Chimo Hotel Ottawa

3 stars
View map of 1199 Joseph Cyr Street, --, Ottawa, ON K1J7T4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tourist from Newcastle
Business
Newcastle, ont
Jul 13, 2014

Average

We stayed for one night in July. I believe the photo's of the rooms are misleading , we booked a standard queen room with a sofa bed, the pictures show the sofa bed in a separate sitting room, that's what I thought we were getting, I even called the hotel to confirm. When we arrived, the room we received had the sofa bed beside the queen. I inquired about the rooms with sofa bed in separate sitting area, I was informed they are $50 extra per night. We asked for a blanket for the sofa bed for our daughter, front desk advised they do not have blankets!! What hotel does not have blankets? On the plus side, shopping mall is across the street. The Byward market is a 10 min drive. The hi-way 417 is under construction which is right by the hotel, there were long delays as we were stuck in traffic when ever we tried to get back to the hotel from the city. It took 20 min to travel 3k. I recommend you stay off the 417.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian Agent
Business
Las Vegas Nevada
Jul 3, 2014

Excelent value, clean, great price and amenities

Basic but great value. VERY well kept. Clean in extreme. All in good shape and functional. 7 minutes to downtown. Offers free breakfast. Front desk agent needs a salary increase and vacations URGENTLY as she is very unhappy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
northaugusta
Business
ontario
May 29, 2014

stayed while husband in hospital

We liked location very handy to 417 restaurants etc.We always had to ask for towels shampoo, they didn't replenish these items especially washcloths. The restaurant left a bit to be desired. The room was clean and bbeds were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at Lone Star

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Limey 63
Business
Colombo, Sri Lanka
May 4, 2014

Easy access to most places

While the hotel is not near downtown, it is very close to the highway. St. Laurent shopping mall is across the street. The place is ok nothing to write home about. It is clean. Breakfast is scrambled eggs, toast, coffee, cereal etc. do not expect a full buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tamjammac
Business
cornwall ontario
Mar 24, 2014

great for business.

It was very convenient location and great to have continental breakfast included. nice surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miami Miller
Business
Miami, FL USA
Nov 29, 2013

Bait and Switch

This was my 4th week staying at this location. They have been giving me worse and worse rooms each week after starting me out with upgrades and comp breakfast my first 2 weeks. The rooms have been getting worse and worse. This time I was put in a twin bed room with no thermostat to control temperature like previous rooms. Unless you are in the upper floor rooms they seem to become very different. As soon as my prepaid room stays are over I will no longer be staying in this hotel. 2 or 3 more weeks and I am done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DesV
Business
Waterloo, Ontario
Nov 18, 2013

Accomodation for business trip

I work in the Ottawa area which requires me to be there almost monthly. Over the last year I have stayed repeatedly at the Chimo and have enjoyed my stays. The hotel is located conveniently close to Hwy 417, staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable. I have only positive things to say about Chimo and I will continue to use it as my hotel of choice whenever I am in the Ottawa area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many cultural restaurants to choose from.

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miami Miller
Business
Miami, FL USA
Nov 10, 2013

Great place for the money...

You get what you pay for. This place is great for the money. The rooms have a outdated décor color but they are big and clean. The breakfast is great and included in the cost. With that and the free parking and WiFi, you cant beat the value. Cheers, D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Dry Cleaners is right around corner to hotel.

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busymom199999
Business
Waterloo, ON
Nov 3, 2013

Good value - but go elsewhere for breakfast

The hotel itself was very nice and suited our purpose, which was to visit Carleton University for a tour with our son. The room was spacious and clean. Staff were friendly and the pool was lovely. Our request for additional coffee for the in-room coffee pot was met quickly. Our only complaint was the breakfast in the hotel restaurant - it was overpriced, the pancakes were rock-hard and the fruit was spoiled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chimo Hotel Ottawa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe Quebec
Business
Quebec
Sep 17, 2013

Average

Convenient ride to the city. Friendly Staff. Room need some cleanness. Bathroom door can't be closed. Night shift manager was rude. Nice welcoming music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, go across the street to Tim hortons.

Back to menu Return to top