$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

2 stars
View map of 14 Roncesvalles Avenue, Toronto, ON M6R 2K3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.9

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Catharines, ON, Canada
Sep 12, 2011

Not very good

Got this room at an ok price considering if was TIFF time...but room smelled like stinky feet, wasn't ready for check in at 3PM! Also, no parking, had to park my car in an open public lot down the road and go down at 7am to put more money in the machine. They have an underground lot under an apt building a block away but only have like 10 spots and people park there who arent even staying at the hotel. Contintental breakfast was only open 7am to 10am...thought that was kind of short. The night desk guy couldn't understand or speak English...just shrugged his shoulders at us when we asked for something. Also asked the hotel to call us a cab and we waited outside for 15 mins then went in to ask if it was on the way and the girl said she forgot to call them back. so ended up waiting 30 mins for a cab. Shady location, lots of homeless people. I don't suggest the hotel, we had to stay there or else we would have been paying 250 or 300 bucks for a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 24, 2011

NOT GOOD

Extremely noisy at all times. Very unprofessional and non courteous staff. Imposing fees and parking fees that when you reserve are mentioned. King size bedroom was really a smaller version of a double bed room. Required a$50 "SAFETY and SECURITY " deposit fee and parking is about 3 blocks away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 22, 2011

Small Clean Quiet Hotel!!

The Hotel was 15 minutes from where I needed to be, each day. The Hotel manager was extremely helpful with directions and traffic avoidance issues!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown stores are great!Also Real Sports Sports Bar! Sensational!!!@

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, qc
Jul 16, 2011

Ants

Very bad... There was ants in my room and the manager was saying it was normal. Room was very small and not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, On
Jul 7, 2011

The good. the bad and the reallybad

The only positive thing that I can say about this hotel is it easy to get to Exhibition Place from the hotel. The continental breakfast included dried out bagels, cereal and warm milk. The hotel is located right in front of the street car terminal that runs all night long. The convenient parking that is located a couple of blocks away is cheap to park at but you must get up at 6 am to feed the meter to pay for the rest of the day. The front desk staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I was truly disappointed in this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Jul 6, 2011

Perfect Location... Inexpensive Rooms

I was able to visit Lakeshore.. w/in walking distance. I also bike all over the city. Also came @ the perfect time, many holiday events/performances all around the city. The hotel was neat. The Manager could've been more friendly & also the cleaning staff could've made the bed daily w/fresh sheets, however overall the staff was fairly nice & some were very helpful. I also think this hotel should have video cameras placed right outside because I rented 2 bikes, locked them up @ the bike rack in front of the hotel, & by morning 1 was stolen along w/the lock. In comparison to other trips... this trip was adventurous & fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Time of visit was on point because Canada loves to celebrate holidays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Distressed TorontoON-Lakeshore Traveller
Business
Houston TX
May 27, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE

14 Roncesvalles Ave Toronto, ON M6R 2K3: Dear Sir//Mam, Please post this on your website to help other Travellers. HOJO at 14 Roncesvalles Ave Toronto, ON M6R 2K3 This is a Really Terrible place to live. Please watch out for the following. Rude hotel staff, extremely dirty carpet (check carpet color INSIDE the ROOM versus OUTSIDE the room). Outside the room the carpet is clean, but inside the room the carpet is stained with black shoe and feces marks (never washed!!!). The comforter and the sheet underneath had the stains when I asked for the new comforter, i was given sheets in exchange. There is a stain going from the side of the mattress all the way to the edge of the bed all the way to the carpet. Patches of these stains were on the carpet. DO NOT trust the size of the rooms you see in a picture or photo. The ROOMS are Extremely TINY!!! Online advertisement will talk about in room safe. There is NO SAFE. Online advertisement will describe clean shower. I found pubic hair on the hair drier!!. When I brought to the attention of the staff, they did NOTHING. Area where the hotel is located is very dangerous. Please be careful with you possessions. There was NO fitness center. NO Parking facility, NO SAFETY DEPOSITE BOX, No CYCLING!!! There is CONTINOUS LOUD NOISE from the Street Car (similar to light rail/Tram) ALL DAY and NIGHT. It is really a terrible hotel please STAY AWAY because for a $10.00 difference they will rip you off saying "WE DID NOT PUT THE ADVERTISEMENT, the websites did. Complaint to the website not to us" Sincerely Distressed Traveler who lived at HOJO 14 Roncesvalles Ave Toronto, ON M6R 2K3 and became sick upon reaching home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2011

Make a second thought!

I made a package reservation to attend SIAL EXPO,Toronto, because the price is cheap and Howard Johnson "Lakeshore". But the outcome was so bad. The worst case experience of my 25 years business trips.I sellect Howard Johnson because of name value and location. My friend loves walking. It is good candidate. When we arrived we found that the building is small and has a sign Howard Johnson "INN". The attitude of the front desk clerk was 'take or nothing' and expressed 'non refundable' when I asked for alternative way to take care of our problems. I understand the limitation of the clerk but I expected a kind of cooperative response.We couldn't get other room at different Horward Johnson in Toronto, because all hotels are under different ownership. The parking is available 2 blocks away at the basement. $12 per night. It is not convenient to in and out when the parking 2 blocks away. I don't think that I read about parking matter and "INN" expression on the name of hotel.We took care of our bags and parking matter. Thanks god we had only small bags. Our room was on the 3rd floor but no elevator. the floor is not clean. We could't get the nonsmoking room. It seems likes that all smoking rooms on the 3rd floor. Full of smlking smell with strong air fresher or cleaning agents. We paid extra $14 per night for two beds room. The room has two beds at the size of one bad room. I think they put two beds to make two beds room. The size is small. Thanks god I am just 5'8". Yaoming couldn't lie down at this room. No enough space for streching legs if you are 7'. To get out from the inside of bed I have to turn my body and walk side lide a clab. Only one foot space.It is not over yet. No enough space for our bags. There was a small drawer but it occupies the closet. We can use only a little wider than one foot. one arm rest of a chair was a half broken and seat is a kind of dirt. The only qualification for Horwad Johnson is bathroom. Over all bathroom is quite good, except ventilation fan. It is a kind of vibrating machine with noise.[...] We turned on the small cubic air condition unit for taking outside air and ventilation fan at the bathroom. It saved our lives. Otherwise we should die. But we had suppered all night because of the vibration transpered from the bathroom fan. You remember the space is so small.[...]So we decide to check out. We made a reservation of Sandman signature rear airport. This one is very good hotel even we have to pay more money.If any one like to enjoy the same experience we had in Toronto, please try the #311 at this "INN".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ttttttttttttttttttt
Business
Vancouver,Canada
May 4, 2011

Moderate experience

Hotel was not bad, as feedbacks tell... This hotel is not a bed bug "heaven", but there is some, very few of them. Overall, if you plan to spend less money, so Hojo is the best place to stay for couple nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chatham, Virginia
May 2, 2011

Not a good stay at the Howard Johnson.

The room was very small and it smealt very bad. My room was never cleaned by a cleaning lady. There was no parking for customer staying at the hotel unless you paid them $15.00 per day. There was no elevator in the hotel. You could not control the heat in the room you actually had to go downstairs to the front desk and ask for heat. The staff turned off our heat during the middle of the night when we asked for it to be on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you are coming from America you can use American money just make sure you do not have any currency bigger then $20.00 so if you are bringing $500.00 just make sure they are in $20.00 because no one will break American money over $50.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top