$151 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Cosmopolitan Toronto

4 stars
8 Colborne Street,, Toronto, ON M5E 1E1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
85 reviews
Stayed for a conference

This hotel was great. Very clean, very comfortable and windows surrounding the bed. I only knocked... See full review

  • i stayed here 00
  • May 3, 2014
Tiff event

Room was nice and clean! View was not great. Staff was polite. Room ready when promised See full review

  • Young guy Detroit
  • Sep 9, 2014
In the heart of downtown, lies an urban sanctuary, and trendy boutique hotel discreetly tucked away, steps from the pulse of the financial district. Designed with simplicity and serenity, Conde Nast Traveller's Hot List's Cosmopolitan, is a fusion between ancient eastern philosophy and modern western technology, worldly as it is inspiring. In the epicentre of Toronto's financial district at Yonge and King, near Massey Hall, Elgin/Wintergarden Theatre, and the Eaton Centre, the Hotel is accessible by all major arteries and public transportation.

Hotel Map

43.6487 -79.377
Area served
Ontario.
Nearby airports
Lester B. Pearson International Airport (YYZ).
Area description
Known as a world within a city, Toronto's diverse cultural landscape and big-city buzz permeates through its New York-style districts where visitors find a myriad of activites and experiences ranging from theatrical events and sporting contests to fashion shows and street fairs. Situated in the heart of downtown Toronto, the Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa is discreetly tucked away at 8 Colborne Street, just steps away from one of the busiest central intersections of downtown, Yonge and King Streets in the epicentre of the financial district. With neighbours like Toronto's Dundas Square, Massey Hall, Canon Theatre, and the Eaton Centre, Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa is the ideal location for visitors to Toronto for business or pleasure.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cosmopolitan Toronto also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Cosmopolitan Toronto Rooms

Superior
The room offers 1 Queen bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open.Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Deluxe
This one bedroom suite offers 1 Queen Bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Tranquility Suite
560 square feet of living space with a kitchen equipped with stove-top, microwave and mini fridge and scenic views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Surround yourself with a contemporary array of indulgences including hardwood floors, chic designer furnishings and European kitchens. Separate living room from bedroom, queen bed. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.2 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Fort York: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa contains two boardrooms, Aura and Chi, in addition to the 24 hour Business Centre. Each board rooms is equipped with projectors, LCD flat screens and high-speed wireless internet. This space is ideal for intimate meetings for 2-24 persons, and may be accompanied by lunch or dinner in our private dining room. Full-service, expertly trained staff will provide the finishing touches on any function while professional banquet services offer tantalizing dishes, stylish settings and 5 star treatment. Individual climate and lighting controls, customized configurations, complimentary local calls, high speed internet access enhance this area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Cosmopolitan Toronto

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young guy Detroit
Business
Toronto
Sep 9, 2014

Tiff event

Room was nice and clean! View was not great. Staff was polite. Room ready when promised

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Good downtown location, close to metro station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eating our way thru CA
Business
DC
Aug 11, 2014

Just ok

The hotel was just ok. It had one double bed only and no wifi in the room but free at the lobby. Our view was of an alley way and windows were very dirty you could bearly see the outside thru them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joeys5
Business
new york, ny
Jul 27, 2014

first trip to toronto

the front desk was very helpful. the location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dawn Elizabeth
Business
Rhode Island
Jul 3, 2014

