$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Cosmopolitan Toronto

4 stars
8 Colborne Street,, Toronto, ON M5E 1E1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
85 reviews
Stayed for a conference

This hotel was great. Very clean, very comfortable and windows surrounding the bed. I only knocked... See full review

  • i stayed here 00
  • May 3, 2014
Tiff event

Room was nice and clean! View was not great. Staff was polite. Room ready when promised See full review

  • Young guy Detroit
  • Sep 9, 2014
Eastern-inspired luxury hotel delivers new level of tranquility
Serenity and sophistication come together in this Nirvana-like oasis at the heart of Toronto's financial center. Exquisite Eastern-inspired design graces every aspect of this modern luxury hotel. Cosmopolitan Toronto guests enjoy rooms thoughtfully designed for contemporary comfort utilizing the ancient Chinese art of feng shui. Central to each suite is the natural gemstone fountain created by renowned local energy consultant Sylvia Noble. Eight, the on-site wine bar, and Shizen, the hotel's spa, contribute to a transforming stay.

Highlights
  • Meditation mats in every suite
  • Feng shui-informed design
  • Designer Penthouse created by HGTV hosts of Designer Guys

Rooms

Find new balance in any of the Cosmopolitan Toronto's incredible suites. Modern Asian-inspired design is showcased in furniture with clean lines, Zen icons and a simplified, uncluttered color palette. Discover a new center of calm with the help of an exclusive meditation channel and meditation mat in every suite. Kitchenettes, flat-screen televisions, plush bathrobes, air purifiers, high-thread-count bed linens and stunning city or lake views are also standard at the Cosmopolitan. The phenomenal Cosmopolitan Penthouse and Designer Penthouse have full kitchens and wrap-around balconies with breathtaking views.

Features

Enjoy an oasis of calm in the thriving bustle of Canada's largest city. Take pleasure in the Cosmopolitan Toronto's unique amenities, such as meditation mats and inspired decor, such as in-suite gemstone fountains. Eight, the hotel's on-site wine bar, offers small dishes expertly paired with an impressive selection of boutique and hard-to-find wines. Shizen, the Japanese word for "nature" and the on-site spa, offers a variety of treatments to help guests relax deeply and find their center. Beyond the sanctuary of the hotel, guests find that theaters, art galleries, parks, business venues and popular tourist attractions are all nearby.


Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway station (0.15 mi/0.25 km)

Attractions
  • Royal Ontario Museum (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • CN Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Opera House (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • High Park (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Business
  • State-of-the-art boardrooms available
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Policies & fees
Please be advised that as of end of day Saturday, November 30th, Eight Wine Bar and Room Service will be closing down. The hotel will continue to offer breakfast each morning.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cosmopolitan Toronto also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Cosmopolitan Toronto Rooms

Superior
The room offers 1 Queen bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open.Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Deluxe
This one bedroom suite offers 1 Queen Bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Tranquility Suite
560 square feet of living space with a kitchen equipped with stove-top, microwave and mini fridge and scenic views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Surround yourself with a contemporary array of indulgences including hardwood floors, chic designer furnishings and European kitchens. Separate living room from bedroom, queen bed. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.2 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Fort York: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa contains two boardrooms, Aura and Chi, in addition to the 24 hour Business Centre. Each board rooms is equipped with projectors, LCD flat screens and high-speed wireless internet. This space is ideal for intimate meetings for 2-24 persons, and may be accompanied by lunch or dinner in our private dining room. Full-service, expertly trained staff will provide the finishing touches on any function while professional banquet services offer tantalizing dishes, stylish settings and 5 star treatment. Individual climate and lighting controls, customized configurations, complimentary local calls, high speed internet access enhance this area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Cosmopolitan Toronto

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 85
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointedjustonce
Business
Clinton Township, MI, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Not very romantic; Photos very misleading

I am still disappointed that I didn't make a different hotel choice for celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary. Located on a side street/alley without signage, we finally found the hotel entrance. The web pictures are misleading; the 'cosmopolitan' environment was cheezy in spite of the announced upgrade we were given upon arrival. The 'suite' had a dorm room atmosphere; cheap furniture. The bedroom was very small, causing normal sized people to ‘inch in’ sideways to get in bed. Once outside, Yonge street was easily assessable including dining at Marche’s restaurant – my favorite. We walked to the waterfront and enjoyed the boats; dined around town, all within walking distance. Listening to The Vipers at The Rex Jazz Club was the best! We made the best of it but will never stay at the Cosmopolitan again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marche restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jun 28, 2009

noise from windows

I requested to change a room, because I coudl not sleep first night. The hotel gave us the same type of room,just higher floor. Useless. I would not stay this hotel if I know noise come to the room directly from the window. It was traffic noise. When I complain about noise next morning, the hotel did not response good way. Therefore, I would not recommend this hotel anyone.It was stressful.I had the same experience in Europe befire. When I asked to cahnge the room that time, the hotel gave me a lager room. It was one of the bestwestern hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

just near the subway station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windsor
Aug 24, 2009

