$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Best Western Primrose Hotel

3 stars
111 Carlton Street, Toronto, ON M5B 2G3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
135 reviews
Primrose

The location was central to my visit. The staff were great. The room was comfortable and clean and... See full review

  • Visitor from Minneapolis
  • Jul 3, 2014
Good hotel great price

the hotel was clean and the staff was friendly The room has a sink and oven See full review

  • Allymcfarts
  • Jun 16, 2014
Affordable luxury in the heart of downtown Toronto's city center
Travelers worldwide know to expect great service and affordable rates from Best Western. But at this prime downtown location, guests also get stylish accommodations and luxurious amenities. Travelers appreciate the fresh, contemporary look of the Best Western Primrose Hotel, along with its personalized concierge service, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and the heated outdoor pool. Situated near financial and entertainment districts, guests are never far from what's happening in Toronto.

Highlights
  • Largest deluxe rooms in the city
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises
  • Certified lifeguards on duty at the seasonal outdoor pool
  • Smoke-free property

Location

Some of Toronto's most popular attractions are within walking distance and even those that are a little further away are easy to get to with the nearby and comprehensive public transit system. Don't miss a visit to CN Tower. And Eaton Centre, a shopper's paradise, couldn't be closer. The Harbourfront, Air Canada Centre, and Art Gallery of Ontario are an easy, quick bike or bus ride away.

Rooms

Find stylish, contemporary decor throughout the Best Western Primrose Hotel. At more than 300 square feet, the Deluxe rooms are the largest of their type in Toronto. High-thread-count duvets, quality bath products, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and comfortable work desks are standard in every room and suite. For more space or extended stays, reserve a studio room, which includes a kitchenette, or a deluxe suite, which also includes a separate sitting area. Business Plus rooms offer upgraded amenities, such as premium broadband connectivity.

Features

A fresh, contemporary look graces the Best Western Primrose Hotel's lobby, guest rooms, and suites. Enjoy a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool, or steam your cares away in the sauna. Start the day with breakfast in the on-site Primrose restaurant any day of the week. Dinner is also available, but hours are seasonal and subject to the manager's discretion, so inquire before making plans.

 

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (19 mi/30.7 km)
  • Bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway (0.3 mi/0.6 km)

Attractions
  • Eaton Centre (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • CN Tower (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Air Canada Centre (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Business
  • Business center
  • 8 meeting rooms available
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

The Best Western Primrose Hotel offers limited underground, unattended parking with unlimited in and out access on site at a flat rate of $23/day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

43.6624 -79.377
Area served
Jarvis Street & Carlton Street Downtown, Toronto, Ontario
Nearby airports
Toronto Island Airport (YTZ) 5 kilometers Toronto International Airport (YYZ) 29 kilometers
Area description
Follow the Gardiner Expressway to Jarvis Street. Travel north on Jarvis Street to Carlton Street. Or, follow the 401 to the Don Valley Parkway South and exit at Bloor Street. Travel west on Bloor Street, turn south (left) onto Jarvis Street and continue on Jarvis Street until you reach Carlton Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Primrose Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Best Western Primrose Hotel Rooms

City View Contemporary Room
Either 2 double beds or 1 king bed, non smoking, 42 inch flat panel television with premium HD cable and pay per view movie package, high speed complimentary WiFi, 300 thread count duvet bedding package, refrigerator, iron and board, in room coffee maker, upgraded amenities package, high floor city view.
Standard Regal Room
Either 2 double beds or 1 king bed, non smoking, television with premium cable and pay per view movie package, high speed complimentary WiFi, 300 thread count duvet bedding package, refrigerator, wet bar, microwave, iron and board, in room coffee maker, upgraded amenities package.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.9 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1 mi
  • Yorkville: 1 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.9 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1 mi
  • Yorkville: 1 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.1 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 1.1 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.3 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 1.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 1.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Fort York: 2.1 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.5 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 2.8 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.4 mi
  • The Beaches: 4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.5 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 5.1 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 8.5 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 14.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 8,700 sq. ft. of meeting space is available to host 10-280 ppl.

Dining

Primrose Restaurant and Bar
Luxurious Primrose Restaurant is now open for Breakfast 7 days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Primrose Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kelowna, BC
Jul 23, 2011

Adequet

We booked a Queen, and they only had rooms with doubles available. This was during the heat wave and we had the A/C set to its lowest and the room was still uncomfortably hot (wouldn't drop below 25). The staff was grumpy and unpleasant and the rooms smell musty. The rooms or outdated and the wallpaper is starting to show signs of peeling. The TV's are old 25" tubes. Not worth the steep fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Erie, PA
Jul 22, 2011

OK

nothing about this hotel is great, at the same time nothing is real bad. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can not comment on that. I can tell say DO NOT park your van, truck, or suv anything other than a car (and I would even park a car) with the hotel. Parking is $23 and only 6ft high and hard to move around in, their is an outside lot right next to the hotel that cost $16 for overnight and you can pull right in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot of nice places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 17, 2011

Terrible Parking!

