Best Western Primrose Hotel

3 stars
111 Carlton Street, Toronto, ON M5B 2G3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
136 reviews
Primrose

The location was central to my visit. The staff were great. The room was comfortable and clean and... See full review

  • Visitor from Minneapolis
  • Jul 3, 2014
Good hotel great price

the hotel was clean and the staff was friendly The room has a sink and oven See full review

  • Allymcfarts
  • Jun 16, 2014
Affordable luxury in the heart of downtown Toronto's city center
Travelers worldwide know to expect great service and affordable rates from Best Western. But at this prime downtown location, guests also get stylish accommodations and luxurious amenities. Travelers appreciate the fresh, contemporary look of the Best Western Primrose Hotel, along with its personalized concierge service, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and the heated outdoor pool. Situated near financial and entertainment districts, guests are never far from what's happening in Toronto.

Highlights
  • Largest deluxe rooms in the city
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises
  • Certified lifeguards on duty at the seasonal outdoor pool
  • Smoke-free property

Location

Some of Toronto's most popular attractions are within walking distance and even those that are a little further away are easy to get to with the nearby and comprehensive public transit system. Don't miss a visit to CN Tower. And Eaton Centre, a shopper's paradise, couldn't be closer. The Harbourfront, Air Canada Centre, and Art Gallery of Ontario are an easy, quick bike or bus ride away.

Rooms

Find stylish, contemporary decor throughout the Best Western Primrose Hotel. At more than 300 square feet, the Deluxe rooms are the largest of their type in Toronto. High-thread-count duvets, quality bath products, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and comfortable work desks are standard in every room and suite. For more space or extended stays, reserve a studio room, which includes a kitchenette, or a deluxe suite, which also includes a separate sitting area. Business Plus rooms offer upgraded amenities, such as premium broadband connectivity.

Features

A fresh, contemporary look graces the Best Western Primrose Hotel's lobby, guest rooms, and suites. Enjoy a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool, or steam your cares away in the sauna. Start the day with breakfast in the on-site Primrose restaurant any day of the week. Dinner is also available, but hours are seasonal and subject to the manager's discretion, so inquire before making plans.

 

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (19 mi/30.7 km)
  • Bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway (0.3 mi/0.6 km)

Attractions
  • Eaton Centre (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • CN Tower (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Air Canada Centre (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Business
  • Business center
  • 8 meeting rooms available
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

The Best Western Primrose Hotel offers limited underground, unattended parking with unlimited in and out access on site at a flat rate of $23/day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Best Western Primrose Hotel Rooms

City View Contemporary Room
Either 2 double beds or 1 king bed, non smoking, 42 inch flat panel television with premium HD cable and pay per view movie package, high speed complimentary WiFi, 300 thread count duvet bedding package, refrigerator, iron and board, in room coffee maker, upgraded amenities package, high floor city view.
Standard Regal Room
Either 2 double beds or 1 king bed, non smoking, television with premium cable and pay per view movie package, high speed complimentary WiFi, 300 thread count duvet bedding package, refrigerator, wet bar, microwave, iron and board, in room coffee maker, upgraded amenities package.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Hotel Map

43.6624 -79.377
Area served
Jarvis Street & Carlton Street Downtown, Toronto, Ontario
Nearby airports
Toronto Island Airport (YTZ) 5 kilometers Toronto International Airport (YYZ) 29 kilometers
Area description
Follow the Gardiner Expressway to Jarvis Street. Travel north on Jarvis Street to Carlton Street. Or, follow the 401 to the Don Valley Parkway South and exit at Bloor Street. Travel west on Bloor Street, turn south (left) onto Jarvis Street and continue on Jarvis Street until you reach Carlton Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.9 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1 mi
  • Yorkville: 1 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.9 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1 mi
  • Yorkville: 1 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.1 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 1.1 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.3 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 1.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 1.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Fort York: 2.1 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.5 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 2.8 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.4 mi
  • The Beaches: 4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.5 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 5.1 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 8.5 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 14.4 mi

Dining

Primrose Restaurant and Bar
Luxurious Primrose Restaurant is now open for Breakfast 7 days a week.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 8,700 sq. ft. of meeting space is available to host 10-280 ppl.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Primrose Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stan The Cool Guy
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jun 26, 2012

Great Experience

The car parking had some problems at the beginning, but the staff was glad to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stan The Cool Guy
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jun 26, 2012

