$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Chimo Hotel Ottawa

3 stars
1199 Joseph Cyr Street, --, Ottawa, ON K1J7T4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
34 reviews
Nice Hotel with great location, Comfortable Bed & Good Breakfast

Chimo Hotel was a good find for me as I had some discount with travel site which reduced the rate... See full review

  • Sayan Banerjee
  • Jul 20, 2014
great for business.

It was very convenient location and great to have continental breakfast included. nice surprise. See full review

  • tamjammac
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Chimo Hotel Ottawa offering guests a variety of guest rooms, the Ottawa hotel provides a wide selection of accommodations for business and leisure travelers alike. Families will love the convenience of being close to the new Calypso Water Park, the largest in Canada!

Hotel Map

45.4225 -75.6349
Area served
Great Ottawa area
Nearby airports
(YOW), 10.00, KM; (YND), 25.00, KM; (YUL), 175.00, KM;
Area description
Located off St. Laurent Boulevard at the Queensway Highway 417 at Exit 115, is just minutes from downtown Ottawa, Parliament Hill and the Casino du Lac Leamy. The St. Laurent Shopping Centre is conveniently located across from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chimo Hotel Ottawa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Chimo Hotel Ottawa Rooms

STANDARD - QUEEN
Standard room with one queen bed and one sofa bed. Free WiFi, complimentary parking and local calls.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ottawa Train Station: 0.8 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 2.2 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 2.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 2.7 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 2.7 mi
  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 2.8 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Currency Museum: 3.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 3.2 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 3.7 mi
  • Dows Lake: 3.9 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 4.1 mi
  • Carleton University: 4.3 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 0.8 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 2.2 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 2.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 2.7 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 2.7 mi
  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 2.8 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Currency Museum: 3.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 3.2 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 3.7 mi
  • Dows Lake: 3.9 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 4.1 mi
  • Carleton University: 4.3 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 5 mi
  • Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club: 6.1 mi
  • Emerald Plaza: 6.3 mi
  • Merivale Mall: 6.8 mi
  • Carlingwood Mall: 7.5 mi
  • Bayshore Shopping Centre: 9.9 mi
  • Canadian Tire Centre: 16.6 mi
  • Scotia Bank Place: 16.6 mi
  • Gatineau Park: 20.8 mi
  • Calypso Waterpark: 21.4 mi
  • Papanack Park Zoo: 26.7 mi

Dining

Quincy's Restaurant
Start your day off right! Fuel up for your day of Ottawa sightseeing or important business meeting in Ottawa with a hearty breakfast from Quincys Restaurant Ottawa. In a casual market-style atmosphere, Quincys offers guests an abundance of menu selections from tasty pastries to traditional hot breakfast fare.

Hours:
Open: Quincy opens for breakfast from 6:30 am to 10:30 am Monday to Saturday and 7:00 am to 11:30 am on Sunday.
Clancy's Pub and Eatery
Clancy's warm inviting atmosphere welcomes guests daily. The full menu offerings include appetizers, pub fare and light snacks. Clancy's Pub and Eatery is opened for dinner from 4:30pm 7 days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 34
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sayan Banerjee
Toronto, ON
Jul 20, 2014

Nice Hotel with great location, Comfortable Bed & Good Breakfast

Chimo Hotel was a good find for me as I had some discount with travel site which reduced the rate below $80 for 4 people 1 night. Room is spacious with comfortable bed and everything was pretty good. Breakfast was better than I expected. Requested a crib, which was also ready in the room. However bathroom was old and carpet looked very old and not so clean, if you plan to go there, have some sandals - do not walk on bare feet. Overall liked it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tourist from Newcastle
Newcastle, ont
Jul 13, 2014

Average

We stayed for one night in July. I believe the photo's of the rooms are misleading , we booked a standard queen room with a sofa bed, the pictures show the sofa bed in a separate sitting room, that's what I thought we were getting, I even called the hotel to confirm. When we arrived, the room we received had the sofa bed beside the queen. I inquired about the rooms with sofa bed in separate sitting area, I was informed they are $50 extra per night. We asked for a blanket for the sofa bed for our daughter, front desk advised they do not have blankets!! What hotel does not have blankets? On the plus side, shopping mall is across the street. The Byward market is a 10 min drive. The hi-way 417 is under construction which is right by the hotel, there were long delays as we were stuck in traffic when ever we tried to get back to the hotel from the city. It took 20 min to travel 3k. I recommend you stay off the 417.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busymom199999
Waterloo, ON
Nov 3, 2013

Good value - but go elsewhere for breakfast

The hotel itself was very nice and suited our purpose, which was to visit Carleton University for a tour with our son. The room was spacious and clean. Staff were friendly and the pool was lovely. Our request for additional coffee for the in-room coffee pot was met quickly. Our only complaint was the breakfast in the hotel restaurant - it was overpriced, the pancakes were rock-hard and the fruit was spoiled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe Quebec
Quebec
Sep 17, 2013

Average

Convenient ride to the city. Friendly Staff. Room need some cleanness. Bathroom door can't be closed. Night shift manager was rude. Nice welcoming music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, go across the street to Tim hortons.

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenny Jen Jen
Edmonton,AB
Apr 10, 2013

It was fine

The room was fine-it looked a little worn but it did the trick. We were there when there was a hockey tournament in town and found the hotel to be really loud-kids were running up and down the hall till midnight:( That wasn't really the hotels fault but they possibly could have intervened and made sure the noise wasn't bothering other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jhlugo
Santo Domingo
Apr 6, 2013

good service good price

As offered. Includes free wifi and parking. Its 4 mi from downtown. Carpet and paper wall need to be renew son it can be more confortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Triathlon Trixie
Hamilton, Ontario
Aug 6, 2012

Smoke Free?

We were in Ottawa for my daughter's triathlon and stayed one night in the Chimo Hotel. The first room they assigned us smelled strongly enough of cigarette smoke that we asked to be reassigned. The second one was no better. The third was OK, but far from fresh smelling. The desk staff was very accommodating about it, but a man I'm assuming was the manager was less so. He assured us that he had checked the first room and found that the smell was coming from the closet. Not so. The whole room stank, as did the second. Then in what felt like an act of punishment, he confiscated my daughters racing bike and made us put it in "storage" as it was a fire hazard. There were many triathletes staying at the hotel with their bikes, butmy daughter's was the only one in "storage". We won't be staying at the Chimo again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a decent shopping mall right across the street. Thank goodness - we needed to buy Febreeze!

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gingb
montreal
Jul 27, 2012

great place!

Great, very good location, not far from downtown and lot's of restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
one guy
Toronto, ON, Canada
Sep 26, 2011

2 nights family

The hotel was very conveniently located, just off the 417 hwy which was excellent for travelling with the car. Another big bonus is that they do not charge parking fees. The rooms are clean and what you would expect from a 3 stars hotel. The queen beds are large enough. The staff was friendly. The morning buffet was also good, and for 12$ it does not get better. I did not have the time to check the pool or gym, but from the outside the pool looked ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search