At the first time that we went there, there was no parking place. It is because it was full. At chech-in, they gave us just keys. After we required the ticket of breakfast, they gave us some paper. So It was so bad to me. But, the location was good and the bed was comfortable. Also, breakfast was exellent. There were both sides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, Rhode Island
Jul 13, 2011

Not the greatest hotel.

To begin, the area this hotel was in i wouldn't call the best. The parking garage was full when we arrived and had to park in an open public lot behind the building. which i felt wasn't very safe. As for the hotel the building looked a little dated on in the inside. The room was the best part, just looking at the hall way gave us an idea for what we experienced when entering the room. The smell of the room when i first entered was stale. The room looks like it hasn't been update since the hotel was built. The sheets probably haven't been replaced since then either. Stains, holes, and rips. The bath room was in decent condition, nothing i would call amazing. Over all, i wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jlad
London
Jul 11, 2011

Average hotel

This was hotel was well located - only 2 blocks from Younge and the subway. The room we booked was a suite which was very disappointing. Their suite is an average sized hotel room with a kitchenette (fridge, stove and sink) against one wall. Two chairs was nice but the room was small for a suite. The bathroom really needs to be renovated and the room is somewhat tired looking. We had a continental breakfast that was basic. I would not return here as this was not good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2011

Good value , Perfect Location

I had a Junior suite and it was very spacious, had kitchen with stove top, microwave, refrigerator but no pots, utensils but everything was in good order. The smoke alarm was chirping on my first entry but the hotel sent someone up to change the battery quickly. The WiFi could have been stronger and was at times spotty within the room but it worked for the most part- I wish it would be the same passcode for all areas of hotel -that was just a minor bother. The free breakfast was okay- the juice bar did have bugs in it when I filled my glass with OJ- the manager of the restaurant just looked at me like I was doing something wrong when it was obvious the machine needed cleaning. I wouldn't pay for the breakfast too expensive when other nearby areas were cheaper and cleaner. The hotel was in great location, the elevators were slow and at times only 1 was working so I'm not sure what that was about. Overall, I would stay there again the room and cleaning staff were great. They do have a Tim Horton's in the hotel lobby but it wasn't great and not nearly as good as Starbucks or Second Cup. Was there for Canada Day and Pride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

By the hotel is a supermarket that is big and cheap. The Little Bee - go there for drinks and other goodies -the stores on Yonge too expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 5, 2011

Toronto Pride Weekend

Great location for the Pride weekend! Great price for a last minute booking (four days)! Unfortunately, my "2-double or king" room became one double bed with one pillow. And my coffee maker was filled with moldy coffee. (It would be a simple enough mistake.) Other than that, the room was well cared for and comfortable. Definitely, I would book again for the Pride weekend. The location could not have been any better. Anyway, the real excitement/romance happens outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brantford, ON
Jul 4, 2011

Best Western Primrose

We were in Toronto for a wedding with another couple. The hotel was just as expected and did the job quite satisfactorily; from experience I would call it a three-star hotel. The hotel was full the weekend we stayed there; there was no parking available, but we found a Green-P lot two blocks away for half the price anyway. The elevators were also inadequate for a full house -- we had several five-minute waits (unacceptable in my opinion) and climbed the stairs to the 15th floor once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel parking was $23/day when we stayed; we found parking on Sherbourne St. for half that price -- two blocks East and a half block North.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madrid, Spain
Jun 20, 2011

Not that great

I wanted to spend a nice weekend with my girlfriend in Toronto and I found the following reasons why I should not go back to this Hotel: -Most receptionists were mean and unpolite questioning everything, for example, I paid the parking to one receptionist and a minute after another receptionist accused, yes, accused me of not paying the parking. -Hotel absolutely loud, guests were very annoying and Hotel would not do anything. People next door were about 8 teens in one room, drunk. -Breakfast people were mean and breakfast was not good. -I asked about things to do in the city and the recommendations were actually not that great, other hotels have helped me much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katiebear
Pottstown, PA
Jun 13, 2011

Excellent Stay

I was in canada to attend a boat cruise. When I arrived at the hotel it was before the 3pm check-in time. Unfortunately no rooms were available for me to get into and that I could check in at 1pm. Problem! I would be on my boat cruise on the lake. So since I couldnt check in they had a place to keep my luggage until I came off my cruise at 5pm. The staff was very caring and helpful. The ammendities in this hotel blew me away, it was nice to have everything right there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is phenomenal! They will even charge it to your room if you want to pay by credit card so on the day you check out it's already paid :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search