$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Cosmopolitan Toronto

4 stars
8 Colborne Street,, Toronto, ON M5E 1E1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
85 reviews
Stayed for a conference

This hotel was great. Very clean, very comfortable and windows surrounding the bed. I only knocked... See full review

  • i stayed here 00
  • May 3, 2014
Tiff event

Room was nice and clean! View was not great. Staff was polite. Room ready when promised See full review

  • Young guy Detroit
  • Sep 9, 2014
Eastern-inspired luxury hotel delivers new level of tranquility
Serenity and sophistication come together in this Nirvana-like oasis at the heart of Toronto's financial center. Exquisite Eastern-inspired design graces every aspect of this modern luxury hotel. Cosmopolitan Toronto guests enjoy rooms thoughtfully designed for contemporary comfort utilizing the ancient Chinese art of feng shui. Central to each suite is the natural gemstone fountain created by renowned local energy consultant Sylvia Noble. Eight, the on-site wine bar, and Shizen, the hotel's spa, contribute to a transforming stay.

Highlights
  • Meditation mats in every suite
  • Feng shui-informed design
  • Designer Penthouse created by HGTV hosts of Designer Guys

Rooms

Find new balance in any of the Cosmopolitan Toronto's incredible suites. Modern Asian-inspired design is showcased in furniture with clean lines, Zen icons and a simplified, uncluttered color palette. Discover a new center of calm with the help of an exclusive meditation channel and meditation mat in every suite. Kitchenettes, flat-screen televisions, plush bathrobes, air purifiers, high-thread-count bed linens and stunning city or lake views are also standard at the Cosmopolitan. The phenomenal Cosmopolitan Penthouse and Designer Penthouse have full kitchens and wrap-around balconies with breathtaking views.

Features

Enjoy an oasis of calm in the thriving bustle of Canada's largest city. Take pleasure in the Cosmopolitan Toronto's unique amenities, such as meditation mats and inspired decor, such as in-suite gemstone fountains. Eight, the hotel's on-site wine bar, offers small dishes expertly paired with an impressive selection of boutique and hard-to-find wines. Shizen, the Japanese word for "nature" and the on-site spa, offers a variety of treatments to help guests relax deeply and find their center. Beyond the sanctuary of the hotel, guests find that theaters, art galleries, parks, business venues and popular tourist attractions are all nearby.


Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway station (0.15 mi/0.25 km)

Attractions
  • Royal Ontario Museum (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • CN Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Opera House (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • High Park (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Business
  • State-of-the-art boardrooms available
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Policies & fees
Please be advised that as of end of day Saturday, November 30th, Eight Wine Bar and Room Service will be closing down. The hotel will continue to offer breakfast each morning.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cosmopolitan Toronto also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Cosmopolitan Toronto Rooms

Superior
The room offers 1 Queen bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open.Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Deluxe
This one bedroom suite offers 1 Queen Bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Tranquility Suite
560 square feet of living space with a kitchen equipped with stove-top, microwave and mini fridge and scenic views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Surround yourself with a contemporary array of indulgences including hardwood floors, chic designer furnishings and European kitchens. Separate living room from bedroom, queen bed. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.2 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Fort York: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa contains two boardrooms, Aura and Chi, in addition to the 24 hour Business Centre. Each board rooms is equipped with projectors, LCD flat screens and high-speed wireless internet. This space is ideal for intimate meetings for 2-24 persons, and may be accompanied by lunch or dinner in our private dining room. Full-service, expertly trained staff will provide the finishing touches on any function while professional banquet services offer tantalizing dishes, stylish settings and 5 star treatment. Individual climate and lighting controls, customized configurations, complimentary local calls, high speed internet access enhance this area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Cosmopolitan Toronto

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 85
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eating our way thru CA
Business
DC
Aug 11, 2014

Just ok

The hotel was just ok. It had one double bed only and no wifi in the room but free at the lobby. Our view was of an alley way and windows were very dirty you could bearly see the outside thru them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trog
Business
Virginia
Aug 28, 2013