Great Location but not so clean

Great location with friendly front desk staff. Close to St. Lawrence Market, wonderful restaurants, the water front, Rogers Centre and public transportation. Highlights for us included visiting the islands, attending a Blue Jay's game on Canada Day and eating on the Danforth in Greektown while watching the World Cup. No need for a car. Toronto is a great walking city and public transportation is easy to navigate. Our suite at the Cosmopolitan was spacious but it was clear that cleanliness is not a top priority at this property. Dust on the glass shelves in the bathroom was so thick you could write your name in it! Lots of "dust bunnies" under free-standing shelves and furniture. This was noticed when we dropped a coin and it rolled under a shelf in the Kitchen area. It was so dirty we decided to leave the coin. One of the burners on the stove had hardened, food drippings that were there when we arrived and was never cleaned. We noticed a small stain on the bed sheets. It didn't bother us too much but made it easy for us to notice the sheets were never changed during our weeklong stay. Scatter rugs were worn and need to be cleaned or replaced, or at least vacuumed. Walls in the hallway are marked up and dirty - a fresh coat of paint would easily take care of this. With a good scrubbing and implementation of quality control, the Cosmopoloitan could be a choice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexandra R.
Business
New York, NY
May 28, 2014

First Time in Toronto

The staff was friendly and very helpful. Lobby was inviting and clean. The room was very clean and they had given us a room with the view of the CN tower. Location was great and most sites are walking distance. Would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a easy stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CN TOWER with SKYPOD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
i stayed here 00
Business
New York, NY
May 3, 2014

Stayed for a conference

This hotel was great. Very clean, very comfortable and windows surrounding the bed. I only knocked off a bit for location because it was about a mile away from the conference center and is a bit of a walk. But that really only matters if you're staying for an event at the convention center and are travelling by foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geewhiz41
Business
Chicago
Oct 8, 2013

Good for business, not bad for leisure

The best aspect of this hotel is the location, right downtown with easy access to public transportation. Fast walking distance to restaurants, coffee, drug stores, ATMs, and the St. Lawrence Market. I did not try any of the amenities--didn't go to the bar or restaurant or try the spa either. So, no real cons. I thought it was a bit pricey, but you're paying for location I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Front Street is a three minute walk away. There you will find coffee shops, burger joints, restaurants of any description. Also a great location right by the subway and trolley. ATM right across the street on Yonge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
larc
Business
tampa
Oct 6, 2013

great 5 day holidy

hotel staff was excellent with help and advise,including directions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

corner of yonge and front streets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trog
Business
Virginia
Aug 28, 2013

BuskerFest Weekend

I have been staying here since BuskerFest had its start in the Lawrence Market area along Front Street. The venue for the event has now chnaged but I still find the Cosmopolitan an ideal location around the corner from the King Street subway. Furnishings are beginning to show their age but the suites are very comfortable. The kitchenette and laundry facilities are extremely handy features; I do make use of them (Also, a Metro supermarket is a few blocks away). Staff are exceptionally responsive and always cheerful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Beer lovers need to visit Beer Bistro and C'est What?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jordan M
Business
Rochester, New York
Apr 22, 2013

Nothing went according to plan

From the moment we pulled up, to the moment we departed, very little went according to plan. My wife and I were traveling with my son and a babysitter. We called the hotel the day before we left and inquired about upgrading from a lotus suite to a suite. The suite was going to have a separate bedroom and the sitting room would have a pull out queen/double couch for the babysitter and child. We agreed to pay a $110 upgrade fee and were told everything was all set. We arrive only to be told that the suites with pullout couches are all booked and our only option is to book an additional room at the hotel. The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate us but she was definitely overwhelmed and a long line of 10+ guests began building up behind us as she tried to help us out. The hotel has one worked at the front desk to accommodate the entire hotel! The hotel also had one valet (no self parking on site) and the same valet guy was only the porter who would take bags to your room. Again, a single valet/porter for the entire hotel. After trying to resolve our issue for almost 30 minutes, we relented and just paid $150/night for the additional hotel room rather than wasting any more of our time. We were in town for my mother's 65th birthday and we actually already had 3 rooms at the hotel. The additional room for the babysitter from the total number of rooms to 4. The room itself was satisfactory. 1 of the 4 rooms (2403) smelled like smoke/mold. Each room had faux hardwood floors, a kitchenette, 2 tvs, nice bathroom and comfortable bed. At checkout, we waited approximately 1 hour as the single front desk attendant and the single valet/porter serviced the large number of guests all checking out around the same time. A 1 hour wait is ridiculous at checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top