$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Best Western Primrose Hotel

3 stars
View map of 111 Carlton Street, Toronto, ON M5B 2G3

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
142 reviews
Birthday Weekend

The hotel was great, and it in a perfect location in downtown. I would go back to this hotel next... See full review

  • bavdo
  • Mar 17, 2015
Great

It was great to stay in Best Western Primrose Hotel. the hotel was located in downtown and close to... See full review

  • ANN
  • Feb 16, 2015
Affordable luxury in the heart of downtown Toronto's city center
Travelers worldwide know to expect great service and affordable rates from Best Western. But at this prime downtown location, guests also get stylish accommodations and luxurious amenities. Travelers appreciate the fresh, contemporary look of the Best Western Primrose Hotel, along with its personalized concierge service, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and the heated outdoor pool. Situated near financial and entertainment districts, guests are never far from what's happening in Toronto.

Highlights
  • Largest deluxe rooms in the city
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises
  • Certified lifeguards on duty at the seasonal outdoor pool
  • Smoke-free property

Location

Some of Toronto's most popular attractions are within walking distance and even those that are a little further away are easy to get to with the nearby and comprehensive public transit system. Don't miss a visit to CN Tower. And Eaton Centre, a shopper's paradise, couldn't be closer. The Harbourfront, Air Canada Centre, and Art Gallery of Ontario are an easy, quick bike or bus ride away.

Rooms

Find stylish, contemporary decor throughout the Best Western Primrose Hotel. At more than 300 square feet, the Deluxe rooms are the largest of their type in Toronto. High-thread-count duvets, quality bath products, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and comfortable work desks are standard in every room and suite. For more space or extended stays, reserve a studio room, which includes a kitchenette, or a deluxe suite, which also includes a separate sitting area. Business Plus rooms offer upgraded amenities, such as premium broadband connectivity.

Features

A fresh, contemporary look graces the Best Western Primrose Hotel's lobby, guest rooms, and suites. Enjoy a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool, or steam your cares away in the sauna. Start the day with breakfast in the on-site Primrose restaurant any day of the week. Dinner is also available, but hours are seasonal and subject to the manager's discretion, so inquire before making plans.

 

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (19 mi/30.7 km)
  • Bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway (0.3 mi/0.6 km)

Attractions
  • Eaton Centre (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • CN Tower (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Air Canada Centre (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Business
  • Business center
  • 8 meeting rooms available
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

The Best Western Primrose Hotel offers limited underground, unattended parking with unlimited in and out access on site at a flat rate of $23/day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Primrose Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Best Western Primrose Hotel Rooms

City View Contemporary Room
Either 2 double beds or 1 king bed, non smoking, 42 inch flat panel television with premium HD cable and pay per view movie package, high speed complimentary WiFi, 300 thread count duvet bedding package, refrigerator, iron and board, in room coffee maker, upgraded amenities package, high floor city view.
Standard Regal Room
Either 2 double beds or 1 king bed, non smoking, television with premium cable and pay per view movie package, high speed complimentary WiFi, 300 thread count duvet bedding package, refrigerator, wet bar, microwave, iron and board, in room coffee maker, upgraded amenities package.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.9 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1 mi
  • Yorkville: 1 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.9 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1 mi
  • Yorkville: 1 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.1 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 1.1 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 1.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 1.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Fort York: 2.1 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.5 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 2.8 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.4 mi
  • The Beaches: 4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.5 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 5.1 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 8.5 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 14.4 mi

Dining

Primrose Restaurant and Bar
Luxurious Primrose Restaurant is now open for Breakfast 7 days a week.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 8,700 sq. ft. of meeting space is available to host 10-280 ppl.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Primrose Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 12, 2007

Not accomadating to handicap

The best western primrose was an awful experience, no parking available hour wait to check in we checked out a day early due to the road noise lack of handicap help and the pool was gross and cold

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelbot
Business
New York, NY
May 31, 2010

