$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

The Westin Ottawa

4 stars
View map of 11 Colonel By Drive, 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
31 reviews
Great location but service needs to improve

The hotel is at a very convenient location and the fact that there is a tunnel to the convention... See full review

  • Neatraveller
  • Apr 15, 2015
ANNIVERSARY STAY

We had a great stay in Ottawa, Not a thing to complain about. My only comment would be the sliding... See full review

  • Kelleymarg
  • Aug 31, 2014
Located on the Rideau Canal adjacent to Rideau Centre Shopping Mall and the Shaw Centre, The Westin Ottawa offers direct access to all the allures of Canadas capital city, from its thriving businesses to its many cultural diversions. With 44,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference facilities and a 24-hour Business Centre, you'll discover effortless productivity during your stay. Our WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio, squash court, and indoor saltwater pool ensure youll stay fit, too. Refreshing and bright, our 496 guest rooms and suites bring modern design and technology to your fingertips. Contemporary furnishings, environmentally friendly features, and stunning views create a space that leaves you feeling instantly soothed.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Ottawa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Westin Ottawa Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Steam bath
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 0.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 0.5 mi
  • Currency Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 0.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 0.9 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 1 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 1.2 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 1.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 2.1 mi
  • Dows Lake: 2.5 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 2.5 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 0.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 0.5 mi
  • Currency Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 0.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 0.9 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 1 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 1.2 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 1.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 2.1 mi
  • Dows Lake: 2.5 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 2.5 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • Carleton University: 3.1 mi
  • Emerald Plaza: 4.8 mi
  • Carlingwood Mall: 5.3 mi
  • Merivale Mall: 5.5 mi
  • Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club: 5.9 mi
  • Bayshore Shopping Centre: 7.7 mi
  • Canadian Tire Centre: 14.4 mi
  • Scotia Bank Place: 14.4 mi
  • Gatineau Park: 18.3 mi
  • Calypso Waterpark: 24.1 mi
  • Papanack Park Zoo: 29.3 mi

Dining

Daly's Restaurant
Start your day on a tasty note at Daly’s Restaurant, where seasonal breakfast items and a weekend brunch are served in view of the scenic Rideau Canal.
The Shore Club
Treat your palate to the flavors of land and sea at The Shore Club. Fresh seafood and succulent Alberta steaks are served up in a vibrant setting reminiscent of an art-deco ocean liner.
Daly's Express
Recharge with a cup of Starbucks® coffee and nourishing SuperFoodsRx™ fare at Daly’s Express. A welcoming café setting invites guests to sit back with today’s paper or enjoy wireless High Speed Internet Access (for a fee) on their personal computer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Ottawa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 31
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
5
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelleymarg
Business
Ellisburg, NY
Aug 31, 2014

ANNIVERSARY STAY

We had a great stay in Ottawa, Not a thing to complain about. My only comment would be the sliding door on room 2017 bathroom does not give you privacy needed,sometimes it drifts open, no way to lock it while in use. Small issue but it should be addressed The Ottawa Westin is Pet Friendly also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SUGGESTIONS IN THE BYWARD MAKET AREA FOR LUNCH OR DINNER,COASTERS,FISHMARKET,POOR HOUSE OR ANY IRISH /SCOTISH PUBS IN THE MARKET,YOU CANNOT GO WRONG

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Pontiac
Business
Montrel
Jun 24, 2014

No worries ,comfortable,quiet.

The moment we stopped in, we were treated very well. Staff where polite and helpful. The place was clean . I will return to this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geo. L
Business
Durham, NC
Jan 14, 2014

just what you would expect

The Ottawa Westin is exactly what you would expect from Westin --- excellent location, nice large room with a comfortable bed, and a friendly staff. The proximity to the convention center, canal and mall, and Parliament make this a hard hotel to beat. I thought the price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lourens
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Spotlessly clean & comfortable stay!

