$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Cosmopolitan Toronto

4 stars
8 Colborne Street,, Toronto, ON M5E 1E1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
85 reviews
Stayed for a conference

This hotel was great. Very clean, very comfortable and windows surrounding the bed. I only knocked... See full review

  • i stayed here 00
  • May 3, 2014
Tiff event

Room was nice and clean! View was not great. Staff was polite. Room ready when promised See full review

  • Young guy Detroit
  • Sep 9, 2014
Eastern-inspired luxury hotel delivers new level of tranquility
Serenity and sophistication come together in this Nirvana-like oasis at the heart of Toronto's financial center. Exquisite Eastern-inspired design graces every aspect of this modern luxury hotel. Cosmopolitan Toronto guests enjoy rooms thoughtfully designed for contemporary comfort utilizing the ancient Chinese art of feng shui. Central to each suite is the natural gemstone fountain created by renowned local energy consultant Sylvia Noble. Eight, the on-site wine bar, and Shizen, the hotel's spa, contribute to a transforming stay.

Highlights
  • Meditation mats in every suite
  • Feng shui-informed design
  • Designer Penthouse created by HGTV hosts of Designer Guys

Rooms

Find new balance in any of the Cosmopolitan Toronto's incredible suites. Modern Asian-inspired design is showcased in furniture with clean lines, Zen icons and a simplified, uncluttered color palette. Discover a new center of calm with the help of an exclusive meditation channel and meditation mat in every suite. Kitchenettes, flat-screen televisions, plush bathrobes, air purifiers, high-thread-count bed linens and stunning city or lake views are also standard at the Cosmopolitan. The phenomenal Cosmopolitan Penthouse and Designer Penthouse have full kitchens and wrap-around balconies with breathtaking views.

Features

Enjoy an oasis of calm in the thriving bustle of Canada's largest city. Take pleasure in the Cosmopolitan Toronto's unique amenities, such as meditation mats and inspired decor, such as in-suite gemstone fountains. Eight, the hotel's on-site wine bar, offers small dishes expertly paired with an impressive selection of boutique and hard-to-find wines. Shizen, the Japanese word for "nature" and the on-site spa, offers a variety of treatments to help guests relax deeply and find their center. Beyond the sanctuary of the hotel, guests find that theaters, art galleries, parks, business venues and popular tourist attractions are all nearby.


Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway station (0.15 mi/0.25 km)

Attractions
  • Royal Ontario Museum (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • CN Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Opera House (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • High Park (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Business
  • State-of-the-art boardrooms available
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Policies & fees
Please be advised that as of end of day Saturday, November 30th, Eight Wine Bar and Room Service will be closing down. The hotel will continue to offer breakfast each morning.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cosmopolitan Toronto also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Cosmopolitan Toronto Rooms

Superior
The room offers 1 Queen bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open.Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Deluxe
This one bedroom suite offers 1 Queen Bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Tranquility Suite
560 square feet of living space with a kitchen equipped with stove-top, microwave and mini fridge and scenic views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Surround yourself with a contemporary array of indulgences including hardwood floors, chic designer furnishings and European kitchens. Separate living room from bedroom, queen bed. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.2 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Fort York: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa contains two boardrooms, Aura and Chi, in addition to the 24 hour Business Centre. Each board rooms is equipped with projectors, LCD flat screens and high-speed wireless internet. This space is ideal for intimate meetings for 2-24 persons, and may be accompanied by lunch or dinner in our private dining room. Full-service, expertly trained staff will provide the finishing touches on any function while professional banquet services offer tantalizing dishes, stylish settings and 5 star treatment. Individual climate and lighting controls, customized configurations, complimentary local calls, high speed internet access enhance this area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Cosmopolitan Toronto

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 85
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yazdi
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Jul 3, 2012

Reasonable value

The best thing about the hotel is its location. The rooms/suites are rather small, but very clean and well furnished. The hotel staff were not overly friendly or helpful, but provided answers to questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geewhiz41
Business
Chicago
Oct 8, 2013