Nothing Special

Rooms were small and not as nice as the online pictures. I think the building was used for appartments. The room was also diry (hair on the bathroom floor). We also had to call down to the front desk to have ice brought to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find somewhere else to park, the hotel only offers valet which is $33 per day plus tax.. then they want a tip as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bahareh
Business
USA
Aug 4, 2007

Cute and Chic

Room was very cozy with an apartment feel. Staff was very helpful and nice. Hotel location is great, although the hotel itself is tucked away(which I liked) it is only a few blocks away from many different restaurants. Only problem was parking, there are only 25 spots for the entire hotel so make sure you reserve a spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Availible parking 2 blocks east of the Hotel, not only is is close to the hotel but overnight parking is around $14

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dawn Elizabeth
Business
Rhode Island
Jul 3, 2014

Great Location but not so clean

Great location with friendly front desk staff. Close to St. Lawrence Market, wonderful restaurants, the water front, Rogers Centre and public transportation. Highlights for us included visiting the islands, attending a Blue Jay's game on Canada Day and eating on the Danforth in Greektown while watching the World Cup. No need for a car. Toronto is a great walking city and public transportation is easy to navigate. Our suite at the Cosmopolitan was spacious but it was clear that cleanliness is not a top priority at this property. Dust on the glass shelves in the bathroom was so thick you could write your name in it! Lots of "dust bunnies" under free-standing shelves and furniture. This was noticed when we dropped a coin and it rolled under a shelf in the Kitchen area. It was so dirty we decided to leave the coin. One of the burners on the stove had hardened, food drippings that were there when we arrived and was never cleaned. We noticed a small stain on the bed sheets. It didn't bother us too much but made it easy for us to notice the sheets were never changed during our weeklong stay. Scatter rugs were worn and need to be cleaned or replaced, or at least vacuumed. Walls in the hallway are marked up and dirty - a fresh coat of paint would easily take care of this. With a good scrubbing and implementation of quality control, the Cosmopoloitan could be a choice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous Hotel Reviewer
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 18, 2013

Good value, nothing special

Good value relative to other offerings around the area. Wish they had free wifi, but that seems hard to come by for hotels in Toronto. There's a Starbucks a block and half away, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Origin on King Street has awesome small plates!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bellasera28
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great Location

Nice boutique style hotel - but rooms are more like an apartment - so you feel like you're staying at home. They do need to clean their rooms or do a renovation. Bed wasn't too comfortable. Housekeeping came to clean but didn't replace hand towels or shampoo/conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 25, 2009

Good not great

Location was pretty good...close to public transportation and walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Room was really small but it was clean and the bathroom was nice and modern. My complaint is parking was really expensive ($33 a day!) and the burger we ordered from room service was really awful and it was over $30 all in to boot. On top of that you have to pay for wi-fi service which was spotty at best. Staff was friendly and helpful but for some reason this hotel just didn't do it for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed the Distillery. Great beers at Mill St. Brewery and excellent dinner at Pure Spirits Oyster House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StarFish64
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 10, 2009

Modern hotel in middle of the city

Wonderful from the start of the stay to the last day. The restaurant needs some work. Specifically, we were "upcharged" after requesting a made-to-order omelette even though no sign indicated this during our stay and the upcharge did not occur the day before. (The charge was reversed upon complaint.) The restaurant menu sounds great but the one item we tried (a dessert) wasn't anything special. Do not let these deter you from trying this hotel; just remember this info when you visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a left when you exit the hotel's lobby, walk to the end of the street, and explore the St. Lawrence Market area. We had no clue it was so close because that end of the road looks desolate from the hotel entrance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glasgow
Jul 22, 2010

excellent hotel in great location

Situated in a great location. Near to harbour front and St Lawrence market. Easy access to subway and trams. Visit the Toronto Islands using the local ferry $6.50. Take a tram to the beaches area. Visit the ROM using the subway. Very clean with great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

use local ferry to Toronto Islands. A great day out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top