$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

3 stars
30 Carlton Street, Toronto, ON M5B 2E9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
38 reviews
Average Holiday Inn - great location

This is really just an average 3 star Holiday Inn... the location makes it more desirable, though.... See full review

  • maxthetraveler
  • Dec 8, 2014
Works for me!

I've used this hotel before and it's never let me down. Location is decent and it's quiet. I'd use... See full review

  • Digger Acle
  • Nov 18, 2014
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre Bordered by Yonge, Carlton, Church and Wood Streets, Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre is in the centre of it all. Some of the finest shopping venues in the world such as the Toronto Eaton Centre, the shops at Yorkville, Holt Renfrew, The Bay, Winners, Marshall's and Bed Bath and Beyond are only minutes from our doorstep. The entrance to the Yonge/College Subway line, part of Toronto's famous TTC, and the main artery of the city, is less than a block from the hotel, providing immediate access to all attractions, shopping, dining, hospitals, theatres and the financial district. Jump aboard and visit The CN Tower, Art Gallery of Ontario, Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Dundas Square, Ripley's Aquarium and more. Sports history meets the future at the Mattamy Athletic Centre. Toronto's iconic Maple Leaf Gardens has been transformed into a state-of-the-art sports facility for Ryerson University, including a hockey area, basketball courts, a health facility and more. Visit the original "centre ice" in the world famous Loblaws at Maple Leaf Gardens, located on the main level of the facility, and experience the history first hand. Indulge in the many fabulous restaurants, patios and nightclubs located near the hotel. Venture up Church Street to visit fantastic restaurants and patios in Toronto's popular LGBT neighborhood.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.3 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 0.9 mi
  • Yorkville: 0.9 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.9 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 1 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.3 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 0.9 mi
  • Yorkville: 0.9 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.9 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 1 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1 mi
  • Massey Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 1.8 mi
  • Fort York: 1.9 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.1 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.3 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 2.7 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.6 mi
  • High Park: 4.3 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.3 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 4.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 5.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 8.7 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 14.6 mi

Dining

The Carlton
A beautiful large new space in a contemporary setting. Feel the energy of the kitchen with the open concept layout. Our friendly staff is here to serve you for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Whether it is for an intimate meal or a special celebration with fr
Cora's
Cora's is committed to promoting the importance of eating breakfast and creating unforgettable food experiences for customers, by providing high quality products and service in a warm, friendly, family atmosphere.
W Burger Bar
Toronto's Best Burger! W Burger Bar was built on an idea to offer great food, great fun, great service and great value. It's that simple.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andrew D
Business
Oakville, Ontario
May 1, 2012

Nice hotel, great location but the management is poor

I have stayed at this hotel several times and was very happy until I had an issue that required the manager Jeff Lovendhal to get involved. He is not very good at returning phone calls. My first contact with him required two phone messages to get him to call me back. Jeff offered me a complementary nights stay at the hotel and said all I had to do was call him and he would look after me. I called him 3 business days in advance to take advantage of his offer and he did not return my phone call so I stayed at another hotel. I called Jeff the following Monday and left him another voice mail message expressing my disappointment that he failed to return my call and requested him to call me once again and he did not. As a client that has stayed at this hotel several times I would have assumed he would have returned my call but he never did. It became very clear to me that the original issue at the hotel actually relates to poor management. Staff will tend to follow the lead of the people in charge, and with people like Jeff Lovendhal in charge it is now very clear to me why I originally encountered the problem that I did. I had to turn to IHG customer support to finally resolve the situation. At least IHG customer support was able to demonstrate a professional level of customer service unlike the hotel manager Jeff Lovendhal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have a problem at this hotel, contact IHG direct, don't waste your time with Jeff Lovendhal, he obviously lacks the understanding of what good customer service is all about. Really....it's not that hard to pick up and return a phone call.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, Canada
Oct 28, 2011

not what we reserved and paid for

reserved a king size bed, and got a very small room with 2 small beds. Not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JSCHAEFFER
Business
Southaven Mississippi
Jul 24, 2012

Ok for what we needed but not clean

There was hair beside the toilet in the bathroom and they had plenty of time to clean the room because we showed up well after check in time. There was nothing in our reservation packet were to park and that was in the basement of the hotel for 25.00 for one night. They only have four elevators in one location for the whole hotel so it was very crowded and slow. Room was descent, a bit small and it had a fridge. Staff was helpful and friendly, they also had a travel desk for tours etc. She was a big help for general city information. Location was descent but Toronto is way too much like New York with all the people. We drove to Toronto from Niagara Falls to see the Hockey Hall of Fame. I think we would have rather drove to Toronto for the day instead of staying the night. Niagara is much nicer for a relaxed vacation but WARNING...Canada is expensive, we spent way more than we budgeted out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nick the Greek
Business
Chicago
May 24, 2011

Nice facilities - hidden charges...

The room was fine, but the two bed type they gave me, had small beds. Otherwise, everything was there, the housekeeping was perfect, the room service accurate. The breakfast buffet was average and expensive. I have bought a calling card to use from my room, to call in Europe and in the US. They wanted to charge me 1 dollar, for every time i called the FREE of charge 1-800 phone number, without anyone to inform before i use it, about 40 dollars!!! Finally they charged me only... half of it! I find it unacceptable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont miss the Niagara Falls! Its overwhelming, only one hour and a half by bus from Toronto downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bibkopf
Business
michigan
Aug 16, 2011

family vacation

Hotel room was a bit tight and parking charges was expensive. Not very family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G8ter
Business
Florida
Oct 29, 2011

Business to st mike hospital

One night. Adequate for my purposes. Walking distance to st. mike hospital. Very close to subway which is plus. Elevators were malfunctioning the am of check out which was bad for me on one of the upper floors. Most of staff were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
just another gay guy
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 2, 2012

holiday inn

this is not a new building its a old days in that was closed and then renovated the staff told me. the rooms are very small and even though it is only been open for about 6 months the first room I was in had no hot water and the bed headrest was falling off the wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicolettecor
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 3, 2012

NYE stay

Stayed on NYE and the staff was accommodating. However, there was no ice on any of the floors past 6pm and it wasn't refilled at all which was inconvenient. Also, our room was right across the housekeeping room and the door kept opening and closing all night and it was loud and distracting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew D
Business
Oakville, Ontario
Apr 3, 2012

What is that smell?

I checked in and when I opened the door to my room I was greeted with a very horrible smell that was in the room. I went back downstairs right away and quietly said to the front desk attendant that seriously lacks personality and customer service skills that the room had a bad smell and I asked if she would please assign me a different room. I thought I was being considerate by quietly voicing my complaint. I expected an apology that the room was not to my satisfaction and that another room would be assigned with ease. This was not the case. Instead the rude front desk clerk insisted that I describe the offensive smell and then asked me if I touched anything in the room. She eventually assigned another room wth no apology for the inconvenience. After my stay to the hotel I called to speak to the hotel manager, my call has not been returned. In the last 6 weeks I have stayed at this hotel 5 times, you would think that that type of repeat business would be appreciated, but apparently not. It would appear in the future I will stay elsewhere as I was not happy with how the situation was handled and the lack of the return phone call from the manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashleyann
Business
Michigan
Jul 2, 2012

Average

I'm from Michigan and I stayed here for 1 night. The price wasn't bad for the location. There is a lot of food places near. A lot of stuff within walking distance. Parking is 20$ a day. The staff is very very friendly. All so nice. The rooms were the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in.The bed pretty much touched the wall. It did have a bit of a mildo smell to it. The carpet was stained and the bathroom was small. But for downtown and for the price I guess it wasn't too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top