$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Best Western Primrose Hotel

3 stars
111 Carlton Street, Toronto, ON M5B 2G3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
112 reviews
One night traveler

It was good for a short term visit: location, breakfast discount, room. See full review

  • Aldan River
  • Apr 4, 2014
A Great Location in Toronto Downtown

I liked the hotel particularly, the stuff, they were very helpful. See full review

  • TravelerFromAB
  • Nov 16, 2013
Affordable luxury in the heart of downtown Toronto's city center
Travelers worldwide know to expect great service and affordable rates from Best Western. But at this prime downtown location, guests also get stylish accommodations and luxurious amenities. Travelers appreciate the fresh, contemporary look of the Best Western Primrose Hotel, along with its personalized concierge service, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and the heated outdoor pool. Situated near financial and entertainment districts, guests are never far from what's happening in Toronto.

Highlights
  • Largest deluxe rooms in the city
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises
  • Certified lifeguards on duty at the seasonal outdoor pool
  • Smoke-free property

Location

Some of Toronto's most popular attractions are within walking distance and even those that are a little further away are easy to get to with the nearby and comprehensive public transit system. Don't miss a visit to CN Tower. And Eaton Centre, a shopper's paradise, couldn't be closer. The Harbourfront, Air Canada Centre, and Art Gallery of Ontario are an easy, quick bike or bus ride away.

Rooms

Find stylish, contemporary decor throughout the Best Western Primrose Hotel. At more than 300 square feet, the Deluxe rooms are the largest of their type in Toronto. High-thread-count duvets, quality bath products, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and comfortable work desks are standard in every room and suite. For more space or extended stays, reserve a studio room, which includes a kitchenette, or a deluxe suite, which also includes a separate sitting area. Business Plus rooms offer upgraded amenities, such as premium broadband connectivity.

Features

A fresh, contemporary look graces the Best Western Primrose Hotel's lobby, guest rooms, and suites. Enjoy a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool, or steam your cares away in the sauna. Start the day with breakfast in the on-site Primrose restaurant any day of the week. Dinner is also available, but hours are seasonal and subject to the manager's discretion, so inquire before making plans.

 

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (19 mi/30.7 km)
  • Bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway (0.3 mi/0.6 km)

Attractions
  • Eaton Centre (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • CN Tower (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Air Canada Centre (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Business
  • Business center
  • 8 meeting rooms available
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

The Best Western Primrose Hotel offers limited underground, unattended parking with unlimited in and out access on site at a flat rate of $23/day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Best Western Primrose Hotel Rooms

City View Contemporary Room
Either 2 double beds or 1 king bed, non smoking, 42 inch flat panel television with premium HD cable and pay per view movie package, high speed complimentary WiFi, 300 thread count duvet bedding package, refrigerator, iron and board, in room coffee maker, upgraded amenities package, high floor city view.
Standard Regal Room
Either 2 double beds or 1 king bed, non smoking, television with premium cable and pay per view movie package, high speed complimentary WiFi, 300 thread count duvet bedding package, refrigerator, wet bar, microwave, iron and board, in room coffee maker, upgraded amenities package.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Primrose Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6624 -79.377
Area served
Jarvis Street & Carlton Street Downtown, Toronto, Ontario
Nearby airports
Toronto Island Airport (YTZ) 5 kilometers Toronto International Airport (YYZ) 29 kilometers
Area description
Follow the Gardiner Expressway to Jarvis Street. Travel north on Jarvis Street to Carlton Street. Or, follow the 401 to the Don Valley Parkway South and exit at Bloor Street. Travel west on Bloor Street, turn south (left) onto Jarvis Street and continue on Jarvis Street until you reach Carlton Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.9 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1 mi
  • Yorkville: 1 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.5 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.9 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1 mi
  • Yorkville: 1 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.1 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 1.1 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.3 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 1.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 1.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Fort York: 2.1 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 2.5 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 2.8 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.4 mi
  • The Beaches: 4 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.5 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 5.1 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 8.5 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 14.4 mi

Dining

Primrose Restaurant and Bar
Luxurious Primrose Restaurant is now open for Breakfast 7 days a week.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 8,700 sq. ft. of meeting space is available to host 10-280 ppl.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Primrose Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Suntex
Barcelona, España
Oct 7, 2011

Super Great Stay for Shopping

I stayed at this hotel while my husband was doing some business downtown. It was my first time in Toronto and did not know my way around, but I had a great shopping journey, thanks to the very helpful staff of the hotel. Very confortable room, clean and good ambience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the concierge

Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Abru
New York, NY, USA
Oct 5, 2011

Good Stay

Recently stayed at the Primrose hotel in downtown Toronto. The hotel is in a good location within walking distance of most places. There are lots of restaurants nearby as well as shopping. The rooms are very nice with a modern décor and the staff are friendly. I would definitely return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good restaurants nearby with closeby night clubs.

Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
IL
Aug 8, 2011

Ok hotel, not too great not too bad.

ok place, nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

not far from downtown if u drive.

Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Poolrash
Vancouver, BC
Aug 6, 2011

Pool gave me a rash

The room gave me major sinus problems. Must have been very dusty or the ac filter was dirty. The pool gave me a huge rash all over my chest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keg Mansion was nearby

Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Aug 5, 2011

no more Best Westerns for me

I once always booked Best Western and even got a Best Western card. In the past 2 years, I have been very disappointed about the state of these hotels. They are individually owned, so it really depends on how the managers do their upkeep and what kind of staff they use.Getting back to my trip to Toronto at the Primrose downtown hotel, I was there to see a play and visit relatives; I stayed 1 night. My room was beautiful (as I believe I was given an upgrade with my Best Western card). However, the white duvet on my bed had a "huge" and I mean "huge" stain on it - I was wishing I had a CSI kit so I could find out "what kind of stain it was". Needless it looked like only one kind, so I was really disgusted. The sink water did not drain and the furniture was extremely dusty. Free WIFI was offered and the manual in the room said that if we had problems, they would send someone up to help; I asked for technical support, but did not get any. I did not complain at the time (I slept on one side of the bed only), because I was there for such a short time. I did let the manager know and he apologized and said that he would look into the matter. I am going back to Toronto in October and drive to Florida and back every winter, and won't use Best Western again. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The Primrose Best Western was in a "strange" part of town. Although not too far from Yonge Street and the Canon theater - I walked, I passed the Salvation Army home, half-way homes, a beautiful hotel (the Grand), St Michael's hospital, St. Michael's cathedral and Ryerson University residence. Like I said, it was an interesting walk to be sure. I did not feel afraid, just curious.

Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
DonnaHuz
Stamford, CT
Jul 31, 2011

Not bad for the price

The rooms are comfortable and seem to be clean. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. We found the restaurant had poor service and was not very clean. The hotel is located close to the center of town, so that was good. The parking lot is very tight, so don't bring an SUV, or park on the outside lot next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 25, 2011

Great price, horrible hotel.

I was with 4 other college-aged friends spending a weekend in Toronto. With 5 people in a 4-person room, it ended up being cheaper than a hostel so I really can't complain about the amenities, but that being said I was pretty appalled by this hotel. The entire hotel is hot, even the lobby. The air conditioner in our room blew out cool air, but never managed to cool the room below 80 degrees (F). The hallways also had a strange smell of burning hair. The elevators are incredibly slow. There is no mini-fridge in the room, although there is free wi-fi. Since the room was so hot, we were glad there was a pool, although it was quite small and there were no reclining beach chairs. Some people tried to lay out to tan on the thin tile walkway around the pool, forcing you to step over them to get to past--very awkward! The hotel reservation also said there was free breakfast included, although I didn't find one. Good thing there's a Tim Hortons attached to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a GREAT restaurant within walking distance of the hotel, Guu SakaBar. A tad pricy but definitely worth the splurge! Recommended for people who are happy with small portions of excellent food and a lively atmosphere.

Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Kelowna, BC
Jul 23, 2011

Adequet

We booked a Queen, and they only had rooms with doubles available. This was during the heat wave and we had the A/C set to its lowest and the room was still uncomfortably hot (wouldn't drop below 25). The staff was grumpy and unpleasant and the rooms smell musty. The rooms or outdated and the wallpaper is starting to show signs of peeling. The TV's are old 25" tubes. Not worth the steep fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Erie, PA
Jul 22, 2011

OK

nothing about this hotel is great, at the same time nothing is real bad. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can not comment on that. I can tell say DO NOT park your van, truck, or suv anything other than a car (and I would even park a car) with the hotel. Parking is $23 and only 6ft high and hard to move around in, their is an outside lot right next to the hotel that cost $16 for overnight and you can pull right in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot of nice places to eat.

Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 17, 2011

Terrible Parking!

At the first time that we went there, there was no parking place. It is because it was full. At chech-in, they gave us just keys. After we required the ticket of breakfast, they gave us some paper. So It was so bad to me. But, the location was good and the bed was comfortable. Also, breakfast was exellent. There were both sides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top