$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
455 reviews
yhis place is beautiful very nice scene of the falls

our stay was great everything was so clean ,we did the falls hornblow boat ride and all kinds of... See full review

  • Thomas E.
  • Aug 10, 2015
First trip to Canada.

I had a great view from my hotel! Very comfortable. However, had to pay extra for WIFi which was... See full review

  • Miju
  • Jul 22, 2015

Niagara's boutique style Fallsview hotel, Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls, next door to the Fallsview Casino and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed, and a 14th floor Fallsview observation lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls. The hotel also provides a range of food and drink options to accommodate for guests. Property features a new lobby with pod style check-in, renovated public spaces and rooms, new LED TVs with HD programming in every room and new bedding.

Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a work desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hairdryer, LED TV and Wi-Fi access.
Property features

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a boutique destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are newly renovated, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with two on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara offers steaks and seafood served by Canada's only singing servers! There's also an on-site Applebees Grill & Bar for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remingtons of Niagara restaurant is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.

Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Nearby attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$113
4.3 / 5 234 reviews
★★★★
$102
4.0 / 5 286 reviews
★★★★
$110
4.1 / 5 175 reviews
★★★★
$108
3.9 / 5 56 reviews
★★★★
$113
4.0 / 5 144 reviews
★★★
$68
3.2 / 5 78 reviews
★★★
$54
3.4 / 5 103 reviews

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview Room - 2 Queen Beds
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Fallsview Suite - 1 King Bed
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Traditional Room - 2 Double Beds
A stylish room located in our courtyard section at an amazing value! Enjoy all of the amenities offered at The Oakes Hotel without the Fallsview. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room comes with two double sized beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Falls Side Room - 2 Queen Beds
A newly renovated room with floor to ceiling windows facing towards the Falls. From floors 4 to 7, this room has a view of the Niagara River. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room includes two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Remingtons of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara is Niagara's award winning steak and seafood restaurant. Remingtons provides an elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remingtons is the ONLY restaurant in canada that features talented singing servers. Try the house specialty slow roasted Prime Rib.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 455
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 25, 2009

Location, Location, Location

The view was spectacular and as far as location goes this hotel is perfectly situated above horseshoe falls! In addition the hotel staff provided a total experience that fit my schedule perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Access to the falls via the people elevator is less than a block away.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 28, 2007

friendly

the room was very nice. It overlook the falls. The only problem was it rained and we could not walk around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shadu
Business
Mississauga
May 1, 2013

Average Stay

View was awesome, too many hidden costs such as parking fees, WIFI fee, which were not mentioned in the online . Overall not a bad place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Niagara bus lines

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 13, 2007

weekend visit

Hotel is locally owned and managed with a great location above Canadian Falls. Within 100 yds. major chain hotels have slightly better view of Falls albeit at a much greater cost. Easy walk to best city's best Casino, Starbucks, breakfast spots and Incline Railway that takes you down to Falls. There is no fine dining in the immediate area. Late check-in resulted in my room upgrade to a sizable corner suite featuring a king bed, pullout sofa in the anteroom, oversized Jacuzzi tub with separate shower stall. However no desk, internet or business related amenities. Staff was inattentive at check-in and uninformative when asked some local information they should have known. There is a $20 CDN parking fee (one time)and no valet parking that I saw. No staff was on hand to assist with luggage at my 11PM arrival time. This hotel is a great value if you are looking for clean, functional rooms at a great location and at a very affordable price point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For better dining you may want to consider a drive along the Niagara Parkway to Niagara-on-the-Lake (where the Niagara River empties into Lake Ontario) where a number of excellent restaurants are housed in various Inns. The drive and scenery are wonderful and worth the 30 minutes to get there.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Feb 1, 2010

Niagara Falls

Great location and friendly staff. However, there are extra charges for internet use and parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for viewing the Falls.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William Yang
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 30, 2014

Old reviews are helpful

Before booking the hotel, I've read a lot of the old reviews. I've to say that all the reviews are true. 1. the location is simply the best, right opposite to the horse shoe fall. 2. The room I booked is the full fallsview Jacuzzi suite. Very nice view out of the window. 3. Jacuzzi simply is a bigger tub, no power. Good for soaking in. 4. No refrigerator at all. 5. Carpet looks old, but fine. 6. Pay to park, but there's free parking in the nearby casino with a membership card you get from the casino customer service. 7. Lobby looks like a 2.5 star motel. 8. Staff are nice though. 9. Off season, I would recommend the suite to friends, cos the rate is really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wally G
Business
Cherry Hill New Jersey
Apr 21, 2010

Before Staying Here Please Read

This hotel should seriously consider changing the way they do business at the front desk. The two young ladies that were at the desk during my stay were the most condesending, unprofessional, unscrupulous ladies I have ever met. My collegue and I work with Fortune 500 companies and if asked about where to stay in Niagra Falls...The Oakes Hotel will not be recommended. Point Blank!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Candido Andrew
Business
Detroit, MI
May 27, 2007

My review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

there's no continental breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Mar 6, 2011

AVOID - Overpriced, Under Delivers

I stay in lots of hotels as I travel up to 40% of the year. The Oaks Overlooking the Falls is an independently owned hotel in a prime location. Is very close to being the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in... On arrival you are hit-up an extra $15 for parking (not mentioned in advert and not even undercover). There were scuff marks, scratches, broken fittings along the corridors; at least this distracts from the thread bare carpets, low ceilings, and having to carry bags up-stairs. The room was more than dated - decor looked like it came from my grandmothers house when she upgraded 20 years ago. Advertisement stated rooms were fully renovated 5 years ago - more like had some maintenance about 5 years ago but nothing recent. Bathroom fan sounded like a jack-hammer, you can hear your neighbour using the bathroom (even if they don't flush). Technologically speaking the room was dismal. There was no internet (false advertising), and the picture on the TV was fuzzy. Movies on demand are $16 - no thanks. Don't bother complaining - the people working here have heard it all before and will deal with you in an off hand way. Read the rest of the reviews for this place, some seem to have had a good experience - but with the benefit of hindsight the Oaks Overlooking the Falls has more than its fair share of bad press.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Mar 5, 2011

AVOID - Overpriced, Under Delivers

Looks great from the outside. You are welcomed with $15 fee for parking - this is not mentioned on the marketing page... However the internet access that was mentioned is not available in all rooms. The corridors are like mazes - be prepared to carry your bags up several sets of stairs. The carpet and walls are filthy. When you finally get to your room, don't be surprised if your room number is written on a piece of paper stuck to the door - mine was. This sets the expectation for the picture quality on the TV. Dismal. I have never reviewed a hotel before - but felt compelled to review this. Why? I spend at least 30% of my nights in hotels and this is easily the worst. A very disappointing introduction to Canada :-(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top