$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Alexandra Hotel

2 stars
77 Ryerson Avenue, Toronto, ON M5T 2VA
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
22 reviews
clean comfort friendly

See full review

  • stone lion
  • Jul 31, 2013
central spot to stay

Had a nice stay here. Room was conveniently located and very comfortable. See full review

  • noique
  • Dec 2, 2014
The Alexandra Hotel is an independent and affordable downtown hotel. Our hotel provides clean, comfortable, and cost-effective accommodation for visitors from all over the world. With an experienced staff, over 75 private rooms, and a great location, come find out why so many of the hotel guests return for a repeat visit! Each room in the hotel six-storey building has one double bed and one twin bed, a private bath with full tub, a fully equipped kitchenette, cable television, direct dial telephone, air conditioner and Internet connection. On-site parking is available for $7.00 per day plus tax. A credit card imprint or refundable security deposit is required to check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Alexandra Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Alexandra Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double Studio Suite has one double bed and one twin bed, a private bath with full tub, a fully equipped kitchenette, cable television, air conditioner and Internet connection.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.6 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Fort York: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.8 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 1 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.3 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.6 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Fort York: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.8 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 1 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 1.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.5 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 1.5 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 1.6 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2 mi
  • Distillery District: 2.2 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 2.3 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.3 mi
  • High Park: 3.1 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 4.8 mi
  • The Beaches: 5.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.6 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.3 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.1 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 10 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Alexandra Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 22
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Authentic Chell
Business
Billings Montana
Nov 11, 2014

great business stay

had an amazingly helpful staff. great location, and cooking options in room. very quite. comfy rooms. only thing I didn't like your had to rent a clock radio. if I didn't have my phone I wouldn't have an alarm or a clock

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohead
Business
Peoria, IL
Jun 12, 2014

MDRT

A very friendly, older hotel in a convenient, quiet area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining options within a 15 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joss
Business
st catharines, on
Jun 2, 2014

business trip

It was ok for the price The main thing is it was clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
slodoug
Business
SLO
Apr 22, 2014

Nice basic stuff

plain room, has what you need but not fancy. clean enough. old building,. The guy overcharged my so i showed him i paid online and he refunded me. great location to bus/trolley/parks/and the grand prix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

get transit tokens at the store 2 blocks away, you can go anywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon from Boston
Business
Boston
Nov 25, 2013

Essentials on a budget

A great place to stay on a budget, within easy walking distance of dining and bus/subway lines. I stayed two nights while on business (without my kids), and was able to experience the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a couple blocks south to Queen Street for a variety of interesting options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
slodoug
Business
SLO
Jul 15, 2013

Cheap but beware..

This is an old apt complex turned into a hotel. Located close to light rail and a park, in chinatown district. Parking is NOT free, they charge about $5/day. A/C in the room was very noisy but didnt keep me awake. I booked 3 nights, they thought it was 2, i had to add the 3rd night, then checked my booking and i did pay for 3 nights so they refunded me. Walking distance to store/eat/park and light rail to everything else. Bed was not bad. Rooms have small kitchenette, fridge, and set of plates,glasses, etc.. not a nice looking neighborhood, graffiti on nearby houses, but nothing that felt unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get light rail tokens at the the drug store down the street and go anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom on the road
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 25, 2013

close to Chinatown, very reasonable price

I have been staying at Alexandra Hotel over the last 10 years. It has a great location with almost free parking, is safe and very close to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of good Asian restaurants within 5 blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jonah in the whale
Business
South Texas
Jun 25, 2012

Below expectations

I knew it was a cheap hotel but I wasn't expecting anything like this. It is not clean at all and everything is at least 10-20 years old. You can survive by yourself for a few days-- if you don't want to spend much-- but impossible with a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
S.E. Connecticut
Jun 4, 2012

decent place in a high-cost City

Older building but clean, comfortable and well kept. The staff was pleasent and very helpful. Fairly safe, clean neighborhood with several small parks. Grocery store - 3 blocks, Drug store -2 blocks, Commmunity theater - 1 block, Chinatown - 3 blocks, restaurants/pubs - many within 3-4 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of college students in this area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TIANHONG
Business
Houston, TX
May 8, 2007

Good combination of price and location

I got one double bed and one single bed. There is a small kitchenette including a sink and a couple of electric rings, microwave, refrigirator and enough cooking and eating utensils to make a basic meal; I used it to make my breakfasts. The room had cable TV. And more lovely, it has free internet access in room, you may need to bring your own cable though. Maid service was fine. The location is terrfic. In downtown and one block away from Chinatown. I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers who want to be near the attractions of Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from CN tower and most other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top