We had a most memorable stay at the Westin. It's location was perfect for our needs. It was spotlessly clean, and the amenities met our expectations. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We'll definitely be back on our next trip to Ottawa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Superb food at Play Restaurant with outstanding wines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Russian Ponytail
Business
Kitchener Ontario
May 23, 2011

Outstanding location and staff

Our stay at the Westin Ottawa was outstanding. We had an upgrade to a Deluxe room upon arrival. There was cucumber water to drink in the lobby. This was wonderful as it turned out to be a hot day. Our room could not have asked for a better view... we overlooked Parliament Hill and the War Memorial. The hotel was very central to everything. The parking was a bit of a nightmare, but they made valet parking available for my husband who has mobility issues. The decor was very inviting everywhere! The pool has an outdoor sunning deck which was lovely on a warm spring day! But most of all the staff were outstanding. They constantly asked if everything was fine. Do you need anything. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Ottawa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Works when in Ottawa. They offer 8oz burgers with MANY different toppings. They are absolutely OUTSTANDING and a fun atmosphere. There are six restaurants in Ottawa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clayton ny
Dec 10, 2010

Excellent experience!

We had a great breakfast and then went shopping without going outside in 10 degree weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DisappointedFromLasVegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 17, 2010

Westin Ottawa

When we arrived, neither the phone nor the mini-fridge were working. We were told that the phones were out due to a storm two days before we arrived, and were still out for 2 days after we got there. We were told that to get the mini-fridge to work, we had to put ice or something cold in it.(!) Eventually, we complained enough to get the hotel maintenance engineer to investigate, and he confirmed that the fridge was indeed broken. We finally were moved to a different room, because there were no replacement mini-fridges available. The rooms were incompletely serviced, even after being moved to a preferred guest floor (no replacement glasses, no plastic liner for the ice bucket, beds were not properly made, and pillows were left on the floor.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurant was over-priced and limited, high-end menu. Had to go outside the hotel to find an acceptable place to eat. The lounge was advertised as being open until 1 AM, but what was NOT mentioned was that the kitchen closed at 10 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rome NY
May 17, 2010

Great location - great hotel!

The hotel is right next to the beautiful Rideau Canal that you can take a boat ride on. We were able to get on a sightseeing bus just across the street from the hotel. We could walk to shops, restaurants, parks and Parliament bldgs, all very close to the hotel. You do not even have to go outside to go shopping - a mall is attached! The room was beautiful! The wallpaper and glass tile in the bathroom was just beautiful. The soap even matched the decor. The bedding pattern matched the bathroom wallpaper. Well done decor!! Most comfortable and homey!! We would definitely stay there again. Employees were very helpful and attentive to your every need. Everything was spotlessly clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is just a short walk from this hotel. It is in the heart of shopping,dining, sightseeing, bike rental, historical buildings, parks, etc. Just park your car and enjoy!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caro n Tom
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 11, 2010

Pleasant stay

We were in Ottawa during a rainy, windy and cold weekend. It even snowed one morning, and we are in the middle of May! Anyway, we braved the cold and walked around one day but decided to spend the next 2 days of our trip doing indoor activities. The staff at the Westin were very warm, friendly and professional. They gave us great suggestions for activities to do and restaurants we could visit. We also took advantage of the pool, which was cosy but enjoyable all the same. This was definitely a plus because of the limitations of activities imposed by the weather! As far as the room goes, it had a very comfortable king bed, and an excellent and powerful shower. Room service, the hotel restaurant and the food were also of very good quality. The window sills and appliances (phone and radio) were a little dusty...it was tolerable though. It would also have been nice to have complimentary internet during our trip. All in all, our stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We did not stumble upon many great restaurants. Daly's, the hotel restaurant had great choices and great food and we ate at an Ethiopian restaurant that we really loved and went back to a second time - The East African at 376 Rideau Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caro n Tom
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 11, 2010

Pleasant stay

We were in Ottawa during a rainy, windy and cold weekend. It even snowed one morning, and we are in the middle of May! Anyway, we braved the cold and walked around one day but decided to spend the next 2 days of our trip doing indoor activities. The staff at the Westin were very warm, friendly and professional. They gave us great suggestions for activities to do and restaurants we could visit. We also took advantage of the pool, which was cosy but enjoyable all the same. This was definitely a plus because of the limitations of activities imposed by the weather! As far as the room goes, it had a very comfortable king bed, and an excellent and powerful shower. Room service, the hotel restaurant and the food were also of very good quality. The window sills and appliances (phone and radio) were a little dusty...it was tolerable though. It would also have been nice to have complimentary internet during our trip. All in all, our stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We did not stumble upon many great restaurants. Daly's, the hotel restaurant had great choices and great food and we ate at an Ethiopian restaurant that we really loved and went back to a second time - The East African at 376 Rideau Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top