$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

2 stars
View map of 89 Avenue Road, Toronto, ON M5R 2G3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bneville
New York
Jun 19, 2012

avenue road

Very good location. Very helpful staff. Basic amenities, but a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
May 31, 2011

good location

The hotel location is very good. The hotel itself is a bit grim. There are marks on the walls. However, the staff are very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Feb 9, 2011

Feh.

This place was just o.k. Room was big and staff somewhat helpful. The truth is everything was great with one real exception - the breakfast was god awful. If you stay here it's worth going next door to the Whole Foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Toronto, ON
Feb 1, 2011

cheap option in the heart of the city

just stayed for a night. Location is excellent, and the neighborhood quite lively. Price is almost unbeatable, but this comes together with some cons : old-fashioned equipment in the room (and very noisy heater), sheets with stains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Toronto, ON
Feb 1, 2011

cheap option in the heart of the city

just stayed for a night. Location is excellent, and the neighborhood quite lively. Price is almost unbeatable, but this comes together with some cons : old-fashioned equipment in the room (and very noisy heater), sheets with stains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 25, 2011

Pleasant Stay

The hotel was clean, peaceful and quiet. A very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spaniards
Business
spain
Jan 18, 2011

ok for value and well located

Awsome surrounding, 5 minutes walk to nearest metro station. Maybe a bit old but confortable bedroom. Nice staff would provide good advice for dining around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hemingway's

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spaniards
Business
spain
Jan 18, 2011

ok for value and well located

Awsome surrounding, 5 minutes walk to nearest metro station. Maybe a bit old but confortable bedroom. Nice staff would provide good advice for dining around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hemingway's

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Jan 17, 2011

Good for the price

I went to Toronto only for tourism, so I knew I would not be spending much time in the hotel. I would return to the hotel only during the nights with my boyfriend, it was perfect for our budget. The bed was made and relatively comftorable, and we had a shower and access to clean towels whenever we needed and that's all I could ask for in a hotel. Also, the parking at this hotel was cheap and convienent. The hotel staff was friendly also. Not the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but I can't complain since it was a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I walked everywhere in Toronto. Only about a 30 minute walk to the CN Tower, seems long, but it's an easy way to save on transportation costs.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tonawanda, New york
Oct 31, 2010

Price was great

Went to medical appointments and did some shopping, while I was there. The room had comfortable beds, but had too few electrical outlets to plug in things like curling irons. The walls and carpet were stained. The hotel is in a perfect location for shopping and sight seeing. The trip worked out well because it was easy to get to places by taxi. I would stay at this hotel again mostly because of the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect location to find resturants, shopping and sight seeing.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
Oct 3, 2010

Nuits Blanche

Very clean bur a bit outdated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top