$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
360 reviews
Great place to stay

The view was amazing both day and night. You can see the Falls lit up at night from your bed. The... See full review

  • 52 and beginning to trave
  • Mar 25, 2014
A room with a VIEW.

I just got back from a 3 nights stay at Oakes Hotel Overlooking tha Falls. It was an excellent... See full review

  • Yanni Alex
  • Nov 2, 2013
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
Niagara Falls Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Maid of the Mist - 1 block Skylon Tower - 1/2 block Imax Theatre - 1/2 block Casino Niagara - 0.5 km (0.25 miles) Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km (1 mile)

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (360)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.3 / 5
360 out of 360
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Pasadena, Maryland
Jun 24, 2009

Nice View But That is All

Upon arrival, we suspected a bad time when neither of the keys we were given opened the door to the room. Our suspicion was confirmed when the keys stopped working the second day of our stay. The halls & stairway were dirty. The room was dusty. The water temperature in the shower would not remain constant. It went from extremely hot to cold automatically. Getting from one place to another is like going through a maze without a guide. Parking was very inconvenient and costly. for the price we paid, it was not a good experience. We would not stay in this hotel again. We would not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
MI
Jul 28, 2009

The biggest disappointement

We booked the room based on the star rating of this hotel. On checking in, we were given rooms in a separate 2 stry block which was worse than a cheap dirty motel. When we complained they blamed Oritz. However we could change only one room by paying extra. Orbit people should inspect the hotels before reservations. With visitors from the U.K. it was one of the worst niagra vists for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
Heidi not so happy
Rochester, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Don't stay here!!!

The part of the hotel we stayed in was the Courtyard and it hadn't been fixed up. Everytime someone turned on water either faucet or shower, it sounded like the pipes were going to explode. The sauna was being worked on, and the jacuzzi had about as much force as a bath tablet that I could put in my own tub. Then I get home and a couple of days later find they charged me $15 for a hand towel that they claim I stole. I am almost 40 years old, why would I steal a [*] hotel hand towel? They refused to reverse the charge! I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
Deb Maddox
Maine
Aug 21, 2012

Mrs

We were very disappointed with the view. Since the ad for hotel stated that had best view over seeing the falls guareented. The only view we had the first night was the parking lot. which included the dumpster! If i had not complained we wouldnt have move room on the 2nd night. They did put us on the 8th floor so we did have a some part of a veiw of the falls. The actual picture they advertise with on their sight is actually taken from 14th floor observation window. The plumbing didnt work in the first room until we called the front desk and they sent someone up to fix it. The rooms, hall,walls, hot tub were all very dirty. I have stayed in 2 other hotel since, paid less money and very good if not exceptionally clean. I would never recommend that hotel to anyone nor would I ever stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the renegade restaurant was exceptional. All other places we vistited during our stay was great!!!

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
Tom and Vicki Boyd
MOnrovia, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Vacation

The Hotel was excellent! Clean, convenient, beatiful location and the right price. The only draw back was they wanted to charge for internet connection! Everyone now gives that as part of the service. I would stay here again and not even shop the market. BEAUTIFUL LOCATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
Danny DC
Canada
Mar 30, 2014

Don't bother

A very dated , run down hotel When you book on sites other than their own you get shabby room Not worth it all Stay away stick with chains you trust

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Niagara Falls
Jun 5, 2009

I am very disappointed

I have never stay in the hotel make me feel as bad as this one. Most of their staff are not helpful and not friendly. Not only the way they talk, also the things they said is really rude and look people down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
maltie
florida
Jun 23, 2013

my room was the two story building

that nice building that is for the rich and the car park is I think 16.50 a day all over the had park that was between $5 and $10 but you had to sleep there so you had to pay for the park,the the rug was nasty and there was no door lock with smoke alarm hanging of the ceiling for the price there is no refrigerator or microwave which you could get at and cheap hotel in the US just got it this was in Canada

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
Disssappointed Rannie
detroit, michigan
Jul 8, 2013

A three star hotel with no star room!

The courtyard room was a very ordinary motel room facing the Applebee's parking lot! The hotel was listed as a three star but does not say anything about the tower part being different from the courtyard! The furniture was broken and everything else in the room had a very worn out look. They charge for parking, but not enough space in lot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Toronto. Canada
Mar 18, 2011

Oaks not so great view at all

Hotel was run down and not very clean, hallways did not smell great and roof was leaking on what they call the "courtyard" side.. looked more like an alley. Staff at the front counter was great. Have stayed in much cheaper places with a lot better comforts. Oaks has nothing on super 8 or even motel 6 even they have a fridge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top