$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

3 stars
View map of 30 Carlton Street, Toronto, ON M5B 2E9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1BBB
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 29, 2012

Jazz 2012

The hotel was nice, nothing that would stand out however the outstanding part of the vacation was Alex the concierge. Alex was the reason for choosing the Holiday Inn at this location. I called from the states and Alex provided me with the Jazz Festival locations, explained the easy access that was available from the hotel location. He provided me valuable information about restaurants and other great attractions in Toronto I can’t say enough about Alex and his care for us while on vacation. His service started before we reached the hotel and continued until we left… the hotel was ok but the concierge at this hotel is the best…

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel provides you with food from every venue and all of them are within walking distance....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VardanK
Business
Sherman Oaks
Jun 21, 2012

Not worth it

The rooms were VERY small and the beds were not the best! When I checked in, they gave me the wrong room only because they were fully booked (not an upgraded room, more like a downgrade) it wasn’t until I called them to say "hey, i think you gave me the wrong room" until they told me they put me in a worse room because they over booked. I didn’t get an apology or anything. Food at the restaurant was not worth what you will pay. The staff was okay. I sent a fax to the hotel before I checked in (they confirmed they received it) when I got there, they couldn’t find it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drew from NY
Business
Saratogia, New York
Jun 5, 2012

Very nice hotel!

Very modern hotel with very clean and comfortable rooms. Certainly exceeded my expections overall! Only real short fall to this hotel that I noticed was that the price is sorta high, but probably average for the area that it's located in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many theatres that are located around the hotel, I would recommend checking out the plays and musicals in Toronto!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andrew D
Business
Oakville, Ontario
May 1, 2012

Nice hotel, great location but the management is poor

I have stayed at this hotel several times and was very happy until I had an issue that required the manager Jeff Lovendhal to get involved. He is not very good at returning phone calls. My first contact with him required two phone messages to get him to call me back. Jeff offered me a complementary nights stay at the hotel and said all I had to do was call him and he would look after me. I called him 3 business days in advance to take advantage of his offer and he did not return my phone call so I stayed at another hotel. I called Jeff the following Monday and left him another voice mail message expressing my disappointment that he failed to return my call and requested him to call me once again and he did not. As a client that has stayed at this hotel several times I would have assumed he would have returned my call but he never did. It became very clear to me that the original issue at the hotel actually relates to poor management. Staff will tend to follow the lead of the people in charge, and with people like Jeff Lovendhal in charge it is now very clear to me why I originally encountered the problem that I did. I had to turn to IHG customer support to finally resolve the situation. At least IHG customer support was able to demonstrate a professional level of customer service unlike the hotel manager Jeff Lovendhal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have a problem at this hotel, contact IHG direct, don't waste your time with Jeff Lovendhal, he obviously lacks the understanding of what good customer service is all about. Really....it's not that hard to pick up and return a phone call.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lyrical Lord
Business
Marshall, NC 28753, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Absolutely Outstanding

This Holiday Inn was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I had no problems at all, and everything was great. The staff was very nice, the room service was amazing, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms and lobby were very well designed, and my stay was a great experience. Absolutely Wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is around everything that you would enjoy doing or going to in Toronto. You will not be let down by this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew D
Business
Oakville, Ontario
Apr 3, 2012

What is that smell?

I checked in and when I opened the door to my room I was greeted with a very horrible smell that was in the room. I went back downstairs right away and quietly said to the front desk attendant that seriously lacks personality and customer service skills that the room had a bad smell and I asked if she would please assign me a different room. I thought I was being considerate by quietly voicing my complaint. I expected an apology that the room was not to my satisfaction and that another room would be assigned with ease. This was not the case. Instead the rude front desk clerk insisted that I describe the offensive smell and then asked me if I touched anything in the room. She eventually assigned another room wth no apology for the inconvenience. After my stay to the hotel I called to speak to the hotel manager, my call has not been returned. In the last 6 weeks I have stayed at this hotel 5 times, you would think that that type of repeat business would be appreciated, but apparently not. It would appear in the future I will stay elsewhere as I was not happy with how the situation was handled and the lack of the return phone call from the manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew D
Business
Oakville, Ontario
Mar 9, 2012

Over night getaway

The hotel was great. It was clean, the beds were comfortable. The hotel has recently been redone so everything was nice and fresh. Great showers, the rooms are small but the hotel is located downtown Toronto and real estate is at a premium there so that is to be expected. Staff was friendly and professional. I Will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew D
Business
Oakville, Ontario
Feb 21, 2012

Excellent accomidations

The hotel has recently been renovated, the rooms are tastefully decorated. The shower was fantastic, the beds and pillows were like sleeping on a cloud. I highly reccommend this hotel if you are staying in the area. All of the staff were also top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicolettecor
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 3, 2012

NYE stay

Stayed on NYE and the staff was accommodating. However, there was no ice on any of the floors past 6pm and it wasn't refilled at all which was inconvenient. Also, our room was right across the housekeeping room and the door kept opening and closing all night and it was loud and distracting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn TORONTO DOWNTOWN CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
just another gay guy
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 2, 2012

holiday inn

this is not a new building its a old days in that was closed and then renovated the staff told me. the rooms are very small and even though it is only been open for about 6 months the first room I was in had no hot water and the bed headrest was falling off the wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top