$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Cosmopolitan Toronto

4 stars
8 Colborne Street,, Toronto, ON M5E 1E1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
85 reviews
Stayed for a conference

This hotel was great. Very clean, very comfortable and windows surrounding the bed. I only knocked... See full review

  • i stayed here 00
  • May 3, 2014
Tiff event

Room was nice and clean! View was not great. Staff was polite. Room ready when promised See full review

  • Young guy Detroit
  • Sep 9, 2014
Eastern-inspired luxury hotel delivers new level of tranquility
Serenity and sophistication come together in this Nirvana-like oasis at the heart of Toronto's financial center. Exquisite Eastern-inspired design graces every aspect of this modern luxury hotel. Cosmopolitan Toronto guests enjoy rooms thoughtfully designed for contemporary comfort utilizing the ancient Chinese art of feng shui. Central to each suite is the natural gemstone fountain created by renowned local energy consultant Sylvia Noble. Eight, the on-site wine bar, and Shizen, the hotel's spa, contribute to a transforming stay.

Highlights
  • Meditation mats in every suite
  • Feng shui-informed design
  • Designer Penthouse created by HGTV hosts of Designer Guys

Rooms

Find new balance in any of the Cosmopolitan Toronto's incredible suites. Modern Asian-inspired design is showcased in furniture with clean lines, Zen icons and a simplified, uncluttered color palette. Discover a new center of calm with the help of an exclusive meditation channel and meditation mat in every suite. Kitchenettes, flat-screen televisions, plush bathrobes, air purifiers, high-thread-count bed linens and stunning city or lake views are also standard at the Cosmopolitan. The phenomenal Cosmopolitan Penthouse and Designer Penthouse have full kitchens and wrap-around balconies with breathtaking views.

Features

Enjoy an oasis of calm in the thriving bustle of Canada's largest city. Take pleasure in the Cosmopolitan Toronto's unique amenities, such as meditation mats and inspired decor, such as in-suite gemstone fountains. Eight, the hotel's on-site wine bar, offers small dishes expertly paired with an impressive selection of boutique and hard-to-find wines. Shizen, the Japanese word for "nature" and the on-site spa, offers a variety of treatments to help guests relax deeply and find their center. Beyond the sanctuary of the hotel, guests find that theaters, art galleries, parks, business venues and popular tourist attractions are all nearby.


Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway station (0.15 mi/0.25 km)

Attractions
  • Royal Ontario Museum (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • CN Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Opera House (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • High Park (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Business
  • State-of-the-art boardrooms available
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Policies & fees
Please be advised that as of end of day Saturday, November 30th, Eight Wine Bar and Room Service will be closing down. The hotel will continue to offer breakfast each morning.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

43.6487 -79.377
Area served
Ontario.
Nearby airports
Lester B. Pearson International Airport (YYZ).
Area description
Known as a world within a city, Toronto's diverse cultural landscape and big-city buzz permeates through its New York-style districts where visitors find a myriad of activites and experiences ranging from theatrical events and sporting contests to fashion shows and street fairs. Situated in the heart of downtown Toronto, the Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa is discreetly tucked away at 8 Colborne Street, just steps away from one of the busiest central intersections of downtown, Yonge and King Streets in the epicentre of the financial district. With neighbours like Toronto's Dundas Square, Massey Hall, Canon Theatre, and the Eaton Centre, Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa is the ideal location for visitors to Toronto for business or pleasure.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cosmopolitan Toronto also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Cosmopolitan Toronto Rooms

Superior
The room offers 1 Queen bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open.Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Deluxe
This one bedroom suite offers 1 Queen Bed with floor-to-ceiling windows and with various views, each light-filled suite reflects a balanced mix of Eastern design sensibilities with Western technology. Featuring the conveniences of a fully furnished kitchen, quality air purifier, washer/dryer, Sony CD player and LCD flatscreen televisions, guests also benefit from custom designed furniture, a meditation mat, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linens, balconies and windows that open. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.
Tranquility Suite
560 square feet of living space with a kitchen equipped with stove-top, microwave and mini fridge and scenic views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Surround yourself with a contemporary array of indulgences including hardwood floors, chic designer furnishings and European kitchens. Separate living room from bedroom, queen bed. Complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hour access to fitness room, local and toll-free phone calls, in room Keurig coffee-maker, complimentary morning newspaper delivered daily, yoga mat in each room as well as slippers and robes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.9 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.2 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Fort York: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa contains two boardrooms, Aura and Chi, in addition to the 24 hour Business Centre. Each board rooms is equipped with projectors, LCD flat screens and high-speed wireless internet. This space is ideal for intimate meetings for 2-24 persons, and may be accompanied by lunch or dinner in our private dining room. Full-service, expertly trained staff will provide the finishing touches on any function while professional banquet services offer tantalizing dishes, stylish settings and 5 star treatment. Individual climate and lighting controls, customized configurations, complimentary local calls, high speed internet access enhance this area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Cosmopolitan Toronto

