$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Alexandra Hotel

2 stars
77 Ryerson Avenue, Toronto, ON M5T 2VA
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
22 reviews
clean comfort friendly

See full review

  • stone lion
  • Jul 31, 2013
central spot to stay

Had a nice stay here. Room was conveniently located and very comfortable. See full review

  • noique
  • Dec 2, 2014
The Alexandra Hotel is an independent and affordable downtown hotel. Our hotel provides clean, comfortable, and cost-effective accommodation for visitors from all over the world. With an experienced staff, over 75 private rooms, and a great location, come find out why so many of the hotel guests return for a repeat visit! Each room in the hotel six-storey building has one double bed and one twin bed, a private bath with full tub, a fully equipped kitchenette, flat-screen cable TV, direct dial telephone, air conditioner and Internet connection. On-site parking is available for $7.00 per day plus tax. A credit card imprint or refundable security deposit is required to check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Alexandra Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Alexandra Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double Studio Suite has one double bed and one twin bed, a private bath with full tub, a fully equipped kitchenette, flat-screen cable TV, air conditioner and Internet connection.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.6 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Fort York: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.8 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 1 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 1.3 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.6 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Fort York: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.8 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.9 mi
  • CN Tower: 1 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 1.3 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 1.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.5 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 1.5 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 1.6 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2 mi
  • Distillery District: 2.2 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 2.3 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.3 mi
  • High Park: 3.1 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 4.8 mi
  • The Beaches: 5.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.6 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.3 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.1 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 10 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Alexandra Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jonah in the whale
Business
South Texas
Jun 25, 2012

Below expectations

I knew it was a cheap hotel but I wasn't expecting anything like this. It is not clean at all and everything is at least 10-20 years old. You can survive by yourself for a few days-- if you don't want to spend much-- but impossible with a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
slodoug
Business
SLO
Jul 15, 2013

Cheap but beware..

This is an old apt complex turned into a hotel. Located close to light rail and a park, in chinatown district. Parking is NOT free, they charge about $5/day. A/C in the room was very noisy but didnt keep me awake. I booked 3 nights, they thought it was 2, i had to add the 3rd night, then checked my booking and i did pay for 3 nights so they refunded me. Walking distance to store/eat/park and light rail to everything else. Bed was not bad. Rooms have small kitchenette, fridge, and set of plates,glasses, etc.. not a nice looking neighborhood, graffiti on nearby houses, but nothing that felt unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get light rail tokens at the the drug store down the street and go anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
smittie68
Business
Baltimore
Sep 27, 2013

Don't Expect Much

This hotel is a converted hostel and it shows. The rooms and beds are comfortable and the location is convenient. Amenities you ask? Forget it, there are none. If you want to stay in an expensive city on the cheap go for it. If luxury is your thing, forget it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BitGod
Business
Florida
Mar 21, 2014

OK for Individuals Not For Families

This hotel is OK for Individuals. For Families, space would not be sufficient. Bad thing is, though it says non-smoking, the whole floor has cigar odor and even the lift too. No restrictions imposed for playing music so some individuals were playing music till late night very loudly & screaming with words you don't want to hear, making the whole experience unpleasant. Hotel officials should impose these conditions strictly. Location wise,this hotel is near to all the attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joss
Business
st catharines, on
Jun 2, 2014

business trip

It was ok for the price The main thing is it was clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Allston Rock City
Business
Boston
Jun 16, 2014

No frills but a good base

What the Alexandra lacks in amenities it makes up for in location and convenience. The $5 parking and location within walking distance to many shops, bars, and restaurants makes it a good place to stay. Unless you're going to be sitting in your room all day then this is a good "home base" to have for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Horseshoe Tavern is a classic live music venue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vegan and beer guy
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Jul 25, 2013

Baseball Trip

I made a quick trip into Toronto to see a baseball game. This hotel was a little over a mile walk away. The price was low. Just off Queen Street, where there is always something going on. The room was small, but I didn't plan to do much beyond sleep there. I'd say three people is the maximum and two would have to squeeze in one twin bed. They had a small kitchen if you prefer to cook your own food. Not luxurious, but a good value and good location (not right in downtown but close enough). I normally care more about finding vegan food and breweries but was mainly concerned about the baseball game. They have expensive beer and low selection at the stadium. I did not find any vegan food beyond stuff like peanuts and stuff like that. Even the stadium popcorn came pre-buttered. So don't plan on eating vegan food or drinking there. If you plan ahead, there are a lot of vegan choices in the city and some great local beer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I know its only Subway but there is one right around the corner and it is open almost 24 hours a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
slodoug
Business
SLO
Apr 22, 2014

Nice basic stuff

plain room, has what you need but not fancy. clean enough. old building,. The guy overcharged my so i showed him i paid online and he refunded me. great location to bus/trolley/parks/and the grand prix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

get transit tokens at the store 2 blocks away, you can go anywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lone Biker
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 16, 2014

Visiting Toronto

Stayed in Toronto a couple of days to explore. Great location and value for the area. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TIANHONG
Business
Houston, TX
May 8, 2007

Good combination of price and location

I got one double bed and one single bed. There is a small kitchenette including a sink and a couple of electric rings, microwave, refrigirator and enough cooking and eating utensils to make a basic meal; I used it to make my breakfasts. The room had cable TV. And more lovely, it has free internet access in room, you may need to bring your own cable though. Maid service was fine. The location is terrfic. In downtown and one block away from Chinatown. I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers who want to be near the attractions of Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from CN tower and most other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top