Great Experience

The car parking caused a little problems but the staffs were very nice and helped us with it. The rooms were clean and very well done. The hotel is situated close to the Yonge Street and it was a short car ride to Chinatown, which is pretty fun for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AilaDavidson
Business
London
Jun 24, 2012

Great Location

This hotel is perfect for those who want to leave the car parked and walk everywhere. It is very central to all the cool shopping places and lots of restaurants and bars in the area. The employees there are also great at giving suggestions. Rooms are clean, there is a restaurant and bar also although we did not use it. Tim Hortons in the lobby is huge plus for me. Was a great time overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaureBeck
Business
Columbus Oh
Jun 18, 2012

Great value!

I went to the hotel cautiously..didn't know if I could believe the good reviews. Delighted to find out the positive reviews were spot on! It's a really nice hotel, rooms were spacious and found the location to be good for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lidija
Business
Blegrade
May 27, 2012

Excellent Choice

I’ll be brief and say that our visit to Toronto was perfect and the hotel was great. The rooms are beautiful and large for a downtown hotel. The price was perfect and cheaper than other hotels in the area. The bar was great for an after dinner cocktail. Staff are friendly and professional. Location is ideal for seeing the city sights. Overall a good choice for couples and families alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glenn Katie and Eric
Business
Reading, PA, USA
May 1, 2012

OK

$20/day to park. Which is usual within the city. There are better locations but wasn't too bad. Walked to Chinatown and Yonge Street. Hotel is on the edge of the Gay District - if you're into that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Yonge Street is a short ride or decent sized walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JRPoling
Business
Denver
Apr 28, 2012

Great Place to Stay

Recently spent a few days in Toronto and stayed at the Primrose Hotel. I was impressed with the rooms, the service and the fact that the room was very reasonably priced for downtown Toronto. The location is also good and is within walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping areas. Overall it was a good stay and would go back without hesitation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beebs10
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Don't let the inexpensive prices fool you!!

This hotel was a great value and a very nice place to stay. I was in Toronto for a Daughtry concert (love that band) at Massey Hall, with three friends and we were all pleasantly surprise at how nice the hotel was. We stayed two nights. There is a workout room on the 3rd floor which a nice man I met in the elevator told me about. He said he loved it, though we didn't use it. A Tim Hortons in the lobby makes a morning run for coffee and treats an ease. We had a 21st floor view facing downtown and could see the cn tower. Amazing. The room was lovely with free WiFi!! Parking below the building for only $23 a night. The location is a few blocks east of Yonge St. Once on Yonge it's about halfway between Eaton Center and Yorkville. We walked to both. It's a slightly longer walk to Queen St. but that's the only way to get around Toronto in my opinion. I thought the room was lovely - great pillows, beds were comfy and nicely decorated. Only two doubles, not queens, but that was fine for us as we were all small people. A king is available. There is a restaurant at the hotel which looked nice but we did not visit. The staff at the front desk were great. At night there was someone in the lobby to ask to see room keys to make sure we were supposed to be there. I liked that kind of security. When we called the front desk for extra towels they were delivered promptly and a maid in the hallway also brought us some. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Toronto!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mr Greenjeans was a nice restaurant - moderately priced in Eaton Center. Loved the burgers at the Black Bull pub on Queen St. Fun pub atmosphere - great fries. A longer walk from the hotel. The Hard Rock on Yonge St. is always fun in any city. We just happened to bump into the two guitarists from Daughtry!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Budapest
Mar 25, 2012

Rooms are Large

I travel a great deal for business and recently booked in at the Primrose Hotel. I was extremely impressed with the room size at the Primrose. I am used to staying in rooms which are tiny, but the rooms here are huge in comparison (I had a standard room too). There was lots of room as well as a large desk and a sitting area. Also the free wifi is one of the more stable which I have used in hotels. The service is great, the rooms are clean and have huge tvs in them and the location is perfect. Plan on staying there again next time my travels take me to Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christoffe
Business
Lane, Suecia
Feb 26, 2012

Impressed

My first time to the Primrose Hotel as I usually stay at the Sheraton, but they were sold out. Wasn’t expecting much, and was pleasantly surprised. There is a lot of work going on at the hotel, and even though the lobby was under renovation, I didn’t hear any noise. Got a newly done room and found it to be of comparison in terms of quality to the Sheraton. Looks like the Primrose will be my new hotel in the city as the price is definitely way better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top