$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Cosmopolitan Toronto

4 stars
8 Colborne Street,, Toronto, ON M5E 1E1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
85 reviews
Stayed for a conference

This hotel was great. Very clean, very comfortable and windows surrounding the bed. I only knocked... See full review

  • i stayed here 00
  • May 3, 2014
Tiff event

Room was nice and clean! View was not great. Staff was polite. Room ready when promised See full review

  • Young guy Detroit
  • Sep 9, 2014
Eastern-inspired luxury hotel delivers new level of tranquility
Serenity and sophistication come together in this Nirvana-like oasis at the heart of Toronto's financial center. Exquisite Eastern-inspired design graces every aspect of this modern luxury hotel. Cosmopolitan Toronto guests enjoy rooms thoughtfully designed for contemporary comfort utilizing the ancient Chinese art of feng shui. Central to each suite is the natural gemstone fountain created by renowned local energy consultant Sylvia Noble. Eight, the on-site wine bar, and Shizen, the hotel's spa, contribute to a transforming stay.

Highlights
  • Meditation mats in every suite
  • Feng shui-informed design
  • Designer Penthouse created by HGTV hosts of Designer Guys

Rooms

Find new balance in any of the Cosmopolitan Toronto's incredible suites. Modern Asian-inspired design is showcased in furniture with clean lines, Zen icons and a simplified, uncluttered color palette. Discover a new center of calm with the help of an exclusive meditation channel and meditation mat in every suite. Kitchenettes, flat-screen televisions, plush bathrobes, air purifiers, high-thread-count bed linens and stunning city or lake views are also standard at the Cosmopolitan. The phenomenal Cosmopolitan Penthouse and Designer Penthouse have full kitchens and wrap-around balconies with breathtaking views.

Features

Enjoy an oasis of calm in the thriving bustle of Canada's largest city. Take pleasure in the Cosmopolitan Toronto's unique amenities, such as meditation mats and inspired decor, such as in-suite gemstone fountains. Eight, the hotel's on-site wine bar, offers small dishes expertly paired with an impressive selection of boutique and hard-to-find wines. Shizen, the Japanese word for "nature" and the on-site spa, offers a variety of treatments to help guests relax deeply and find their center. Beyond the sanctuary of the hotel, guests find that theaters, art galleries, parks, business venues and popular tourist attractions are all nearby.


Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway station (0.15 mi/0.25 km)

Attractions
  • Royal Ontario Museum (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • CN Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Opera House (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • High Park (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Business
  • State-of-the-art boardrooms available
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Policies & fees
Please be advised that as of end of day Saturday, November 30th, Eight Wine Bar and Room Service will be closing down. The hotel will continue to offer breakfast each morning.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cosmopolitan Toronto also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Cosmopolitan Toronto Rooms

Superior
The room offers 1 Queen bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open.Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Deluxe
This one bedroom suite offers 1 Queen Bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Tranquility Suite
560 square feet of living space with a kitchen equipped with stove-top, microwave and mini fridge and scenic views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Surround yourself with a contemporary array of indulgences including hardwood floors, chic designer furnishings and European kitchens. Separate living room from bedroom, queen bed. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.2 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Fort York: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa contains two boardrooms, Aura and Chi, in addition to the 24 hour Business Centre. Each board rooms is equipped with projectors, LCD flat screens and high-speed wireless internet. This space is ideal for intimate meetings for 2-24 persons, and may be accompanied by lunch or dinner in our private dining room. Full-service, expertly trained staff will provide the finishing touches on any function while professional banquet services offer tantalizing dishes, stylish settings and 5 star treatment. Individual climate and lighting controls, customized configurations, complimentary local calls, high speed internet access enhance this area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Cosmopolitan Toronto

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rothy in NC
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Aug 12, 2009

Wonderful!

