockey Hall of Fame, and the CN Tower with breathtaking views of the city. Take a stroll along the waterfront at Ontario Place to see local culture and entertainment, or just relax on the sandy beach. The University of Toronto is just minutes away. Tour the impressive Casa Loma, a private residence turned museum which resembles a gothic castle, or see the exhibits at the Royal Ontario Museum. Walk to several restaurants including Cardinal Rule, all day breakfast at Easy Restaurant, and Amico Pizza. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast and complimentary newspaper. Copy and fax services are available for your convenience. Plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access. Smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

43.6388 -79.4462
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • High Park: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 2.2 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 2.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 2.9 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 3 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 3 mi
  • Massey Hall: 3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 3.2 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 3.3 mi
  • High Park: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 2.2 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 2.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 2.9 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 3 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 3 mi
  • Massey Hall: 3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 3.2 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 3.3 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 3.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 3.4 mi
  • Yorkville: 3.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 3.5 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 3.5 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 3.6 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 3.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 3.7 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 3.8 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 3.8 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 3.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 4.4 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 7 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 7.6 mi
  • The Beaches: 7.7 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 7.9 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 9 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 12.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 24, 2011

NOT GOOD

Extremely noisy at all times. Very unprofessional and non courteous staff. Imposing fees and parking fees that when you reserve are mentioned. King size bedroom was really a smaller version of a double bed room. Required a$50 "SAFETY and SECURITY " deposit fee and parking is about 3 blocks away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 22, 2011

Small Clean Quiet Hotel!!

The Hotel was 15 minutes from where I needed to be, each day. The Hotel manager was extremely helpful with directions and traffic avoidance issues!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown stores are great!Also Real Sports Sports Bar! Sensational!!!@

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, qc
Jul 16, 2011

Ants

Very bad... There was ants in my room and the manager was saying it was normal. Room was very small and not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, On
Jul 7, 2011

The good. the bad and the reallybad

The only positive thing that I can say about this hotel is it easy to get to Exhibition Place from the hotel. The continental breakfast included dried out bagels, cereal and warm milk. The hotel is located right in front of the street car terminal that runs all night long. The convenient parking that is located a couple of blocks away is cheap to park at but you must get up at 6 am to feed the meter to pay for the rest of the day. The front desk staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I was truly disappointed in this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Jul 6, 2011

Perfect Location... Inexpensive Rooms

I was able to visit Lakeshore.. w/in walking distance. I also bike all over the city. Also came @ the perfect time, many holiday events/performances all around the city. The hotel was neat. The Manager could've been more friendly & also the cleaning staff could've made the bed daily w/fresh sheets, however overall the staff was fairly nice & some were very helpful. I also think this hotel should have video cameras placed right outside because I rented 2 bikes, locked them up @ the bike rack in front of the hotel, & by morning 1 was stolen along w/the lock. In comparison to other trips... this trip was adventurous & fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Time of visit was on point because Canada loves to celebrate holidays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Distressed TorontoON-Lakeshore Traveller
Business
Houston TX
May 27, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE

14 Roncesvalles Ave Toronto, ON M6R 2K3: Dear Sir//Mam, Please post this on your website to help other Travellers. HOJO at 14 Roncesvalles Ave Toronto, ON M6R 2K3 This is a Really Terrible place to live. Please watch out for the following. Rude hotel staff, extremely dirty carpet (check carpet color INSIDE the ROOM versus OUTSIDE the room). Outside the room the carpet is clean, but inside the room the carpet is stained with black shoe and feces marks (never washed!!!). The comforter and the sheet underneath had the stains when I asked for the new comforter, i was given sheets in exchange. There is a stain going from the side of the mattress all the way to the edge of the bed all the way to the carpet. Patches of these stains were on the carpet. DO NOT trust the size of the rooms you see in a picture or photo. The ROOMS are Extremely TINY!!! Online advertisement will talk about in room safe. There is NO SAFE. Online advertisement will describe clean shower. I found pubic hair on the hair drier!!. When I brought to the attention of the staff, they did NOTHING. Area where the hotel is located is very dangerous. Please be careful with you possessions. There was NO fitness center. NO Parking facility, NO SAFETY DEPOSITE BOX, No CYCLING!!! There is CONTINOUS LOUD NOISE from the Street Car (similar to light rail/Tram) ALL DAY and NIGHT. It is really a terrible hotel please STAY AWAY because for a $10.00 difference they will rip you off saying "WE DID NOT PUT THE ADVERTISEMENT, the websites did. Complaint to the website not to us" Sincerely Distressed Traveler who lived at HOJO 14 Roncesvalles Ave Toronto, ON M6R 2K3 and became sick upon reaching home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2011

Make a second thought!

