$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin Ottawa

4 stars
View map of 11 Colonel By Drive, 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
28 reviews
ANNIVERSARY STAY

We had a great stay in Ottawa, Not a thing to complain about. My only comment would be the sliding... See full review

  • Kelleymarg
  • Aug 31, 2014
No worries ,comfortable,quiet.

The moment we stopped in, we were treated very well. Staff where polite and helpful. The place was... See full review

  • Mr Pontiac
  • Jun 24, 2014
Located on the Rideau Canal adjacent to Rideau Centre Shopping Mall and the Shaw Centre, The Westin Ottawa offers direct access to all the allures of Canadas capital city, from its thriving businesses to its many cultural diversions. With 44,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference facilities and a 24-hour Business Centre, you'll discover effortless productivity during your stay. Our WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio, squash court, and indoor saltwater pool ensure youll stay fit, too. Refreshing and bright, our 496 guest rooms and suites bring modern design and technology to your fingertips. Contemporary furnishings, environmentally friendly features, and stunning views create a space that leaves you feeling instantly soothed.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Ottawa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Ottawa Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Steam bath
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 0.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 0.5 mi
  • Currency Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 0.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 0.9 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 1 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 1.2 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 1.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 2.1 mi
  • Dows Lake: 2.5 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 2.5 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 0.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 0.5 mi
  • Currency Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 0.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 0.9 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 1 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 1.2 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 1.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 2.1 mi
  • Dows Lake: 2.5 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 2.5 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • Carleton University: 3.1 mi
  • Emerald Plaza: 4.8 mi
  • Carlingwood Mall: 5.3 mi
  • Merivale Mall: 5.5 mi
  • Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club: 5.9 mi
  • Bayshore Shopping Centre: 7.7 mi
  • Canadian Tire Centre: 14.4 mi
  • Scotia Bank Place: 14.4 mi
  • Gatineau Park: 18.3 mi
  • Calypso Waterpark: 24.1 mi
  • Papanack Park Zoo: 29.3 mi

Dining

Daly's Restaurant
Start your day on a tasty note at Daly’s Restaurant, where seasonal breakfast items and a weekend brunch are served in view of the scenic Rideau Canal.
The Shore Club
Treat your palate to the flavors of land and sea at The Shore Club. Fresh seafood and succulent Alberta steaks are served up in a vibrant setting reminiscent of an art-deco ocean liner.
Daly's Express
Recharge with a cup of Starbucks® coffee and nourishing SuperFoodsRx™ fare at Daly’s Express. A welcoming café setting invites guests to sit back with today’s paper or enjoy wireless High Speed Internet Access (for a fee) on their personal computer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Ottawa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lahan
Business
Toronto
Mar 28, 2014

Family getaway

I like this hotel Shopping centre attached to the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DisappointedFromLasVegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 17, 2010

Westin Ottawa

When we arrived, neither the phone nor the mini-fridge were working. We were told that the phones were out due to a storm two days before we arrived, and were still out for 2 days after we got there. We were told that to get the mini-fridge to work, we had to put ice or something cold in it.(!) Eventually, we complained enough to get the hotel maintenance engineer to investigate, and he confirmed that the fridge was indeed broken. We finally were moved to a different room, because there were no replacement mini-fridges available. The rooms were incompletely serviced, even after being moved to a preferred guest floor (no replacement glasses, no plastic liner for the ice bucket, beds were not properly made, and pillows were left on the floor.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurant was over-priced and limited, high-end menu. Had to go outside the hotel to find an acceptable place to eat. The lounge was advertised as being open until 1 AM, but what was NOT mentioned was that the kitchen closed at 10 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LIO
Business
Vancouver, BC
Aug 10, 2009

Westin Ottawa

The Hotel is being renovated! It is very noisy and the elevators take a long time to take you to the fitness center. The rooms and service are great! Spacious, new and with contemporary design. No high speed internet unless you pay. I suppose that when the renovations are over the hotel will be one of the best in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to many bars and clubs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caro n Tom
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 11, 2010

Pleasant stay

We were in Ottawa during a rainy, windy and cold weekend. It even snowed one morning, and we are in the middle of May! Anyway, we braved the cold and walked around one day but decided to spend the next 2 days of our trip doing indoor activities. The staff at the Westin were very warm, friendly and professional. They gave us great suggestions for activities to do and restaurants we could visit. We also took advantage of the pool, which was cosy but enjoyable all the same. This was definitely a plus because of the limitations of activities imposed by the weather! As far as the room goes, it had a very comfortable king bed, and an excellent and powerful shower. Room service, the hotel restaurant and the food were also of very good quality. The window sills and appliances (phone and radio) were a little dusty...it was tolerable though. It would also have been nice to have complimentary internet during our trip. All in all, our stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We did not stumble upon many great restaurants. Daly's, the hotel restaurant had great choices and great food and we ate at an Ethiopian restaurant that we really loved and went back to a second time - The East African at 376 Rideau Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geo. L
Business
Durham, NC
Jan 14, 2014

just what you would expect

The Ottawa Westin is exactly what you would expect from Westin --- excellent location, nice large room with a comfortable bed, and a friendly staff. The proximity to the convention center, canal and mall, and Parliament make this a hard hotel to beat. I thought the price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
Aug 31, 2009

Really good deal,

It was a special occasion and we informed the staff of this and they made it even more special. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I understand there was construction on the 5th and 6th floor but I never heard anything. Our room was beautiful and very tastefully decorated. The bed was the finest ever,I left very rested. Very nice compared to other hotels and very affordable. Super location! Would go back in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A hugh mall is attached to the hotel, and Byward Market is just 2 blocks away., everything is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western New York
Sep 1, 2009

Westin Ottawa for two

Very enjoyable, the room was newly remodeled and very comfortable. Bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel location is perfect for downtown and Parliament hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Super quick food at Castle Schwarma!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Oct 13, 2009

Excellent conference experience

First time in Canada - the staff at the Westin were very professional and helpful - made my first stay in Canada very enjoyable. Also had a bite to eat in the Lounge. Excellent service and food there. I was there for a conference - everything was well organized, the food was delicious, very nice rooms for the sessions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Marche By

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret Skater
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 7, 2011

Great place to stay

I went to Ottawa to skate the Rideau Canal and to participate in Winterlude. The hotel is directly across the street from the canal and near restaurants and shops in the Byward Market area. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was really helpful and welcoming. At this type of hotel, I don't expect to pay for wireless, though. There was also a convention there, so the elevators were overtaxed and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Byward Market has lots of shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canuck in the US
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 21, 2009

Westin Ottawa

I arrived late from New York. After the sleepless night before in my noisy Manhattan hotel room, the Westin was an oasis. The room was immaculate, the view spectacular and best of off, no noise from adjoining rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the 3rd floor of the Westin and follow the signs to the Rideau Centre shopping mall. It's a large mall with all the expected brands plus coffee shops and a food court.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top