The suite was a wonderful value. I was surprised to have a full kitchen, washer & dryer, and separate bedroom. Everything in the room was immaculate and very comfortable. I was in Toronto for business and didn't spend much time doing touristy things, so the suite was great for getting work done and relaxing. Definitely a great bargain for the suite if you book on Orbitz!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StarFish64
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 10, 2009

Modern hotel in middle of the city

Wonderful from the start of the stay to the last day. The restaurant needs some work. Specifically, we were "upcharged" after requesting a made-to-order omelette even though no sign indicated this during our stay and the upcharge did not occur the day before. (The charge was reversed upon complaint.) The restaurant menu sounds great but the one item we tried (a dessert) wasn't anything special. Do not let these deter you from trying this hotel; just remember this info when you visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a left when you exit the hotel's lobby, walk to the end of the street, and explore the St. Lawrence Market area. We had no clue it was so close because that end of the road looks desolate from the hotel entrance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young business traveler
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 10, 2009

Apartment living but not sound proof!!!

The location was awesome, right downtown, walking distance to everything and subway half a block away. Apartment feeling was incredible, living room, separate bedroom, kitchen- ability to stock up on milk, yogurt and fruit and kitchen essentials available so you don't need to spend money on the basics- save it for good dinners. Breakfast was quite good, basic but good. Work out facility was good- free weights, one treadmill, elliptical and bike and weight machine and ball. Nothing big but enough to stay in shape while traveling. Never used the spa features. Did I mention everything is in walking distance. Location was perfect and price was awesome in comparison to surrounding locations. BIG DOWNSIDE- windows not at all sound proof and thin, you can hear the music and singing from the bar downstairs and noise from the streets very clearly. Bring ear plugs!! And the walls to other rooms...let's just say you can hear things pretty clearly there too :) But again, can't beat the location- not the crowd of middle of downtown and close to old town, it was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to trek up Yonge street to the intersection of Yonge and Dundas- you'll thank me! :) A mini times Square environment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Princess M
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 9, 2009

Excellent!

I spent 5 days in Toronto for a business convention. The Cosmopolitan was within walking distance to the Metro Convention Center, as well as many highlights of Toronto. I loved the kitchen in the room, with stovetop, microwave, refrigerator, and dishwasher! There are several grocery stores nearby and I saved so much money by purchasing my own food and making it myself, especially since I'm on a very specialized diet. The decor is so relaxing and fresh - a nice place to come "home" to after a long day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lawrence Market isn't far - you can get fresh meats, cheeses, fruits, and vegetables there. A huge cost savings compared to eating all meals out is to have some meals in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 27, 2009

Nice place

Hotel was in a good location where you could walk to many attractions. The front desk was helpful. There are very few rooms per floor so it was fairly private and quiet. It is also close to the metro and street car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FunHousePunk
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 21, 2009

rave and rant

I wanted to make sure my review title didn't make for a bad impression on this fantastic hotel. I did have to go to a drug store to get toilet paper though, because the supplied type was just not good. Luckily the drug store was right around the corner. The Cosmopolitan is so well located, everything in the city was within a 3 minute walk - if that - to the subway (TTC) station. If you felt so inclined to walk, it was 5 minutes to Queen's street, where the street cars would take you across town (east/west). The staff was respectful. The hotel does only have two elevators, so I spent some time waiting for them. I did book a room with a lake view, and I was a little shocked at how little of the lake I could see. I think that had more to do with expectation than false advertising. The plus side, I think I had the BEST view of the CN Tower Toronto has to offer. It was situated just left of a larger high rise, and it was perfectly framed for my view from my balcony. I would stand there and watch the light show, watch tourists take photos from within CN Tower observation area, and watch is snag a stray cloud from the sky. It was a bit magical. The only reason I would not stay at the Cosmopolitan would be to experience staying in another part of the city, period! It was recommended to me, and I in turn would also recommend it to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant that used to be called Marche - can't think of the new name - which is one block away. The restaurant is set up in stations - stirfry, seafood, crepe, bakery, juice bar, grilling station, and the list goes on - so you can go for breakfast, lunch and dinner all in the same day and never eat the same thing twice. Since I was travelling alone, and was very unfamiliar with the city, it was easy to just pop in, get something to go and take it to my room before it had a chance to get cold. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jul 20, 2009

cosmopolitan toronto

Very helpful staff. Great location. Nice, important amenities (internet, breakfast) -- thanks very much. The only thing I didn't know was that it was shower only and not bath tub - I am a bath taker... may not be that way in all rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located near St. Lawrence Market - such a wonderful place to be near!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rockinmom
Business
Fayetteville, AR
Jul 19, 2009

TOTALLY FANTASTIC!!! LOVED IT MADLY!