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dshizzle
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

not too bad!

clean room. nice small kitchenette in room for longer stays. friendly staff. very tiny fitness room. tv was fuzzy and flickered a bit. the internet was brutally slow! almost as bad as dial up. i was there for a week and it never got better. when i asked why they said it was because they we're at capacity. if that is true i feel strongly they should upgrade their wifi. i wouldn't stay there again based on this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great breakfast place called over easy right around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiniVacationTed
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Great little boutique hotel in Downtown TO - 4 1/2 stars!

Needed a quiet comfortable central location in TO and this placed looked to fit the bill and it did. The room I got was in fact a mini-apartment done in a spare modern style, a bit more cool than I was expecting but it grew on me. I appreciated all of the little extras like a yoga mat in the closet, a washer and dryer and CDs included with the room. The layout, the features and the size, balanced with a sense of coziness gave extra breathing room to a great weekend in TO. Even though the hotel is half block of south of KIng St and 50 feet east of Yonge St, it is quiet and I appreciated that. From there it is very easy to get to the theater district, shopping and restaurants. My question to determine if I like a place is to ask myself: would I come back: yes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walt777
Business
Toronto
Dec 5, 2011

Cosmopolitan Toronto

Staff was first class. Room was clean, modern and efficient. Very enjoyable stay. Would recommned. Only negative, no DVD player.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in the underground parking around the corner of the hotel. Much cheaper rates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trang
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Gorgeous rooms!

The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are so beautiful and serene. All the lights in the hotel give off a very nice vibe. They offer a wonderful incense option in your room at turn down. The hotel is right downtown and is nice to walk around at night. My room was very clean and peaceful. It is a bit pricey, but it was worth it and I would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TWID
Business
Cordova, Memphis, TN, USA
Nov 11, 2011

TORONTO

Very good! The only drawback is the location on a minor street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pierremonami
Business
Princeton, NJ, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Excellent hotel, highly recommended

I stayed four nights at the Cosmopolitan Hotel while on business in Toronto. It is located in the financial district of the city, and surrounded by great places to eat, everything from cafes to first class restaurants. I stayed in a deluxe suite, having been upgraded at no extra charge at check-in. The room was great, fully stocked kitchen, separate bedroom (round a corner) and of course bathroom. Lots of excellent little details: tv in the living area; tv by the bed; yoga mat in the closet; fast and efficient washing machine and dryer; dishwasher; microwave. The staff were outstanding, extremely helpful during and after my stay. I highly recommend it and it is very very good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cat burg
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Oct 23, 2011

Love this place

The rooms are so nice, staff extremely friendly and great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to order food in springrolls.ca is located bear the hotel and has great food for reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Oct 2, 2011

A relaxing experience

We loved The Cosmopolitan. The staff was friendly and helpful. Even after we left when we had questions they went out of their way to answer them. We liked the location which is close to King, Yonge and Front St. The room was small but had everything we wanted and was presented in such a warm and relaxing environment. I would love to return and would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PJ O'Briens is an awesome little pub across the street with an amazing atmosphere and very tasty food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yazdi
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 15, 2011

The Cosmopolitan in Toronto downtown

I have previously stayed at other hotels in the same general area within the heart of Toronto downtown (Yonge and King Streets), and "The Cosmopolitan" unfortunately does not measure up, especially in terms of pricing. I booked the hotel on Orbitz based on reviewer comments, but I found that for a boutique hotel, it does not add much to the typical hotel experience to make it worth recommending. My biggest complaint was regarding how small the room was in which I stayed. For a suite, it required me to turn sideways to make my way around. The desk chair would hit the bed if pushed a feet back (and there wasn't a couch). The hotel staff was also not particularly helpful/friendly. "One King Suites" and "Hotel Victoria" which are across the street from "The Cosmopolitan" are both much better bets in terms of what you may get for your money. I do not see myself coming back to this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cosmopolitan Toronto

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bellasera28
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great Location

Nice boutique style hotel - but rooms are more like an apartment - so you feel like you're staying at home. They do need to clean their rooms or do a renovation. Bed wasn't too comfortable. Housekeeping came to clean but didn't replace hand towels or shampoo/conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top