$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Chimo Hotel Ottawa

3 stars
1199 Joseph Cyr Street, --, Ottawa, ON K1J7T4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
42 reviews
Nice Hotel with great location, Comfortable Bed & Good Breakfast

Chimo Hotel was a good find for me as I had some discount with travel site which reduced the rate... See full review

  • Sayan Banerjee
  • Jul 20, 2014
great for business.

It was very convenient location and great to have continental breakfast included. nice surprise. See full review

  • tamjammac
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Chimo Hotel Ottawa offering guests a variety of guest rooms, the Ottawa hotel provides a wide selection of accommodations for business and leisure travelers alike. Families will love the convenience of being close to the new Calypso Water Park, the largest in Canada!

Hotel Map

45.4225 -75.6349
Area served
Great Ottawa area
Nearby airports
(YOW), 10.00, KM; (YND), 25.00, KM; (YUL), 175.00, KM;
Area description
Located off St. Laurent Boulevard at the Queensway Highway 417 at Exit 115, is just minutes from downtown Ottawa, Parliament Hill and the Casino du Lac Leamy. The St. Laurent Shopping Centre is conveniently located across from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chimo Hotel Ottawa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Chimo Hotel Ottawa Rooms

STANDARD - QUEEN
Standard room with one queen bed and one sofa bed. Free WiFi, complimentary parking and local calls.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ottawa Train Station: 0.8 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 2.2 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 2.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 2.7 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 2.7 mi
  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 2.8 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Currency Museum: 3.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 3.2 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 3.7 mi
  • Dows Lake: 3.9 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 4.1 mi
  • Carleton University: 4.3 mi
  • Ottawa Train Station: 0.8 mi
  • University of Ottawa: 2.2 mi
  • Saint Paul University: 2.4 mi
  • Rideau Centre: 2.7 mi
  • Lansdowne Park: 2.7 mi
  • ByWard Market Ottawa: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Nature: 2.8 mi
  • Rideau Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Mayfair Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Currency Museum: 3.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Canada: 3.2 mi
  • Canadian Museum of Civilization: 3.7 mi
  • Dows Lake: 3.9 mi
  • Ottawa Bluesfest: 4.1 mi
  • Carleton University: 4.3 mi
  • Casino Lac-Leamy: 5 mi
  • Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club: 6.1 mi
  • Emerald Plaza: 6.3 mi
  • Merivale Mall: 6.8 mi
  • Carlingwood Mall: 7.5 mi
  • Bayshore Shopping Centre: 9.9 mi
  • Canadian Tire Centre: 16.6 mi
  • Scotia Bank Place: 16.6 mi
  • Gatineau Park: 20.8 mi
  • Calypso Waterpark: 21.4 mi
  • Papanack Park Zoo: 26.7 mi

Dining

Quincy's Restaurant
Start your day off right! Fuel up for your day of Ottawa sightseeing or important business meeting in Ottawa with a hearty breakfast from Quincys Restaurant Ottawa. In a casual market-style atmosphere, Quincys offers guests an abundance of menu selections from tasty pastries to traditional hot breakfast fare.

Hours:
Open: Quincy opens for breakfast from 6:30 am to 10:30 am Monday to Saturday and 7:00 am to 11:30 am on Sunday.
Clancy's Pub and Eatery
Clancy's warm inviting atmosphere welcomes guests daily. The full menu offerings include appetizers, pub fare and light snacks. Clancy's Pub and Eatery is opened for dinner from 4:30pm 7 days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cool dude2
Business
British Columbia
Sep 17, 2012

Cheap and cheerful

You get what you pay for. The room rate was very reasonable - but the hotel looks a bit "tired" and in need of a some TLC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retreat traveller
Toronto, ON
Sep 17, 2012

I would stay here again

I'm finicky when it comes to hotels and I found this hotel satisfactory. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating and the room was a good value. Clean, good size and cheap considering or prices that I was seeing. The only thing I didn't like was that I found the bed too soft, but I otherwise I was good. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KWLT
Business
tonoto
Sep 16, 2012

business

we been staying at the Chimo for the last couple of trips. It's fine and the price is right. Enjoyed our stay and will lookforward to return again. Thank you for the helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
german traveller
frankfurt
Sep 14, 2012

room not clean, smelling

overall i would not recomment this hotel. we we´re glad when we left again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sonejka
Toronto, ON
Sep 3, 2012

1 night stay in Chimo

Hotel is ok for the price paid. Rooms are somewhat old, but clean, staff is friendly. Located close to downtown, if you drive, and next to the highway. I saw a bus stop nearby, so I guess it's easy to get to the center by public transportation as well. Cabs are pricy ~$20 to get to downtown, even though it's close. Hotel offers all you can eat breakfast buffet for extra $12, quality of food is good and it's cheaper than in diner. Free parking and Internet are also convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massoud
Quebec
Aug 25, 2012

A good Hotel

Stayed one night. Friendly staff. Breakfast is not included. Quiet. Near to highway. 15 minutes to downtown. Big room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anilasor
Ontario
Aug 22, 2012

wouldn't mind try again

Hotel staffs are good, the building looks a bit old and out dated. Still a decent hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Triathlon Trixie
Hamilton, Ontario
Aug 6, 2012

Smoke Free?

We were in Ottawa for my daughter's triathlon and stayed one night in the Chimo Hotel. The first room they assigned us smelled strongly enough of cigarette smoke that we asked to be reassigned. The second one was no better. The third was OK, but far from fresh smelling. The desk staff was very accommodating about it, but a man I'm assuming was the manager was less so. He assured us that he had checked the first room and found that the smell was coming from the closet. Not so. The whole room stank, as did the second. Then in what felt like an act of punishment, he confiscated my daughters racing bike and made us put it in "storage" as it was a fire hazard. There were many triathletes staying at the hotel with their bikes, butmy daughter's was the only one in "storage". We won't be staying at the Chimo again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a decent shopping mall right across the street. Thank goodness - we needed to buy Febreeze!

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tradergal
sf
Aug 3, 2012

Ottowa suite

Nice and spacious--quick trip to town --could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mommas girl
McDougall, Ontario
Aug 1, 2012

overnight stay

Have stayed a few times, only concern was a few times fire alarm disturbed night.Good location,staff friendly,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search