$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Cosmopolitan Toronto

4 stars
8 Colborne Street,, Toronto, ON M5E 1E1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
134 reviews
Stayed for a conference

This hotel was great. Very clean, very comfortable and windows surrounding the bed. I only knocked... See full review

  • i stayed here 00
  • May 3, 2014
First Time in Toronto

The staff was friendly and very helpful. Lobby was inviting and clean. The room was very clean... See full review

  • Alexandra R.
  • May 28, 2014
Eastern-inspired luxury hotel delivers new level of tranquility
Serenity and sophistication come together in this Nirvana-like oasis at the heart of Toronto's financial center. Exquisite Eastern-inspired design graces every aspect of this modern luxury hotel. Cosmopolitan Toronto guests enjoy rooms thoughtfully designed for contemporary comfort utilizing the ancient Chinese art of feng shui. Central to each suite is the natural gemstone fountain created by renowned local energy consultant Sylvia Noble. Eight, the on-site wine bar, and Shizen, the hotel's spa, contribute to a transforming stay.

Highlights
  • Meditation mats in every suite
  • Feng shui-informed design
  • Designer Penthouse created by HGTV hosts of Designer Guys

Rooms

Find new balance in any of the Cosmopolitan Toronto's incredible suites. Modern Asian-inspired design is showcased in furniture with clean lines, Zen icons and a simplified, uncluttered color palette. Discover a new center of calm with the help of an exclusive meditation channel and meditation mat in every suite. Kitchenettes, flat-screen televisions, plush bathrobes, air purifiers, high-thread-count bed linens and stunning city or lake views are also standard at the Cosmopolitan. The phenomenal Cosmopolitan Penthouse and Designer Penthouse have full kitchens and wrap-around balconies with breathtaking views.

Features

Enjoy an oasis of calm in the thriving bustle of Canada's largest city. Take pleasure in the Cosmopolitan Toronto's unique amenities, such as meditation mats and inspired decor, such as in-suite gemstone fountains. Eight, the hotel's on-site wine bar, offers small dishes expertly paired with an impressive selection of boutique and hard-to-find wines. Shizen, the Japanese word for "nature" and the on-site spa, offers a variety of treatments to help guests relax deeply and find their center. Beyond the sanctuary of the hotel, guests find that theaters, art galleries, parks, business venues and popular tourist attractions are all nearby.


Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway station (0.15 mi/0.25 km)

Attractions
  • Royal Ontario Museum (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • CN Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Opera House (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • High Park (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Business
  • State-of-the-art boardrooms available
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Policies & fees
Please be advised that as of end of day Saturday, November 30th, Eight Wine Bar and Room Service will be closing down. The hotel will continue to offer breakfast each morning.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Cosmopolitan Toronto Rooms

Superior
The room offers 1 Queen bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open.
Deluxe
This one bedroom suite offers 1 Queen Bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open.
Tranquility Suite
560 square feet of living space with a kitchen equipped with stove-top, microwave and mini fridge and scenic views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Surround yourself with a contemporary array of indulgences including hardwood floors, chic designer furnishings and European kitchens. Separate living room from bedroom, queen bed

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cosmopolitan Toronto also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6487 -79.377
Area served
Ontario.
Nearby airports
Lester B. Pearson International Airport (YYZ).
Area description
Known as a world within a city, Toronto's diverse cultural landscape and big-city buzz permeates through its New York-style districts where visitors find a myriad of activites and experiences ranging from theatrical events and sporting contests to fashion shows and street fairs. Situated in the heart of downtown Toronto, the Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa is discreetly tucked away at 8 Colborne Street, just steps away from one of the busiest central intersections of downtown, Yonge and King Streets in the epicentre of the financial district. With neighbours like Toronto's Dundas Square, Massey Hall, Canon Theatre, and the Eaton Centre, Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa is the ideal location for visitors to Toronto for business or pleasure.

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.2 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Fort York: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa contains two boardrooms, Aura and Chi, in addition to the 24 hour Business Centre. Each board rooms is equipped with projectors, LCD flat screens and high-speed wireless internet. This space is ideal for intimate meetings for 2-24 persons, and may be accompanied by lunch or dinner in our private dining room. Full-service, expertly trained staff will provide the finishing touches on any function while professional banquet services offer tantalizing dishes, stylish settings and 5 star treatment. Individual climate and lighting controls, customized configurations, complimentary local calls, high speed internet access enhance this area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Cosmopolitan Toronto

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trang
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Gorgeous rooms!

The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are so beautiful and serene. All the lights in the hotel give off a very nice vibe. They offer a wonderful incense option in your room at turn down. The hotel is right downtown and is nice to walk around at night. My room was very clean and peaceful. It is a bit pricey, but it was worth it and I would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jun 28, 2009

noise from windows

I requested to change a room, because I coudl not sleep first night. The hotel gave us the same type of room,just higher floor. Useless. I would not stay this hotel if I know noise come to the room directly from the window. It was traffic noise. When I complain about noise next morning, the hotel did not response good way. Therefore, I would not recommend this hotel anyone.It was stressful.I had the same experience in Europe befire. When I asked to cahnge the room that time, the hotel gave me a lager room. It was one of the bestwestern hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

just near the subway station

Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointedjustonce
Clinton Township, MI, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Not very romantic; Photos very misleading

I am still disappointed that I didn't make a different hotel choice for celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary. Located on a side street/alley without signage, we finally found the hotel entrance. The web pictures are misleading; the 'cosmopolitan' environment was cheezy in spite of the announced upgrade we were given upon arrival. The 'suite' had a dorm room atmosphere; cheap furniture. The bedroom was very small, causing normal sized people to ‘inch in’ sideways to get in bed. Once outside, Yonge street was easily assessable including dining at Marche’s restaurant – my favorite. We walked to the waterfront and enjoyed the boats; dined around town, all within walking distance. Listening to The Vipers at The Rex Jazz Club was the best! We made the best of it but will never stay at the Cosmopolitan again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marche restaurant

Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointedjustonce
Clinton Township, MI, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Not very romantic; Photos very misleading

I am still disappointed that I didn't make a different hotel choice for celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary. Located on a side street/alley without signage, we finally found the hotel entrance. The web pictures are misleading; the 'cosmopolitan' environment was cheezy in spite of the announced upgrade we were given upon arrival. The 'suite' had a dorm room atmosphere; cheap furniture. The bedroom was very small, causing normal sized people to ‘inch in’ sideways to get in bed. Once outside, Yonge street was easily assessable including dining at Marche’s restaurant – my favorite. We walked to the waterfront and enjoyed the boats; dined around town, all within walking distance. Listening to The Vipers at The Rex Jazz Club was the best! We made the best of it but will never stay at the Cosmopolitan again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marche restaurant

Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jun 28, 2009

noise from windows

I requested to change a room, because I coudl not sleep first night. The hotel gave us the same type of room,just higher floor. Useless. I would not stay this hotel if I know noise come to the room directly from the window. It was traffic noise. When I complain about noise next morning, the hotel did not response good way. Therefore, I would not recommend this hotel anyone.It was stressful.I had the same experience in Europe befire. When I asked to cahnge the room that time, the hotel gave me a lager room. It was one of the bestwestern hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

just near the subway station

Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Windsor
Aug 24, 2009

Nothing Special

Rooms were small and not as nice as the online pictures. I think the building was used for appartments. The room was also diry (hair on the bathroom floor). We also had to call down to the front desk to have ice brought to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find somewhere else to park, the hotel only offers valet which is $33 per day plus tax.. then they want a tip as well.

Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bahareh
USA
Aug 4, 2007

Cute and Chic

Room was very cozy with an apartment feel. Staff was very helpful and nice. Hotel location is great, although the hotel itself is tucked away(which I liked) it is only a few blocks away from many different restaurants. Only problem was parking, there are only 25 spots for the entire hotel so make sure you reserve a spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Availible parking 2 blocks east of the Hotel, not only is is close to the hotel but overnight parking is around $14

Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dawn Elizabeth
Rhode Island
Jul 3, 2014

Great Location but not so clean

Great location with friendly front desk staff. Close to St. Lawrence Market, wonderful restaurants, the water front, Rogers Centre and public transportation. Highlights for us included visiting the islands, attending a Blue Jay's game on Canada Day and eating on the Danforth in Greektown while watching the World Cup. No need for a car. Toronto is a great walking city and public transportation is easy to navigate. Our suite at the Cosmopolitan was spacious but it was clear that cleanliness is not a top priority at this property. Dust on the glass shelves in the bathroom was so thick you could write your name in it! Lots of "dust bunnies" under free-standing shelves and furniture. This was noticed when we dropped a coin and it rolled under a shelf in the Kitchen area. It was so dirty we decided to leave the coin. One of the burners on the stove had hardened, food drippings that were there when we arrived and was never cleaned. We noticed a small stain on the bed sheets. It didn't bother us too much but made it easy for us to notice the sheets were never changed during our weeklong stay. Scatter rugs were worn and need to be cleaned or replaced, or at least vacuumed. Walls in the hallway are marked up and dirty - a fresh coat of paint would easily take care of this. With a good scrubbing and implementation of quality control, the Cosmopoloitan could be a choice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jordan M
Rochester, New York
Apr 22, 2013

Nothing went according to plan

From the moment we pulled up, to the moment we departed, very little went according to plan. My wife and I were traveling with my son and a babysitter. We called the hotel the day before we left and inquired about upgrading from a lotus suite to a suite. The suite was going to have a separate bedroom and the sitting room would have a pull out queen/double couch for the babysitter and child. We agreed to pay a $110 upgrade fee and were told everything was all set. We arrive only to be told that the suites with pullout couches are all booked and our only option is to book an additional room at the hotel. The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate us but she was definitely overwhelmed and a long line of 10+ guests began building up behind us as she tried to help us out. The hotel has one worked at the front desk to accommodate the entire hotel! The hotel also had one valet (no self parking on site) and the same valet guy was only the porter who would take bags to your room. Again, a single valet/porter for the entire hotel. After trying to resolve our issue for almost 30 minutes, we relented and just paid $150/night for the additional hotel room rather than wasting any more of our time. We were in town for my mother's 65th birthday and we actually already had 3 rooms at the hotel. The additional room for the babysitter from the total number of rooms to 4. The room itself was satisfactory. 1 of the 4 rooms (2403) smelled like smoke/mold. Each room had faux hardwood floors, a kitchenette, 2 tvs, nice bathroom and comfortable bed. At checkout, we waited approximately 1 hour as the single front desk attendant and the single valet/porter serviced the large number of guests all checking out around the same time. A 1 hour wait is ridiculous at checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Windsor
Aug 24, 2009

Nothing Special

Rooms were small and not as nice as the online pictures. I think the building was used for appartments. The room was also diry (hair on the bathroom floor). We also had to call down to the front desk to have ice brought to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find somewhere else to park, the hotel only offers valet which is $33 per day plus tax.. then they want a tip as well.

Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bahareh
USA
Aug 4, 2007

Cute and Chic

Room was very cozy with an apartment feel. Staff was very helpful and nice. Hotel location is great, although the hotel itself is tucked away(which I liked) it is only a few blocks away from many different restaurants. Only problem was parking, there are only 25 spots for the entire hotel so make sure you reserve a spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Availible parking 2 blocks east of the Hotel, not only is is close to the hotel but overnight parking is around $14

Back to menu Return to top