$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 13, 2014 Check-out: May 14, 2014

Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

3 stars
56 Yonge Street, Toronto, ON M5E-1G5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
81 reviews
Great

Just wonderful from start to finsh. I would highly recommend this hotel. See full review

  • Pete and Sheila
  • Nov 2, 2013
Perfect position

Hotel Victoria is the perfect place to stay while in Toronto. Within walking distance for all... See full review

  • Nicky0106
  • Oct 28, 2013
Boutique comfort, historic building in vibrant downtown Toronto center
The second-oldest hotel in the city, the Victoria Hotel allows its guests to revisit a charming part of Toronto's history. With only 54 rooms, this boutique hotel, built more than a century ago during the reign of England's King Edward, offers a cozy atmosphere and a warm, friendly staff. This ideal location, at the heart of the thriving downtown shopping, theater and financial areas, is perfect for seeing the city by bike or by foot. For attractions further out, take nearby public transportation for a convenient and inexpensive way to get around.
Highlights
  • Toronto's second-oldest hotel and a designated historic building
  • Enjoy discounts for nearby theater performances
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Location
With so many great attractions within walking distance, you'll get plenty of exercise just seeing the sights. Walk to the dynamic Harbourfront, exciting Rogers Centre or thrilling CN Tower. Eaton Centre is an incredible glass gallery of hundreds of department stores and shops, and it's only minutes from the hotel. The Hockey Hall of Fame is a must-see for sports fans, and theater buffs have endless options for great performances in downtown Toronto. The Victoria Hotel offers quick and easy access to the comprehensive public transportation system. On a bus or the subway, guests can be nearly anywhere in the city in minutes.
Rooms
The Hotel Victoria's European-style rooms are comfortably furnished and classically decorated, and they include private bathrooms. Find cozy bedding, an iron and ironing board, in-room coffee and tea service and complimentary high-speed Internet service in all rooms. Deluxe rooms also offer mini-refrigerators for guest convenience.
Features
Cozy rooms, a friendly and helpful staff and an ideal location come together to ensure a great business trip or vacation. All guests are invited to use health club privileges at nearby Goodlife Fitness Club (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway station (in the same block)
Attractions
  • CN Tower (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harbourfront (0.6 mi /1 km)
  • Eaton Centre (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access

Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto) Rooms

Standard Queen Room
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with color cable television, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, private bath & shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryers, convenient voice-mail system, limited wheelchair accessibility, in-room heating/air conditioning, valet/laundry available and complimentary newspapers. All rooms are non-smoking.
Deluxe King Room
The room offers 1 King Bed with color cable television, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, private bath & shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryers, convenient voice-mail system, limited wheelchair accessibility, in-room heating/air conditioning, valet/laundry available and complimentary newspapers. All rooms are non-smoking.
Standard Twin Room
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with color cable television, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, private bath & shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryers, convenient voice-mail system, limited wheelchair accessibility, in-room heating/air conditioning, valet/laundry available and complimentary newspapers. All rooms are non-smoking.
Deluxe Twin Queen Room
The room offers 2 Queen Beds with color cable television, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, private bath & shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryers, convenient voice-mail system, limited wheelchair accessibility, in-room heating/air conditioning, valet/laundry available and complimentary newspapers. All rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6483 -79.3775
Area served
Toronto.
Nearby airports
Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ).
Area description
Hotel Victoria is located near to Rogers Centre - home to the Toronto Blue Jays and The Toronto Argonauts, Air Canada Centre – new home of the Toronto, Maple Leafs and the Toronto Raptors, Toronto Eaton Centre, CN Tower, The Hockey Hall of Fame and St. Lawrence Market.

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.6 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.6 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.1 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Fort York: 1.4 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.3 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.4 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Overall score

3.8 / 5
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Reviewer score

4
Tampa Bay
Safety Harbor, FL
Oct 27, 2012

Perfect dowtown hotel

A great value for the location! Will definitely stay at Hotel Victoria on my next trip to Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Reviewer score

2
dwaltman
Webster, NY
Apr 12, 2014

Ok for price, I guess but would pay a little more to stay elsewhere.

