$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

3 stars
View map of 475 Yonge Street, 475 Yonge Street, Toronto, ON M4Y 1X7

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WARWayne
Business
Ontario Canada
Mar 31, 2014

Courtyard Marriott, Yonge St Toronto

Great location, very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room and the amenities of the hotel. Will definitely stay again when the opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The live theatre in Toronto is world class

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
COBIZTraveler
Business
Boulder, CO
Jan 16, 2014

Great location, but room was run down

The hotel was in very close proximity to all of my business meetings, but the room was cramped, very dated, not well cleaned and I could hear people in the room above me walking around making it difficult to sleep. If I go to Toronto on business again I likely will not choose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very few good restaurants within close walking distance with the exception of Mercatto. The hotel restaurant was average, soup was amazing, but entree left a lot to be desired.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Str8ner
Business
Sarasota, florida
Jan 5, 2014

Great stay

Great location. Close to shops and restaurants, as well as the best food market I've ever seen, Loblaws. Don't miss it. Front desk help were great and very helpful. Hotel concierge had good restaurant suggestions and arranged airport transportation on my departure. Clean, well lighted room. I requested a microwave, since we stayed a whole week and it was delivered promptly. Housekeeping was friendly and more than willing to give us extra pillows and towels. Comfortable bed, good showerhead, quality soaps and shampoos. I'd stay here again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Loblaws market. Fresh, prepared foods, as well as regular groceries. Can eat there or take home. Stunning arrays of baked goods, candies, suchi and gelato displays too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stache Man
Business
NY
Dec 29, 2013

City living for a Country mouse

I picked this hotel blind and lucked out. Nice facilities at a decent price although future guests have to determine what venues they would prefer to be near. This hotel is north of many of the hotspots and a least a 30 minute walk although the subway is handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schmerko
Business
Iowa
Sep 16, 2013

Great location to explore downtown Toronto

This hotel has a great location. You can walk from the hotel to countless dining and entertainment options. The College subway station is a short 5 minute walk away and from there you can take the subway (or surface trams) to/from nearly everywhere. The Eaton shopping centre is maybe a 10 to 15 minute walk. The hotel itself has a very good buffet breakfast (though a bit pricey, but then everything in Toronto seems to be that way). The little cafe/bar/coffee nook in the lobby is a good option for something quick and they do have a "pantry" with a variety of vending machines and other items you can buy just to the side of the check-in desks. It is not real bad to drive to the hotel with the car entrance on a side road just off the main street (Yonge). You can leave your car with the valet there for around $32 a day; or you can self-park the car across the street in a private multi-story car park for I think $27. It depends how much that $5 per night is worth to you. Hotel staff was always friendly and hotel was busy with people without being crowded. The room was clean, everything worked, and the TV had a variety of channels including cable, Canadian channels and the US free to air channels from Buffalo. The wireless internet in the room and public areas worked well for us. The first time you use it you have to log-in with the security code the front desk gives you at check-in. Check-out was easy with the invoice slipped under your door on the last night and if everything is ok you just drop your key cards in the box in the lobby and walk out. The only negative is that there can be just a little bit of street noise depending on how high up your room is and on what side of the hotel. We really only noticed any noise on one night (out of four) and it wasn't that load - just the theater crowd hanging out on the sidewalk outside after the show. Look for deals (with enough advance notice) and the value for money for this location is not too bad (especially for Toronto).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the street is a 24 hour drug-store that has some groceries in the store. Across and just down the street is a Tim Horton's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
benya98
Business
Baltimore MD
Sep 9, 2013

Very Good

Very good location, personal is very friendly, rooms are big and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dream Factory Engineer
Business
Montreal
Sep 9, 2013

Satisfactory for a solitary business traveler

Clean room, but tiny considering the price. Hotel staff were always polite and cordial. Cost of valet parking is very high (more expensive than valet parking at a premium Beverly Hills hotel). Free wi-fi makes up for it. Coffee shop in the lobby well stocked and convenient. Overall, it was comfortable for a solitary business traveler for a brief stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Hoosier
Business
Chicago
Sep 3, 2013

Good Value for Downtown Toronto Stay

This hotel was centrally located to many of the downtown attractions we were interested in seeing. The room was comfortable and the staff pleasant. I did appreciate the Quiet Hours in effect which kept hotel noise to a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely visit Case Loma if you get a chance. This was the highlight of my trip and something that was very unique if you like audio tours through history.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
My way
Business
Cheshire
Aug 31, 2013

Good location for restaurants but needs revamping

The hotel lobby is good but the hotel room we stayed in was in need of redecoration and new beds the beds were very uncomfortable. Too softy on rolled into a dip in the middle of the bed. Did not sleep well at all because of this. We asked for a quiet room and did get one there was very little noise from inside the hotel as they have a noise policy which is good. Yonge streets is noisy there was an annual buskers festival whilst we were there but it finished at midnight each night and as we were 14 floors up this did not bother us at all. No kettle in the room which is a must for making tea - making tea through a coffee machine does not work as it is tainted with coffee taste even after washing out several times. The check in and out was slow but the staff were very nice. Safety deposit boxes required in the room rather than at reception as you had to queue at reception to get in and out of these. Overall good location nice staff but revamping of rooms desperately needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatJes
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 27, 2013

Great Choice for Quick Stay

We visited Toronto for a quick overnight. I selected this Courtyard based on the combination of location and price. We were very happy with the stay. The staff was terrific and we were within walking distance from Dundas Square, Eaton Centre, and Univ. of Toronto. A little farther walk look us to Kensington Market & Chinatown. The lobby and general areas we modern and updated. The room itself (7th floor for us) was slightly dated - but I've stayed in worse. It was clean (although the sink drained slowly - we left room feedback on that). We would definitely consider staying at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The transit (subway - orange line) runs nearby. Exit at College Station and the hotel is a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top