Great city. Lousy hotel

This property is conveniently located in beautiful downtown Toronto. I usually stay a few blocks away at The Courtyard by Marriott but the price tag on the trip was too expensive, even for a good hotel like the Marriott. The Primrose is subpar at best. My room was fairly clean but had a dingy, unkempt look about it. The bathroom sink fixture was slightly separated from the wall on one end. The bathtub was dirty. The wall paper showed evidence of water damage and buckling. The nearest functioning ice machine was on the 11th floor while my room was on the 3rd. I went to the machines on the 5th and 8th floors first. Neither was working and all three ice machines were dirty and caked with some sort of unpleasant sticky substance. The alcove in which the 5th floor machine was located had a distinct odor of urine. Yes, urine. The cleaning staff was incompetent. When I returned from a walk outside on Saturday afternoon, I found a gray plastic bag on the coffee table. Inside was a set of dirty silverware and dishes. I took the bag to a nearby cleaning staff member and demanded and explanation. I was told that someone had asked the room service staff to deposit the dirty utensils in my room. I explained that that was unacceptable and left the items with her. I guess I am lucky this idiot didn't hand over my laptop to whoever happened to pass by. An additional example of incompetence was when another cleaning lady knocked on my door an hour later to see if I needed room service. Hello? Don't you even know which rooms have already been serviced? Even checkout was less than stellar as the staff member on duty was clueless on how to treat a departing guest. My advice, AVOID this hotel if you possibly can. It does not measure up to minimum standards and is not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Internet cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Britt Film Industry pro
Business
Hollywood,CA
Jun 26, 2010

Unclean rooms and NO BREAKFAST

The rooms were not very clean, had old amenities. The TV was so small I could barely see it from my bed. The closet doors were broken, and the room had a funny smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelbot
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 30, 2011

Not Recommended

Not a great place to stay. The room I stayed in had dirty, chipped and scratched wooden furnishings that were quite dated. The dingy sofa and armchairs had stains and rips in the fabric. The clock radio was on when I entered the room. The bed sheet had a coffee stain and the sash draped over the edge of the bed was also stained. And the insects crawling on the bathroom floor were not something I wanted to see. You have to wait forever for the elevators to get to your floor. The convenience store would have been a great amenity if it were staffed by people who wanted to serve you and make a sale. After standing with food items in my hand for about five minutes, I put everything back since the staff there refused to acknowledge my presence. Such rudeness is inexcusable. Avoid this place if you can. You'll find much better accommodations at the Ramada around the corner or even better (far better), stay at The Courtyard by Marriott at Yonge and Alexander. That hotel is my favorite place to stay and I always try to book a room there if one is available and if I can afford it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, Rhode Island
Jul 13, 2011

Not the greatest hotel.

To begin, the area this hotel was in i wouldn't call the best. The parking garage was full when we arrived and had to park in an open public lot behind the building. which i felt wasn't very safe. As for the hotel the building looked a little dated on in the inside. The room was the best part, just looking at the hall way gave us an idea for what we experienced when entering the room. The smell of the room when i first entered was stale. The room looks like it hasn't been update since the hotel was built. The sheets probably haven't been replaced since then either. Stains, holes, and rips. The bath room was in decent condition, nothing i would call amazing. Over all, i wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Nov 27, 2010

Awful Service, rooms were not clean

I was assigned a smoking room that smelled awful and was not clean. When I asked for a non-smoking room, the hotel clerk was very annoyed and said he didn't want to switch rooms. Finally after debating with him he sent housekeeping up to check the room which of course checked out great and I was able to switch. Customer service, awful. Rooms are very run down, dirty, and in not a great area of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
B-Traveller
Business
Vancouver, BC
Dec 15, 2010

Not so great

Stayed 3 nights, while attending a conference. The rooms were OK, location was convenient, although the neighborhood is run-down with some illegal activity going around it. On Friday and Saturday nights (i.e., until 3AM) there was a lot of noise coming from parties in other hotel rooms. For the price, it should have been much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Romantic
Business
REDMOND
Mar 10, 2015

Good stay, but manager wouldn't discount canceled trip

Stayed here in early February for the weekend, after a canceled trip from the prior week (due to a snowstorm in the northeast). After the canceled trip, I've rebooked with the same hotel for the weekend after. After arriving, I spoke with the hotel management about refunding (fully or even partially) last week's reservation - which is a reasonable request given that I was never there due to something that is completely outside of my control (snowstorm) and that I had rebooked and paid for the weekend after. Hotel management has unreasonably denied my request. The stay itself was pleasant - clean room, complimentary WiFi, decent continental breakfast in the morning (which you had to pay for separately though). The hotel is positioned near the Ryerson University campus, and was loitered by harmless youths both nights of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, PA
May 27, 2007

My review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

The Best Western Primrose Hotel was alrite. The location in downtown Toronto was good, and the staff was very friendly. The room was clean and decently sized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The Eaton Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Poolrash
Business
Vancouver, BC
Aug 6, 2011

Pool gave me a rash

The room gave me major sinus problems. Must have been very dusty or the ac filter was dirty. The pool gave me a huge rash all over my chest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keg Mansion was nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top