$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Chimo Hotel Ottawa

3 stars
1199 Joseph Cyr Street, --, Ottawa, ON K1J7T4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
41 reviews
Very nice

Good price Good breakfast Would certainly stay again!!! See full review

  • Jenntru
  • Nov 26, 2014
Not bad

Good for the price. No problems, Good breakfast buffet. Slow Wifi. See full review

  • Jubbly
  • Nov 22, 2014
The Chimo Hotel Ottawa offering guests a variety of guest rooms, the Ottawa hotel provides a wide selection of accommodations for business and leisure travelers alike. Families will love the convenience of being close to the new Calypso Water Park, the largest in Canada!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chimo Hotel Ottawa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Chimo Hotel Ottawa Rooms

STANDARD - QUEEN
Standard room with one queen bed and one sofa bed. Free WiFi, complimentary parking and local calls.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ottawa Train Station: 0.8 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 2.2 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 2.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 2.7 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 2.7 mi
  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 2.8 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Currency Museum: 3.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 3.2 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 3.7 mi
  • Dows Lake: 3.9 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 4.1 mi
  • Carleton University: 4.3 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 0.8 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 2.2 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 2.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 2.7 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 2.7 mi
  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 2.8 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Currency Museum: 3.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 3.2 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 3.7 mi
  • Dows Lake: 3.9 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 4.1 mi
  • Carleton University: 4.3 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 5 mi
  • Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club: 6.1 mi
  • Emerald Plaza: 6.3 mi
  • Merivale Mall: 6.8 mi
  • Carlingwood Mall: 7.5 mi
  • Bayshore Shopping Centre: 9.9 mi
  • Canadian Tire Centre: 16.6 mi
  • Scotia Bank Place: 16.6 mi
  • Gatineau Park: 20.8 mi
  • Calypso Waterpark: 21.4 mi
  • Papanack Park Zoo: 26.7 mi

Dining

Quincy's Restaurant
Start your day off right! Fuel up for your day of Ottawa sightseeing or important business meeting in Ottawa with a hearty breakfast from Quincys Restaurant Ottawa. In a casual market-style atmosphere, Quincys offers guests an abundance of menu selections from tasty pastries to traditional hot breakfast fare.

Hours:
Open: Quincy opens for breakfast from 6:30 am to 10:30 am Monday to Saturday and 7:00 am to 11:30 am on Sunday.
Clancy's Pub and Eatery
Clancy's warm inviting atmosphere welcomes guests daily. The full menu offerings include appetizers, pub fare and light snacks. Clancy's Pub and Eatery is opened for dinner from 4:30pm 7 days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Triathlon Trixie
Business
Hamilton, Ontario
Aug 6, 2012

Smoke Free?

We were in Ottawa for my daughter's triathlon and stayed one night in the Chimo Hotel. The first room they assigned us smelled strongly enough of cigarette smoke that we asked to be reassigned. The second one was no better. The third was OK, but far from fresh smelling. The desk staff was very accommodating about it, but a man I'm assuming was the manager was less so. He assured us that he had checked the first room and found that the smell was coming from the closet. Not so. The whole room stank, as did the second. Then in what felt like an act of punishment, he confiscated my daughters racing bike and made us put it in "storage" as it was a fire hazard. There were many triathletes staying at the hotel with their bikes, butmy daughter's was the only one in "storage". We won't be staying at the Chimo again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a decent shopping mall right across the street. Thank goodness - we needed to buy Febreeze!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
german traveller
Business
frankfurt
Sep 14, 2012

room not clean, smelling

overall i would not recomment this hotel. we we´re glad when we left again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miami Miller
Business
Miami, FL USA
Nov 29, 2013

Bait and Switch

This was my 4th week staying at this location. They have been giving me worse and worse rooms each week after starting me out with upgrades and comp breakfast my first 2 weeks. The rooms have been getting worse and worse. This time I was put in a twin bed room with no thermostat to control temperature like previous rooms. Unless you are in the upper floor rooms they seem to become very different. As soon as my prepaid room stays are over I will no longer be staying in this hotel. 2 or 3 more weeks and I am done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nahoola
Business
ON, Canada
Aug 30, 2014

Feedback about Chimo Hotel, Ottawa

when I checked in on August, 25th, 2014 at 6: 45, the receptionist told me there is no any reservation. And I gave her my name and the hotel's confirmation number. But she insisted on "there is no any reservation for you". I started to contact my brother , who made my reservation to double check with him. He confirmed the reservation. At this point, she told me that the computer is down. So I asked her to use another computer. She refused to use another one and told me " You have to be patient" in very bad way. Actually, she kept me standing in front of her for half an hour. My mum was super tired and she wanted to go to another hotel. Once I reached the third party staff on phone, she told me I found you!!!. and she did the check in. When we" me and my mum" stepped into the room, it was not clean enough and the washroom was in a big mess. Moreover, the internet connection was too slow. The only positive point: the breakfast. In deed, I will not recommend this hotel for any of my friends. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Globe Trotter from LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 24, 2012

Not bad

Room was clean and better than expected. It was close enough to mos things in town. We stayed there because some other friends were staying there already and we traveled into town to visit them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EETF1
Business
Las Piedras, PR
Sep 19, 2012

So-so hotel

Hard to find at night when getting there for the first time as the sign only reads "HOTEL" (we were looking for CHIMO HOTEL) Stained carpets everywhere, musty odor, wobbly desk chair, peeled and clogged bathtub. My wife made me buy a Lysol can to deisinfect every surface before touching anything. It was the only hotel with no complimentary breakfast of all 5 that we went on our trip. At least, beds were clean, and parking was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brutez
Business
Ottawa
Sep 28, 2012

Internet access was terrible

The internet service at this hotel was deplorable. Anytime between 7am and 11pm i'd be getting my secure sessions disconnected -- and I was using a wired connection, not wireless. wierless was no better. If you rely on internet don't stay here! It's like they have a 5Mbit pipe for the whole hotel to share...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
northaugusta
Business
ontario
May 29, 2014

stayed while husband in hospital

We liked location very handy to 417 restaurants etc.We always had to ask for towels shampoo, they didn't replenish these items especially washcloths. The restaurant left a bit to be desired. The room was clean and bbeds were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at Lone Star

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
business stay
Business
myrtle beach, sc
Oct 21, 2011

stayed for business

ok hotel, a little far from the airport, will stay closer next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anilasor
Business
Ontario
Aug 22, 2012

wouldn't mind try again

Hotel staffs are good, the building looks a bit old and out dated. Still a decent hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top