$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

The Westin Ottawa

4 stars
11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
28 reviews
ANNIVERSARY STAY

We had a great stay in Ottawa, Not a thing to complain about. My only comment would be the sliding... See full review

  • Kelleymarg
  • Aug 31, 2014
No worries ,comfortable,quiet.

The moment we stopped in, we were treated very well. Staff where polite and helpful. The place was... See full review

  • Mr Pontiac
  • Jun 24, 2014
Experience the essence of renewal and tranquility in the nation?s capital. Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is the destination for business and leisure guests alike. Complementing the Westin?s ambience are its indoor walkways to both the Rideau Centre Shopping Mall and Ottawa Congress Centre. The ideal location of The Westin Ottawa provides guests an opportunity for exploration of the many historical and cultural elements of the city. Westin becomes a haven for the body, mind and soul when guests enjoy the luxury of the WestinWORKOUT? Gym, a state-of-the-art fitness facility boasting a spectacular view of the capital via floor-to-ceiling windows. The heated, indoor salt water pool provides a healthier alternative, unique amongst the city?s hotels. In partnership with Executive Fitness Leaders, Ottawa?s premiere fitness experts, The Westin Ottawa responds to guests? needs in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Renewal also awaits in Daly?s restaurant. Relax over delicious selections prepared by The Westin Ottawa?s culinary professionals, or enjoy refreshing cocktails and enticing snacks in Landmarks Lounge. The Westin Ottawa?s 495 spacious guest rooms and suites provide guests with an elevated sense of comfort and tranquility. The Westin?s renowned Heavenly Bed? provides the ultimate vantage point for spectacular views of the Rideau Canal and Byward Market from floor-to-ceiling guest room windows.

Hotel Map

45.4251 -75.693
Nearby airports
Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Airport, (YOW), 10.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Ottawa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Ottawa Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 0.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 0.5 mi
  • Currency Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 0.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 0.9 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 1 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 1.2 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 1.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 2.1 mi
  • Dows Lake: 2.5 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 2.5 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 0.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 0.5 mi
  • Currency Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 0.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 0.9 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 1 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 1.2 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 1.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 2.1 mi
  • Dows Lake: 2.5 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 2.5 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • Carleton University: 3.1 mi
  • Emerald Plaza: 4.8 mi
  • Carlingwood Mall: 5.3 mi
  • Merivale Mall: 5.5 mi
  • Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club: 5.9 mi
  • Bayshore Shopping Centre: 7.7 mi
  • Canadian Tire Centre: 14.4 mi
  • Scotia Bank Place: 14.4 mi
  • Gatineau Park: 18.3 mi
  • Calypso Waterpark: 24.1 mi
  • Papanack Park Zoo: 29.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Ottawa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lahan
Business
Toronto
Mar 28, 2014

Family getaway

I like this hotel Shopping centre attached to the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DisappointedFromLasVegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 17, 2010

Westin Ottawa

When we arrived, neither the phone nor the mini-fridge were working. We were told that the phones were out due to a storm two days before we arrived, and were still out for 2 days after we got there. We were told that to get the mini-fridge to work, we had to put ice or something cold in it.(!) Eventually, we complained enough to get the hotel maintenance engineer to investigate, and he confirmed that the fridge was indeed broken. We finally were moved to a different room, because there were no replacement mini-fridges available. The rooms were incompletely serviced, even after being moved to a preferred guest floor (no replacement glasses, no plastic liner for the ice bucket, beds were not properly made, and pillows were left on the floor.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurant was over-priced and limited, high-end menu. Had to go outside the hotel to find an acceptable place to eat. The lounge was advertised as being open until 1 AM, but what was NOT mentioned was that the kitchen closed at 10 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LIO
Business
Vancouver, BC
Aug 10, 2009

Westin Ottawa

The Hotel is being renovated! It is very noisy and the elevators take a long time to take you to the fitness center. The rooms and service are great! Spacious, new and with contemporary design. No high speed internet unless you pay. I suppose that when the renovations are over the hotel will be one of the best in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to many bars and clubs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geo. L
Business
Durham, NC
Jan 14, 2014

just what you would expect

The Ottawa Westin is exactly what you would expect from Westin --- excellent location, nice large room with a comfortable bed, and a friendly staff. The proximity to the convention center, canal and mall, and Parliament make this a hard hotel to beat. I thought the price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caro n Tom
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 11, 2010

Pleasant stay

We were in Ottawa during a rainy, windy and cold weekend. It even snowed one morning, and we are in the middle of May! Anyway, we braved the cold and walked around one day but decided to spend the next 2 days of our trip doing indoor activities. The staff at the Westin were very warm, friendly and professional. They gave us great suggestions for activities to do and restaurants we could visit. We also took advantage of the pool, which was cosy but enjoyable all the same. This was definitely a plus because of the limitations of activities imposed by the weather! As far as the room goes, it had a very comfortable king bed, and an excellent and powerful shower. Room service, the hotel restaurant and the food were also of very good quality. The window sills and appliances (phone and radio) were a little dusty...it was tolerable though. It would also have been nice to have complimentary internet during our trip. All in all, our stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We did not stumble upon many great restaurants. Daly's, the hotel restaurant had great choices and great food and we ate at an Ethiopian restaurant that we really loved and went back to a second time - The East African at 376 Rideau Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret Skater
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 7, 2011

Great place to stay

I went to Ottawa to skate the Rideau Canal and to participate in Winterlude. The hotel is directly across the street from the canal and near restaurants and shops in the Byward Market area. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was really helpful and welcoming. At this type of hotel, I don't expect to pay for wireless, though. There was also a convention there, so the elevators were overtaxed and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Byward Market has lots of shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canuck in the US
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 21, 2009

Westin Ottawa

I arrived late from New York. After the sleepless night before in my noisy Manhattan hotel room, the Westin was an oasis. The room was immaculate, the view spectacular and best of off, no noise from adjoining rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the 3rd floor of the Westin and follow the signs to the Rideau Centre shopping mall. It's a large mall with all the expected brands plus coffee shops and a food court.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 9, 2008

Great location, helpful staff

This hotel is centrally located-- everything is within walking distance. By Ward market is a few steps away and the Rideau Centre shopping mall is connected to the hotel so very convenient. We went there during the heat wave and when it was hot and humid outside, we stayed indoors at the Rideau Centre and later in the evening, walked to By Ward market. We didn't get to try any of the hotel's restaurants because there were so many others to choose from nearby. Also, when we arrived, the lady at the front desk informed us that the restaurant was closed until 5pm. We found out it was open but didn't matter since the mall was still open and there were more dining options there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Go to the 3rd floor lobby, make a right when you get out of the elevator all the way out to the mall entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newburyport, Ma.
Nov 22, 2009

Your description above is generic.

We were there for a wedding and spent much of our time with the wedding party. Having wifi included for the computers would be an asset. Charge of almost $13.00 seems out of date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swain
Business
Randolph, NJ, USA
Sep 7, 2009

Excellent hotel but no free internet.

The hotel is in the center of the Ottawa downtown. All the monuments are walkable. The bus stoppage is next to this hotel. The biggest shopping mall in the downtown is connected to this hotel. The mall has a multiplex cinema hall. This is a wonderful experience. The things I missed is the free internet connection and complementary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The biggest shopping mall in the downtown is connected to this hotel. The mall has a multiplex cinema hall. This is a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top