$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Best Western Primrose Hotel

3 stars
View map of 111 Carlton Street, Toronto, ON M5B 2G3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Primrose Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beebs10
Rochester, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Don't let the inexpensive prices fool you!!

This hotel was a great value and a very nice place to stay. I was in Toronto for a Daughtry concert (love that band) at Massey Hall, with three friends and we were all pleasantly surprise at how nice the hotel was. We stayed two nights. There is a workout room on the 3rd floor which a nice man I met in the elevator told me about. He said he loved it, though we didn't use it. A Tim Hortons in the lobby makes a morning run for coffee and treats an ease. We had a 21st floor view facing downtown and could see the cn tower. Amazing. The room was lovely with free WiFi!! Parking below the building for only $23 a night. The location is a few blocks east of Yonge St. Once on Yonge it's about halfway between Eaton Center and Yorkville. We walked to both. It's a slightly longer walk to Queen St. but that's the only way to get around Toronto in my opinion. I thought the room was lovely - great pillows, beds were comfy and nicely decorated. Only two doubles, not queens, but that was fine for us as we were all small people. A king is available. There is a restaurant at the hotel which looked nice but we did not visit. The staff at the front desk were great. At night there was someone in the lobby to ask to see room keys to make sure we were supposed to be there. I liked that kind of security. When we called the front desk for extra towels they were delivered promptly and a maid in the hallway also brought us some. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Toronto!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mr Greenjeans was a nice restaurant - moderately priced in Eaton Center. Loved the burgers at the Black Bull pub on Queen St. Fun pub atmosphere - great fries. A longer walk from the hotel. The Hard Rock on Yonge St. is always fun in any city. We just happened to bump into the two guitarists from Daughtry!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelbot
Business
New York, NY
May 31, 2010

Great city. Lousy hotel

This property is conveniently located in beautiful downtown Toronto. I usually stay a few blocks away at The Courtyard by Marriott but the price tag on the trip was too expensive, even for a good hotel like the Marriott. The Primrose is subpar at best. My room was fairly clean but had a dingy, unkempt look about it. The bathroom sink fixture was slightly separated from the wall on one end. The bathtub was dirty. The wall paper showed evidence of water damage and buckling. The nearest functioning ice machine was on the 11th floor while my room was on the 3rd. I went to the machines on the 5th and 8th floors first. Neither was working and all three ice machines were dirty and caked with some sort of unpleasant sticky substance. The alcove in which the 5th floor machine was located had a distinct odor of urine. Yes, urine. The cleaning staff was incompetent. When I returned from a walk outside on Saturday afternoon, I found a gray plastic bag on the coffee table. Inside was a set of dirty silverware and dishes. I took the bag to a nearby cleaning staff member and demanded and explanation. I was told that someone had asked the room service staff to deposit the dirty utensils in my room. I explained that that was unacceptable and left the items with her. I guess I am lucky this idiot didn't hand over my laptop to whoever happened to pass by. An additional example of incompetence was when another cleaning lady knocked on my door an hour later to see if I needed room service. Hello? Don't you even know which rooms have already been serviced? Even checkout was less than stellar as the staff member on duty was clueless on how to treat a departing guest. My advice, AVOID this hotel if you possibly can. It does not measure up to minimum standards and is not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Internet cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ready4u2day
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 18, 2010

Great hotel and prefect location.

The employess were extremely friendly and curtious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jan 2, 2010

Primrose is a very convenient hotel

The Primrose is a very nice hotel. It is not that fancy anymore but it is clean and everyone is efficient. The location is the real winner. You are one block away from Church, two 2 from Yonge. It is just at the center of it all. Subway very close. So I love the Primrose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Daybreak Restaurant at the corner of Carlton and Church is a terrific restaurant. The staff is amazing and the food very solid. You get a lot for your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo NY
Dec 4, 2009

good hotel, as advertised

Exactly as advertised..good hotel, very clean good service, no problems, good location, not luxurious.. I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Oct 21, 2009

Good location, nice

Nice hotel, downtown, rooms were clean & well put together. Good deal overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MI
Oct 12, 2009

confortable

It was a decent stay.. you have to pat for parking in the underground garage which has tight parking spots

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 27, 2009

Primrose is a good deal

It was located very centrally to everything in the east end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Cora right on Carlton for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, Ontario
Sep 18, 2009

Good stay at a clean, comfortable hotel

Overall the hotel and the staff were great! Staff was courteous, polite and helped us to navigate to the Roger's Centre for our U2 concert! The beds were comfortable, with newer pillowtop matresses and plenty of pillows. The room was clean and wasn't missing anything. The view was good-we were on the 22nd floor! The climate control worked well. The parking was $23.00 but safety in the lot and hotel was good. Great stay with enough bars, restaurants,and convenience stores within very short distances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Craig Copland
Business
Muskoka, ON
Sep 14, 2009

overall....just fine

We had dinner and took in entertainment in the neighbourhood. Breakfast the following morning at the adjacent diner. This hotel is not new and not 5 star. But for what it claimed to be and what we paid, it was just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the gay village. Fabulous drag queens shows and other adult pursuits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Primrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo.N.Y.
Sep 7, 2009

great hotel

Although we couldn't get on site Parking because of the busy weekend (Expo, College move in's , Italian Festival ) we did get it around the corner in the public lot ,but it was pricy . These are all the reasons my husband and I traveled there as well. We had a great time and the room was beautiful,and comfortable. There is a great restraunt right next store . breakfast was to die for. and priced right ,great service as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top