$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Westin Ottawa

4 stars
11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
28 reviews
ANNIVERSARY STAY

We had a great stay in Ottawa, Not a thing to complain about. My only comment would be the sliding... See full review

  • Kelleymarg
  • Aug 31, 2014
No worries ,comfortable,quiet.

The moment we stopped in, we were treated very well. Staff where polite and helpful. The place was... See full review

  • Mr Pontiac
  • Jun 24, 2014
Experience the essence of renewal and tranquility in the nation?s capital. Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is the destination for business and leisure guests alike. Complementing the Westin?s ambience are its indoor walkways to both the Rideau Centre Shopping Mall and Ottawa Congress Centre. The ideal location of The Westin Ottawa provides guests an opportunity for exploration of the many historical and cultural elements of the city. Westin becomes a haven for the body, mind and soul when guests enjoy the luxury of the WestinWORKOUT? Gym, a state-of-the-art fitness facility boasting a spectacular view of the capital via floor-to-ceiling windows. The heated, indoor salt water pool provides a healthier alternative, unique amongst the city?s hotels. In partnership with Executive Fitness Leaders, Ottawa?s premiere fitness experts, The Westin Ottawa responds to guests? needs in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Renewal also awaits in Daly?s restaurant. Relax over delicious selections prepared by The Westin Ottawa?s culinary professionals, or enjoy refreshing cocktails and enticing snacks in Landmarks Lounge. The Westin Ottawa?s 495 spacious guest rooms and suites provide guests with an elevated sense of comfort and tranquility. The Westin?s renowned Heavenly Bed? provides the ultimate vantage point for spectacular views of the Rideau Canal and Byward Market from floor-to-ceiling guest room windows.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Ottawa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Ottawa Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 0.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 0.5 mi
  • Currency Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 0.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 0.9 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 1 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 1.2 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 1.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 2.1 mi
  • Dows Lake: 2.5 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 2.5 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 0.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 0.5 mi
  • Currency Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 0.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 0.9 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 1 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 1.2 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 1.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 2.1 mi
  • Dows Lake: 2.5 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 2.5 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • Carleton University: 3.1 mi
  • Emerald Plaza: 4.8 mi
  • Carlingwood Mall: 5.3 mi
  • Merivale Mall: 5.5 mi
  • Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club: 5.9 mi
  • Bayshore Shopping Centre: 7.7 mi
  • Canadian Tire Centre: 14.4 mi
  • Scotia Bank Place: 14.4 mi
  • Gatineau Park: 18.3 mi
  • Calypso Waterpark: 24.1 mi
  • Papanack Park Zoo: 29.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Ottawa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim8
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Great for business

This hotel is friendly, comfortable and easy to get to. It's a nice place to attend a conference, with the conference center attached directly to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a connection from the hotel to the large shopping area!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelleymarg
Business
Ellisburg, NY
Aug 31, 2014

ANNIVERSARY STAY

We had a great stay in Ottawa, Not a thing to complain about. My only comment would be the sliding door on room 2017 bathroom does not give you privacy needed,sometimes it drifts open, no way to lock it while in use. Small issue but it should be addressed The Ottawa Westin is Pet Friendly also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SUGGESTIONS IN THE BYWARD MAKET AREA FOR LUNCH OR DINNER,COASTERS,FISHMARKET,POOR HOUSE OR ANY IRISH /SCOTISH PUBS IN THE MARKET,YOU CANNOT GO WRONG

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Pontiac
Business
Montrel
Jun 24, 2014

No worries ,comfortable,quiet.

The moment we stopped in, we were treated very well. Staff where polite and helpful. The place was clean . I will return to this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lahan
Business
Toronto
Mar 28, 2014

Family getaway

I like this hotel Shopping centre attached to the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geo. L
Business
Durham, NC
Jan 14, 2014

just what you would expect

The Ottawa Westin is exactly what you would expect from Westin --- excellent location, nice large room with a comfortable bed, and a friendly staff. The proximity to the convention center, canal and mall, and Parliament make this a hard hotel to beat. I thought the price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lourens
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Spotlessly clean & comfortable stay!

We had a most memorable stay at the Westin. It's location was perfect for our needs. It was spotlessly clean, and the amenities met our expectations. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We'll definitely be back on our next trip to Ottawa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Superb food at Play Restaurant with outstanding wines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim8
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Great for business

This hotel is friendly, comfortable and easy to get to. It's a nice place to attend a conference, with the conference center attached directly to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a connection from the hotel to the large shopping area!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Russian Ponytail
Business
Kitchener Ontario
May 23, 2011

Outstanding location and staff

Our stay at the Westin Ottawa was outstanding. We had an upgrade to a Deluxe room upon arrival. There was cucumber water to drink in the lobby. This was wonderful as it turned out to be a hot day. Our room could not have asked for a better view... we overlooked Parliament Hill and the War Memorial. The hotel was very central to everything. The parking was a bit of a nightmare, but they made valet parking available for my husband who has mobility issues. The decor was very inviting everywhere! The pool has an outdoor sunning deck which was lovely on a warm spring day! But most of all the staff were outstanding. They constantly asked if everything was fine. Do you need anything. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Ottawa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Works when in Ottawa. They offer 8oz burgers with MANY different toppings. They are absolutely OUTSTANDING and a fun atmosphere. There are six restaurants in Ottawa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret Skater
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 7, 2011

Great place to stay

I went to Ottawa to skate the Rideau Canal and to participate in Winterlude. The hotel is directly across the street from the canal and near restaurants and shops in the Byward Market area. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was really helpful and welcoming. At this type of hotel, I don't expect to pay for wireless, though. There was also a convention there, so the elevators were overtaxed and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Byward Market has lots of shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clayton ny
Dec 10, 2010

Excellent experience!

We had a great breakfast and then went shopping without going outside in 10 degree weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DisappointedFromLasVegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 17, 2010

Westin Ottawa

When we arrived, neither the phone nor the mini-fridge were working. We were told that the phones were out due to a storm two days before we arrived, and were still out for 2 days after we got there. We were told that to get the mini-fridge to work, we had to put ice or something cold in it.(!) Eventually, we complained enough to get the hotel maintenance engineer to investigate, and he confirmed that the fridge was indeed broken. We finally were moved to a different room, because there were no replacement mini-fridges available. The rooms were incompletely serviced, even after being moved to a preferred guest floor (no replacement glasses, no plastic liner for the ice bucket, beds were not properly made, and pillows were left on the floor.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurant was over-priced and limited, high-end menu. Had to go outside the hotel to find an acceptable place to eat. The lounge was advertised as being open until 1 AM, but what was NOT mentioned was that the kitchen closed at 10 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top