This hotel is FABULOUS! Everything was great! Spotless rooms, great location, EXCELLENT BEYOND COMPARE front desk staff! Our stay was out of this world and we cannot wait to go back! Loved that fact that the security is tight. You need your room key to get on the elevator. Everything was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Six Steps, Trevor, Colborne Lane (a little more expensive but SO WORTH IT!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pickywicky
Business
Montreal QC
Jul 14, 2009

Downtown Zen

The hotel has a very stylish, minimalist decor with an emphasis on calm. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful for the most part. I had a room at the back that was fine but for an outside fan that I found really disturbing. [...] at the front desk insisted that I move to the other side of the hotel, where this noise was not a problem (there is some noise as it is a half block from Yonge Street). The rooms each have a kitchen with complimentary tea and coffee and small snacks for sale - good to fill gaps between meals.There are lots of really nice touches in keeping with the atmosphere of the hotel. The meditation fountain and the complimentary CD worked together for a little mental rest. Every night I had my bed turned down, and was left a stick of incense and a gem stone with a message about its meaning. I used the message to set the tone of the following day! It worked and it was good fun. The central location, an easy five minute walk to and from Union Station, means you can just walk out and start exploring - and shopping. There are some top restaurants within a three block radius, including Lucien and Jump. The Shizen spa is pretty nice, not quite five star for me. However, it was good that it was small and it was nice to be able to go up in my flip flops. I would have liked to have had lunch in my room afterwards but there was no lunch service. It worked out well, however, when I went for tea at the King Edward, which is right next door. I usually stay in B&B's so this was a nice change. It was nice not to have to talk to people at breakfast! The style and small size of the hotel made it feel really comfortable and personal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy certificates for Shizen Spa at SpaandTravel.com, and be sure to get the Facebook discount for substantial savings on the cost of their services - but be sure to tip on the original cost, to be fair!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 8, 2009

Great location

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend getaway. It is in a wonderful location, just a block from a subway stop (King) and near the corner of two main roads where you can catch streetcars running in every direction. Very close to major tourist attractions. The hotel itself is on a quieter side street, though, so we didn't hear much of the city noise. The suites are a good size, although storage space is limited -- just a couple of drawers and a small closet in the hallway. We really enjoyed having the kitchen to keep drinks cold, reheat leftovers, etc. Had we stayed longer, we'd definitely have taken advantage of the stove and done some cooking. The washer/dryer was also nice. The bathroom has a door with a frosted glass window, which you can see vague shapes through (for example, if someone is sitting or standing at the toilet). This definitely might make some couples or families uncomfortable. The "zen" theme of the hotel was evident, although for people not particularly interested in that aspect, it wasn't overwhelming. The incense was a nice touch, as was the small fountain in the living room (which could be turned on or off) and the CDs with quiet music. The continental breakfast was not included in the price of the hotel, which was fine since there are coffee shops and fast food restaurants nearby. Parking was also significantly more expensive than nearby garages, and if you don't plan on using your car to drive around the city there is no need to have in/out privileges anyway. We parked in a garage two blocks away for about half the hotel's cost. Overall, we had a very good experience, and I'd definitely stay here again for a short trip. For a longer trip, I'd choose a more conventional hotel with more storage space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a day pass for the TTC (subway and streetcars) -- on a weekend, a couple or small family can even share one pass. It's well worth it and makes getting around the city infinitely easier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top