I made a package reservation to attend SIAL EXPO,Toronto, because the price is cheap and Howard Johnson "Lakeshore". But the outcome was so bad. The worst case experience of my 25 years business trips.I sellect Howard Johnson because of name value and location. My friend loves walking. It is good candidate. When we arrived we found that the building is small and has a sign Howard Johnson "INN". The attitude of the front desk clerk was 'take or nothing' and expressed 'non refundable' when I asked for alternative way to take care of our problems. I understand the limitation of the clerk but I expected a kind of cooperative response.We couldn't get other room at different Horward Johnson in Toronto, because all hotels are under different ownership. The parking is available 2 blocks away at the basement. $12 per night. It is not convenient to in and out when the parking 2 blocks away. I don't think that I read about parking matter and "INN" expression on the name of hotel.We took care of our bags and parking matter. Thanks god we had only small bags. Our room was on the 3rd floor but no elevator. the floor is not clean. We could't get the nonsmoking room. It seems likes that all smoking rooms on the 3rd floor. Full of smlking smell with strong air fresher or cleaning agents. We paid extra $14 per night for two beds room. The room has two beds at the size of one bad room. I think they put two beds to make two beds room. The size is small. Thanks god I am just 5'8". Yaoming couldn't lie down at this room. No enough space for streching legs if you are 7'. To get out from the inside of bed I have to turn my body and walk side lide a clab. Only one foot space.It is not over yet. No enough space for our bags. There was a small drawer but it occupies the closet. We can use only a little wider than one foot. one arm rest of a chair was a half broken and seat is a kind of dirt. The only qualification for Horwad Johnson is bathroom. Over all bathroom is quite good, except ventilation fan. It is a kind of vibrating machine with noise.[...] We turned on the small cubic air condition unit for taking outside air and ventilation fan at the bathroom. It saved our lives. Otherwise we should die. But we had suppered all night because of the vibration transpered from the bathroom fan. You remember the space is so small.[...]So we decide to check out. We made a reservation of Sandman signature rear airport. This one is very good hotel even we have to pay more money.If any one like to enjoy the same experience we had in Toronto, please try the #311 at this "INN".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ttttttttttttttttttt
Business
Vancouver,Canada
May 4, 2011

Moderate experience

Hotel was not bad, as feedbacks tell... This hotel is not a bed bug "heaven", but there is some, very few of them. Overall, if you plan to spend less money, so Hojo is the best place to stay for couple nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chatham, Virginia
May 2, 2011

Not a good stay at the Howard Johnson.

The room was very small and it smealt very bad. My room was never cleaned by a cleaning lady. There was no parking for customer staying at the hotel unless you paid them $15.00 per day. There was no elevator in the hotel. You could not control the heat in the room you actually had to go downstairs to the front desk and ask for heat. The staff turned off our heat during the middle of the night when we asked for it to be on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you are coming from America you can use American money just make sure you do not have any currency bigger then $20.00 so if you are bringing $500.00 just make sure they are in $20.00 because no one will break American money over $50.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, QC
Apr 23, 2011

Relax in Toronto

The rooms are a little small for sure but it's very legitimate in comparison to a hostel's rooms because you have your own bathroom. The TV has cable, the WiFi connexion is just incredible (so fast and reliable!) and the rooms were clean. The only thing is that they really weren't friendly when we checked out; they asked us to pay an extra 20$ because we left 10 mins too late. I couldn't tell if this is regular in hotels though, but I've never seen that in hostels of motels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There's a fridge and a microwave on the first floor, so you can bring along a little lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top