$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
587 reviews
great hotel, fabulous view

Friendly staff, nice room, great view. We stayed on the 9th floor. We loved it. See full review

  • funworldtraveler
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great place to stay

The view was amazing both day and night. You can see the Falls lit up at night from your bed. The... See full review

  • 52 and beginning to trave
  • Mar 25, 2014
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
Niagara Falls Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Maid of the Mist - 1 block Skylon Tower - 1/2 block Imax Theatre - 1/2 block Casino Niagara - 0.5 km (0.25 miles) Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km (1 mile)

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (587)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 587
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.1

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robertas
Vilnius, Lithuania
Jun 15, 2014

Wonderful view, needs refurbishment

Booked it for the falls view, which was very good, though we would have preferred to stay on higher floors than 9th. The lobby is being refurbished, and the room was old and needs refurbishment. It smelled (and was full of) dust because of the old conditioner. Pity the windows do not open. Expected a better room, but the views of the falls are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yanni Alex
New York
Nov 2, 2013

A room with a VIEW.

I just got back from a 3 nights stay at Oakes Hotel Overlooking tha Falls. It was an excellent choice. The view was breathtaking. Everything was great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler136
NY
Jun 12, 2013

Good location. Otherwise all average.

Very good location, especially if you book room overlooking the falls. Otherwise all is very average: room decor, set up, etc. Staff is very attentive and trying to do their best. Check in and check out very inefficient and time consuming. Overall - better to book hotels next to it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmptv
Utica, NY
Apr 17, 2013

THE place to stay at Niagara Falls

I always say I don't want to spend my days away from home and work inside a hotel. So, why should I pay for it? At The Oakes, I was walking distance from the Falls, restaurants, casinos and everything I wanted. I went to sleep with the sound of the crushing falls and a view that could have easily cost twice what I paid. BTW, one can take great pictures of Niagara Falls from the room's window on the Falls side of the hotel. Next time I'm in the NF Ontario, I won't even look at other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KritiK
Essex
Sep 20, 2012

Perfect view of Falls

Was up on14th floor with a Fallsview room - perfect view of The Horseshoe Falls and can also see the 'Amercian' Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experinced traveler
Istanbul, Turkey
May 25, 2012

Great place to unwind!

I enjoyed my stay at the Oaks hotel over viewing the Falls especially for the great view, closeness to the train to the falls and all the restaurants nearby. Had a great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Elements at table rock welcome center had great food, great service and a priceless view! I enjoyed it immensely!

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
X.N.
New York
Apr 17, 2012

The view does not get any better than this!

We booked a fall-view room and cannot be happier with the scenic view just outside of the window. The hotel, while small, is perched on the best spot that overlooks both the American and Canadian Niagara Falls. There are a few cons, but the view really makes up for all of the little irksome issues: 1. The bathroom is a little shabby 2. The coffee maker is difficult to operate (leakage everywhere!) 3. The window sill is dusty (if the hotel boasts a fall view, they should know their customers will open the curtain and will see a dusty window)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

When we went, the hotel has a "Gourmet Package" in promotion. Dinner and breakfast for two at 69 dollars (plus tax) is totally worth it. We didn't drive so was unable to benefit from the winery tasting voucher but it is a good deal.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario Canada
Feb 26, 2011

Gastly

I thought all rooms were the same, just different views. I was put in the 'courtyard', though 'dungeon' is a better word. It is not part of the tower. A 'flea bag' hotel is being kind, though I saw no bugs at least. I paid $79 for the room which was $40 too much. The Comfort Inn across the street looked like a palace in comparison. The walls were paper thin, and a neighbours flushing sounded like a freight train. The furniture was very old, the bed uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario Canada
Feb 26, 2011

Gastly

I thought all rooms were the same, just different views. I was put in the 'courtyard', though 'dungeon' is a better word. It is not part of the tower. A 'flea bag' hotel is being kind, though I saw no bugs at least. I paid $79 for the room which was $40 too much. The Comfort Inn across the street looked like a palace in comparison. The walls were paper thin, and a neighbours flushing sounded like a freight train. The furniture was very old, the bed uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Jun 21, 2010

good

great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top