$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Westin Ottawa

4 stars
View map of 11 Colonel By Drive, 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Ottawa

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
5
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ithaca, NY
Aug 31, 2009

Really good deal,

It was a special occasion and we informed the staff of this and they made it even more special. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I understand there was construction on the 5th and 6th floor but I never heard anything. Our room was beautiful and very tastefully decorated. The bed was the finest ever,I left very rested. Very nice compared to other hotels and very affordable. Super location! Would go back in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A hugh mall is attached to the hotel, and Byward Market is just 2 blocks away., everything is within walking distance.

Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LIO
Business
Vancouver, BC
Aug 10, 2009

Westin Ottawa

The Hotel is being renovated! It is very noisy and the elevators take a long time to take you to the fitness center. The rooms and service are great! Spacious, new and with contemporary design. No high speed internet unless you pay. I suppose that when the renovations are over the hotel will be one of the best in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to many bars and clubs!

Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canuck in the US
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 21, 2009

Westin Ottawa

I arrived late from New York. After the sleepless night before in my noisy Manhattan hotel room, the Westin was an oasis. The room was immaculate, the view spectacular and best of off, no noise from adjoining rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the 3rd floor of the Westin and follow the signs to the Rideau Centre shopping mall. It's a large mall with all the expected brands plus coffee shops and a food court.

Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
saavy traveler-MOM
Family
New York City, NY
Apr 27, 2009

Fantastic Hotel, Great Location!

The Westin is perfectly located. Close to the Byward Market and Parliament and museums. You can even see the changing of the Guard from your window if you're facing the canal. Great for families because you're attached to the Rideau Center with plenty of shopping and eating choices. There are movie theaters in the Rideau Center as well. Very quiet hotel despite its downtown location. We have gone back several times now and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Ottawa when we go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating in a hotel can be costly. What's great about the Westin is that it is attached to the Rideau Center where there is a food court for quick meals and coffee stores which supply great muffins, bagels, breads, juice, etc. for breakfast. In addition, there is a small pharmacy and supermarket a short walk from the hotel.

Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Nov 25, 2008

Ideally located

We could have few complaints about this excellent facility apart from the over-priced breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Oct 10, 2008

Amazing Breakfast Buffet

My stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. The pool area was nice and it is attached to the rideau centre shopping mall so it was nice to go shopping through the exclusive hotel entrance, without ever having to step outside. The room was comfortbale, some maintenance reparis were needed (the plug in the bathtub was disconnected), the room itself was nice though. The best part of my experience was the food. The breakfast buffet was phenominal! They had everything you can imagine from smoothies to salmon. Ofcourse the basic breakfast components were present aswell such as bacon and potatoes. I would go back for sure. Only complant was the breakfast was 22$ per person. A little steep for a morning meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall attached to hotel, there is a mall entrance on third floor.

Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jun 9, 2008

Great location, helpful staff

This hotel is centrally located-- everything is within walking distance. By Ward market is a few steps away and the Rideau Centre shopping mall is connected to the hotel so very convenient. We went there during the heat wave and when it was hot and humid outside, we stayed indoors at the Rideau Centre and later in the evening, walked to By Ward market. We didn't get to try any of the hotel's restaurants because there were so many others to choose from nearby. Also, when we arrived, the lady at the front desk informed us that the restaurant was closed until 5pm. We found out it was open but didn't matter since the mall was still open and there were more dining options there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Go to the 3rd floor lobby, make a right when you get out of the elevator all the way out to the mall entrance.

Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Washington, DC
Sep 4, 2007

Very comfortable and convenient

The Westin Ottawa was very confortable. The beds were great, spacious and clean. Much like the room itself. They charged a premium for everything which is to be expected (e.g. for in hotel internet access and food). However, it was very conveniently located in downtown Ottawa. You can get everything you want at a reasonable price if you don't mind walking. There's not much walking to do in fact. Everything is very close by. The Rideau Centre mall can be accessed from the third floor of the hotel. There's a 24 hour grocery store a few blocks from the hotel. Restaurants of all varities are all within walking distance. Also, the highways are very close by. Parking is also right next to the hotel. It's slightly dingy as it's not operated by the hotel. However, reasonably priced which was a great relief. All in all, a great experience in a comfortable, clean hotel with very good and friendly customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

24 hour grocery store (Loew's?) close by. Unless you're lazy, don't waste money on the mini bar! reasonable restaurants in the Rideau Centre (bottom floor) and outside on Rideau St. (Indian, Thai, American etc.)

Back to menu Return to top