BuskerFest Weekend

I have been staying here since BuskerFest had its start in the Lawrence Market area along Front Street. The venue for the event has now chnaged but I still find the Cosmopolitan an ideal location around the corner from the King Street subway. Furnishings are beginning to show their age but the suites are very comfortable. The kitchenette and laundry facilities are extremely handy features; I do make use of them (Also, a Metro supermarket is a few blocks away). Staff are exceptionally responsive and always cheerful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Beer lovers need to visit Beer Bistro and C'est What?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jordan M
Business
Rochester, New York
Apr 22, 2013

Nothing went according to plan

From the moment we pulled up, to the moment we departed, very little went according to plan. My wife and I were traveling with my son and a babysitter. We called the hotel the day before we left and inquired about upgrading from a lotus suite to a suite. The suite was going to have a separate bedroom and the sitting room would have a pull out queen/double couch for the babysitter and child. We agreed to pay a $110 upgrade fee and were told everything was all set. We arrive only to be told that the suites with pullout couches are all booked and our only option is to book an additional room at the hotel. The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate us but she was definitely overwhelmed and a long line of 10+ guests began building up behind us as she tried to help us out. The hotel has one worked at the front desk to accommodate the entire hotel! The hotel also had one valet (no self parking on site) and the same valet guy was only the porter who would take bags to your room. Again, a single valet/porter for the entire hotel. After trying to resolve our issue for almost 30 minutes, we relented and just paid $150/night for the additional hotel room rather than wasting any more of our time. We were in town for my mother's 65th birthday and we actually already had 3 rooms at the hotel. The additional room for the babysitter from the total number of rooms to 4. The room itself was satisfactory. 1 of the 4 rooms (2403) smelled like smoke/mold. Each room had faux hardwood floors, a kitchenette, 2 tvs, nice bathroom and comfortable bed. At checkout, we waited approximately 1 hour as the single front desk attendant and the single valet/porter serviced the large number of guests all checking out around the same time. A 1 hour wait is ridiculous at checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adventurer 123
Business
New York NY
Jun 27, 2012

Hotel off the main street

The staff was so nice and helpful in every way. The restaurant has delicious food. The staff helped me with tours, places to go, called tour companies to pick me up. I have not stayed in Canada before but I have traveled to other states and countries and the staff was awesome. The rooms are nice with CD player and cassettes for relaxation. Everything was clean. Just wish they had rooms available and i would of stayed longer. There is also a parking garage which you have to pay for but I didnt use a car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There are so many things to see and do. Research it before so you know where to go. And if you plan on staying in Niagara Falls a bus tour was quick and fast. So you may want to stay there longer .There is a lot to see and do in Niagara Falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Sep 1, 2009

Fantastic getaway!

This was our first trip to Toronto, but it definitely will not be our last! The Cosmopolitan is located on a quiet, secluded street, yet it is in walking distance to numerous restaurants and attractions. We stayed in the premium suite on the 23rd floor, which had spectacular views of Toronto, including the CN Tower and Lake Ontario. The living room/kitchen area was spacious. The bedroom was a little tight, but nicely decorated. The 'balcony,' however, was so tiny one person could barely fit on it. The 5 star spa is a little pricey, but it is worth every penny! Hotel staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not purchase a viewing ticket to the CN Tower, which is about $75.00 per person I believe. If you eat at the 360 restaurant, you can enter all of the viewing levels at no additional charge. Also, you will not have to wait on the line for the viewing level since diners skip the line and go directly up to the restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rockinmom
Business
Fayetteville, AR
Jul 19, 2009

TOTALLY FANTASTIC!!! LOVED IT MADLY!

This hotel is FABULOUS! Everything was great! Spotless rooms, great location, EXCELLENT BEYOND COMPARE front desk staff! Our stay was out of this world and we cannot wait to go back! Loved that fact that the security is tight. You need your room key to get on the elevator. Everything was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Six Steps, Trevor, Colborne Lane (a little more expensive but SO WORTH IT!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top