You have to double-park on Younge Street then park a few blocks away. They started offering valet parking for $50 but the municipal lot I was sent to was only $23 for over 24 hours. I'm glad I found out about this lot but then you have to either carry your luggage about 5 blocks or drive back and double-park again. The room was small but we didn't spend much time there other than to sleep. The view was the windows of other rooms and a wall. The room phone didn't work so I had to call the front desk using my roaming charges or take the elevator. The location was good for shows (we went to Massey Hall), St. Lawrence Market and we even walked to The Distillery District. They have a nice little breakfast place inside the hotel but we didn't eat there. Overall, not too much in the way of amenities but it was fairly cheep. I'd probably pay $20-30 more and stay up a block at One King West that had larger rooms and nicer views (although the difference in parking charges would make it $40-50 more).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Municipal Parking Lot at the end of Church Street is pretty cheap. I paid $23 for about 25 hours. Much cheaper than what hotels charge or event parking. A bit of walk, depending on where you are going but I'm glad I know it's there now.

Review of Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Reviewer score

3
SaraSaid
Hamilton, Ontario
Apr 5, 2014

Another great stay at the Victoria

Went to a show at the ACC - very handy to transit/dining/etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Reviewer score

4
sschaeff
Business
Dallas
Jan 22, 2014

Bed should get a 10

This is a very basic hotel, shabby chic but for the price and location, you can't beat it. Special shout out for one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a whole underground city in Toronto to help you get to key places without having to brave the elements.

Review of Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Reviewer score

4
Emma Baobao
Toronto
Jan 2, 2014

Nice stay!

This hotel is located near downtown Toronto. It will take 13 mins walking. Staff is helpful and alimentaries are nice. But the room with one queen size bed is a little bit small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Reviewer score

3
busy don
Business
pinehurst nc
Dec 5, 2013

very pleased

A, centrally located to downtown Toronto boutique hotel. Although the rooms were not spacious a total renovation with very good beds made me think great value and would recommend to those who want value with comfort . I`ll return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Reviewer score

4
Mairin Ni Mhairtin
Ireland
Nov 12, 2013

Five comfortable nights

My adult daughter and myself were in Toronto visiting my son who now works there. We needed a comfortable, clean place to lay our heads and we got what we wanted. We only slept there as we spent most of our time in my son's condo and eating out. Would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Reviewer score

5
Pete and Sheila
Derby, England
Nov 2, 2013

Great

Just wonderful from start to finsh. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Reviewer score

5
Nicky0106
Bath, England
Oct 28, 2013

Perfect position

Hotel Victoria is the perfect place to stay while in Toronto. Within walking distance for all attractions. Our room was very stylish and spotlessly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the PATH for greeting around Toronto & for great shopping.

Review of Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Reviewer score

5
Jimbob77
Yorkshire
Oct 14, 2013

A good room to keep the jetlag at bay

Easy checkin, rooms are smallish but with two regular sized suitcases not too small bathroom is a good size, had an Apple TV with free netflix so caught up on some tv box sets whilst insomnia kept us from sleeping on the very comfy beds and pillows, overall very impressed , a one slight improvement would be to offer a discount for guest at the on site 'over easy' restaurant downstairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From the airport catch the airport rocket bus 192 to Kipling station and catch the subway downtown, change at yonge/bloor and head down to king street subway for a 3 minute walk to the hotel, only 3 dollars per person and no annoying tax on top

Review of Hotel Victoria (Downtown Toronto)

Reviewer score

3
An alien in Toronto
Finland
Apr 17, 2013

Parking far away

Since it is a city center location the parking was a bit of a challenge. They recommended to use the public parking quite far away from the hotel, so you better get your stuff to the hotel before parking. The fee for parking was high without a special rate to the hotel quests. The heating/cooling unit was was very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top