$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

The Westin Ottawa

4 stars
11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
28 reviews
ANNIVERSARY STAY

We had a great stay in Ottawa, Not a thing to complain about. My only comment would be the sliding... See full review

  • Kelleymarg
  • Aug 31, 2014
No worries ,comfortable,quiet.

The moment we stopped in, we were treated very well. Staff where polite and helpful. The place was... See full review

  • Mr Pontiac
  • Jun 24, 2014
Experience the essence of renewal and tranquility in the nation?s capital. Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is the destination for business and leisure guests alike. Complementing the Westin?s ambience are its indoor walkways to both the Rideau Centre Shopping Mall and Ottawa Congress Centre. The ideal location of The Westin Ottawa provides guests an opportunity for exploration of the many historical and cultural elements of the city. Westin becomes a haven for the body, mind and soul when guests enjoy the luxury of the WestinWORKOUT? Gym, a state-of-the-art fitness facility boasting a spectacular view of the capital via floor-to-ceiling windows. The heated, indoor salt water pool provides a healthier alternative, unique amongst the city?s hotels. In partnership with Executive Fitness Leaders, Ottawa?s premiere fitness experts, The Westin Ottawa responds to guests? needs in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Renewal also awaits in Daly?s restaurant. Relax over delicious selections prepared by The Westin Ottawa?s culinary professionals, or enjoy refreshing cocktails and enticing snacks in Landmarks Lounge. The Westin Ottawa?s 495 spacious guest rooms and suites provide guests with an elevated sense of comfort and tranquility. The Westin?s renowned Heavenly Bed? provides the ultimate vantage point for spectacular views of the Rideau Canal and Byward Market from floor-to-ceiling guest room windows.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Ottawa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Ottawa Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 0.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 0.5 mi
  • Currency Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 0.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 0.9 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 1 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 1.2 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 1.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 2.1 mi
  • Dows Lake: 2.5 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 2.5 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 0.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 0.5 mi
  • Currency Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 0.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 0.9 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 1 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 1.2 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 1.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 2.1 mi
  • Dows Lake: 2.5 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 2.5 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • Carleton University: 3.1 mi
  • Emerald Plaza: 4.8 mi
  • Carlingwood Mall: 5.3 mi
  • Merivale Mall: 5.5 mi
  • Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club: 5.9 mi
  • Bayshore Shopping Centre: 7.7 mi
  • Canadian Tire Centre: 14.4 mi
  • Scotia Bank Place: 14.4 mi
  • Gatineau Park: 18.3 mi
  • Calypso Waterpark: 24.1 mi
  • Papanack Park Zoo: 29.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Ottawa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rome NY
May 17, 2010

Great location - great hotel!

The hotel is right next to the beautiful Rideau Canal that you can take a boat ride on. We were able to get on a sightseeing bus just across the street from the hotel. We could walk to shops, restaurants, parks and Parliament bldgs, all very close to the hotel. You do not even have to go outside to go shopping - a mall is attached! The room was beautiful! The wallpaper and glass tile in the bathroom was just beautiful. The soap even matched the decor. The bedding pattern matched the bathroom wallpaper. Well done decor!! Most comfortable and homey!! We would definitely stay there again. Employees were very helpful and attentive to your every need. Everything was spotlessly clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is just a short walk from this hotel. It is in the heart of shopping,dining, sightseeing, bike rental, historical buildings, parks, etc. Just park your car and enjoy!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caro n Tom
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 11, 2010

Pleasant stay

We were in Ottawa during a rainy, windy and cold weekend. It even snowed one morning, and we are in the middle of May! Anyway, we braved the cold and walked around one day but decided to spend the next 2 days of our trip doing indoor activities. The staff at the Westin were very warm, friendly and professional. They gave us great suggestions for activities to do and restaurants we could visit. We also took advantage of the pool, which was cosy but enjoyable all the same. This was definitely a plus because of the limitations of activities imposed by the weather! As far as the room goes, it had a very comfortable king bed, and an excellent and powerful shower. Room service, the hotel restaurant and the food were also of very good quality. The window sills and appliances (phone and radio) were a little dusty...it was tolerable though. It would also have been nice to have complimentary internet during our trip. All in all, our stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We did not stumble upon many great restaurants. Daly's, the hotel restaurant had great choices and great food and we ate at an Ethiopian restaurant that we really loved and went back to a second time - The East African at 376 Rideau Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newburyport, Ma.
Nov 22, 2009

Your description above is generic.

We were there for a wedding and spent much of our time with the wedding party. Having wifi included for the computers would be an asset. Charge of almost $13.00 seems out of date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Oct 13, 2009

Excellent conference experience

First time in Canada - the staff at the Westin were very professional and helpful - made my first stay in Canada very enjoyable. Also had a bite to eat in the Lounge. Excellent service and food there. I was there for a conference - everything was well organized, the food was delicious, very nice rooms for the sessions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Marche By

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Really Great Stay

I was in Ottawa for a conference and this hotel was fantastic. The proximity to sites of interest (museums, Parliament) made it possible to take a 30-minute walk and see some sites without missing conference sessions. The hotel was among the most comfortable I have experienced while at conferences and I would look forward to staying at the Westin again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW HAMPSHIRE
Sep 29, 2009

COUPLE

GREAT VIEW OF THE PARLIAMENT FOR A FEW MORE DOLLARS. CONNECTED TO FASHIONABLE MALL WITHOUT GOING OUTSIDE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rodfire
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 19, 2009

The Westin Ottawa

To be fair and precise regarding my overall experience in The Westin I can just complain about having internet access not for free. The location cannot be improved, appearance, artwork, the overall environment (being quiet, clean, pleasant, and orgnized), the swiming pool and fitness center, all of that was great. I just disagree with the concept of having to pay for internet a 15US fee for 15min, is like having to pay for water. I have been in, let's put it this way, cheaper hotels worlwide including, most of them, computers and free internet conections for guest. Again, the overall experience with the hotel, staff, and location cannot be improved, but I feel uncomfortable having to pay for internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ridieu center is just a few steps off the hotel, as well as libraries, the canadian congress, and the streets where the nightlife and restarants concentrate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swain
Business
Randolph, NJ, USA
Sep 7, 2009

Excellent hotel but no free internet.

The hotel is in the center of the Ottawa downtown. All the monuments are walkable. The bus stoppage is next to this hotel. The biggest shopping mall in the downtown is connected to this hotel. The mall has a multiplex cinema hall. This is a wonderful experience. The things I missed is the free internet connection and complementary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The biggest shopping mall in the downtown is connected to this hotel. The mall has a multiplex cinema hall. This is a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western New York
Sep 1, 2009

Westin Ottawa for two

Very enjoyable, the room was newly remodeled and very comfortable. Bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel location is perfect for downtown and Parliament hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Super quick food at Castle Schwarma!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
Aug 31, 2009

Really good deal,

It was a special occasion and we informed the staff of this and they made it even more special. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I understand there was construction on the 5th and 6th floor but I never heard anything. Our room was beautiful and very tastefully decorated. The bed was the finest ever,I left very rested. Very nice compared to other hotels and very affordable. Super location! Would go back in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A hugh mall is attached to the hotel, and Byward Market is just 2 blocks away., everything is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top