$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
425 reviews
Best View of the Falls

This is the absolute truth and the location could not be better. The hotel staff was friendly and... See full review

  • k white
  • Oct 19, 2014
The Best Hotel Stay

The view was fantastic as advertised and staff cordial and professional. We took advantage of the... See full review

  • Warren and Kathy
  • Oct 3, 2014
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
Niagara Falls Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Maid of the Mist - 1 block Skylon Tower - 1/2 block Imax Theatre - 1/2 block Casino Niagara - 0.5 km (0.25 miles) Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km (1 mile)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (425)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 425
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.1

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
optimus prime
Business
new jersey
Sep 21, 2011

great

i loved it! the fall's dinner the attraction's was great. i enjoyed the casino's too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Al k
Business
Bronx, NY
Apr 3, 2013

Very Nice

I enjoyed my stay and I would definately come back. I cannot wait for them to open the stairs up near the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Free Tibet
Business
Vermont
Aug 14, 2013

The perfect Niagara Falls view.

We asked for falls view and end up getting falls and city view. Can't get any better then that. At 10pm we had the perfect fireworks view right from our room. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Falls, dining, shopping and casino if you like gambling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Perejil
Business
Massachusetts, US
Sep 2, 2013

Excellent!

The location is the best. We got a room with full falls view....my 9 year old son loved it. He had his best birthday ever!, he said. A good restaurant would make it perfect....we are not big funs of Apple Bee's (next door restaurant associated).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Apr 21, 2011

canada niagara best hotel

outstanding service very good overall. staff friendly and courteous. thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington,PA
Mar 14, 2011

Great location and room

Quiet was able to relax and enjoy the view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

like good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Mar 16, 2008

Good bank for your buck!!

This being my first time at the Falls, I wanted to stay at a Hotel that offered a great view and value for your money. The Oakes hotel had the best view and at half the prize than what you pay at other BIG NAME hotels, it was the right choice. The room was very comfortable, large, with an amazing view of the falls. Bathroom was very big and clean, with a long counter and huge mirror. Location is excellent, is right in front of the falls and in the middle of all the attractions, everything is within walking distance. I was disappointed with the parking fee, 20 bucks for 2 nights, I thought it was free..wish they had warned me about this. Carpet seems like it's seen better days..definitely it is time to change them. Windows could use some cleaning around the metal frames. Pool was about 10ft x 20ft, with a pool this size it would take only one stroke to get to the other side...this was a big disappointment as I wanted to do some laps. The gym was joke, 1 power stepper, 1 stationary bike and 1 home gym for all the guests. Equipment was outdated and the home gym needed some repairs. I think they should either have a good gym with lots of equipment or not have one at all. Overall, with all its imperfections it's still a good deal. If you don't care about the extra amenities I would definitely recommend this hotel. Once again GREAT VIEW (I stayed on the 17th floor) of the falls, close to everything, friendly, and great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Applebees

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 28, 2008

Great Location

The room was very comfortable and the view was wonderful!!! The hotel is within walking distance to so many things such as food and shopping. It is also just a short drive to Clifton Hill which is great for entertainment. I will definitly stay there again when I visit Niagara Falls!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Applebee's is right next door...TGI Friday's is across the street as well as Outback and Italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Jan 17, 2010

Great place, service and location

I visited this hotel on winter and it was a great place to stay. I would gladly recommend it!!!! I hope to go back on Summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers, Florida
Aug 23, 2009

Unbeatable location for a family visit

We stayed at the hotel with our grandchildren. It proved to be an excellent location for our visit to the Falls. The staff were extremely helpful & the parking facility was superb. No bad points to report!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good selection of restaurants across the street from hotel entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top