Good for business, not bad for leisure

The best aspect of this hotel is the location, right downtown with easy access to public transportation. Fast walking distance to restaurants, coffee, drug stores, ATMs, and the St. Lawrence Market. I did not try any of the amenities--didn't go to the bar or restaurant or try the spa either. So, no real cons. I thought it was a bit pricey, but you're paying for location I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Front Street is a three minute walk away. There you will find coffee shops, burger joints, restaurants of any description. Also a great location right by the subway and trolley. ATM right across the street on Yonge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pickywicky
Business
Montreal QC
Jul 14, 2009

Downtown Zen

The hotel has a very stylish, minimalist decor with an emphasis on calm. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful for the most part. I had a room at the back that was fine but for an outside fan that I found really disturbing. [...] at the front desk insisted that I move to the other side of the hotel, where this noise was not a problem (there is some noise as it is a half block from Yonge Street). The rooms each have a kitchen with complimentary tea and coffee and small snacks for sale - good to fill gaps between meals.There are lots of really nice touches in keeping with the atmosphere of the hotel. The meditation fountain and the complimentary CD worked together for a little mental rest. Every night I had my bed turned down, and was left a stick of incense and a gem stone with a message about its meaning. I used the message to set the tone of the following day! It worked and it was good fun. The central location, an easy five minute walk to and from Union Station, means you can just walk out and start exploring - and shopping. There are some top restaurants within a three block radius, including Lucien and Jump. The Shizen spa is pretty nice, not quite five star for me. However, it was good that it was small and it was nice to be able to go up in my flip flops. I would have liked to have had lunch in my room afterwards but there was no lunch service. It worked out well, however, when I went for tea at the King Edward, which is right next door. I usually stay in B&B's so this was a nice change. It was nice not to have to talk to people at breakfast! The style and small size of the hotel made it feel really comfortable and personal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy certificates for Shizen Spa at SpaandTravel.com, and be sure to get the Facebook discount for substantial savings on the cost of their services - but be sure to tip on the original cost, to be fair!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FunHousePunk
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 21, 2009

rave and rant

I wanted to make sure my review title didn't make for a bad impression on this fantastic hotel. I did have to go to a drug store to get toilet paper though, because the supplied type was just not good. Luckily the drug store was right around the corner. The Cosmopolitan is so well located, everything in the city was within a 3 minute walk - if that - to the subway (TTC) station. If you felt so inclined to walk, it was 5 minutes to Queen's street, where the street cars would take you across town (east/west). The staff was respectful. The hotel does only have two elevators, so I spent some time waiting for them. I did book a room with a lake view, and I was a little shocked at how little of the lake I could see. I think that had more to do with expectation than false advertising. The plus side, I think I had the BEST view of the CN Tower Toronto has to offer. It was situated just left of a larger high rise, and it was perfectly framed for my view from my balcony. I would stand there and watch the light show, watch tourists take photos from within CN Tower observation area, and watch is snag a stray cloud from the sky. It was a bit magical. The only reason I would not stay at the Cosmopolitan would be to experience staying in another part of the city, period! It was recommended to me, and I in turn would also recommend it to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant that used to be called Marche - can't think of the new name - which is one block away. The restaurant is set up in stations - stirfry, seafood, crepe, bakery, juice bar, grilling station, and the list goes on - so you can go for breakfast, lunch and dinner all in the same day and never eat the same thing twice. Since I was travelling alone, and was very unfamiliar with the city, it was easy to just pop in, get something to go and take it to my room before it had a chance to get cold. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
southrnyankee
Business
Otlando, Fl
Sep 7, 2009

The Best of Everything

Close to everything and just the best experience I have had in Toronto - will go back there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 26, 2009

Fantastic value for 4+star hotel stay!

Went to Toronto to attend a wedding. Orbitz offered a great air/hotel deal - better than booking wedding guest rates separately. Incl free breakfast + internet access. Offered great convenience of having in-room washer-dryer; kitchen (sink/ fridge/ burners/ microwave/ dishwasher/ coffemaker); wi-fi internet access; iron/ ironing board Bathroom had large walk-in shower with toiletries; hairdryer This is a great apartment-style hotel with all the hotel amenities & service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located just off Yonge St; mid-dist to wharf as well as main shopping (Eaton Ctr & Bloor St). Great Concierge (Jason) recommended less expensive Niagara Falls day tour ($75;$84 incl Maid of Mist boat must-do) vs $128.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top