$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
437 reviews
Great

It was a great expierence, the view was awesome, friendly staff, close to everything. See full review

  • Rene R.
  • Jan 19, 2015
gr8

nice falls view. close to but do keep in mind if you want to use escaltor service there is charge... See full review

  • nileshkumar p.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview

Niagara's boutique style Fallsview hotel, Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls, next door to the Fallsview Casino and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed, and a 14th floor Fallsview observation lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls. The hotel also provides a range of food and drink options to accommodate for guests. Property features a new lobby with pod style check-in, renovated public spaces and rooms, new LED TVs with HD programming in every room and new bedding.

Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a work desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hairdryer, LED TV and Wi-Fi access.
Features

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a boutique destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are newly renovated, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with two on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara offers steaks and seafood served by Canada's only singing servers! There's also an on-site Applebees Grill & Bar for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remingtons of Niagara restaurant is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.

Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview Room - 2 Queen Beds
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Fallsview Suite - 1 King Bed
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Traditional Room - 2 Double Beds
A stylish room located in our courtyard section at an amazing value! Enjoy all of the amenities offered at The Oakes Hotel without the Fallsview. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room comes with two double sized beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Falls Side Room - 2 Queen Beds
A newly renovated room with floor to ceiling windows facing towards the Falls. From floors 4 to 7, this room has a view of the Niagara River. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room includes two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Remingtons of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara is Niagara's award winning steak and seafood restaurant. Remingtons provides an elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remingtons is the ONLY restaurant in canada that features talented singing servers. Try the house specialty slow roasted Prime Rib.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (437)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
437 out of 437
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snake1823
Business
Olean, New York, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Birthday outing

We were looking for a decent hotel and not trying to spend a ton of money, so we decided on the oaks. When we arrived it was a nice location, on a strip of hotels, restaurants, and the fallsview casino. Applebees located at the front door. Rooms were very nice, besides the bottoms of the walls in the bathroom were a little warped. Stayed on 7th floor, fallside, the view was incredible, could see niagara falls allday and at night after they turned the lights on. Was a little far from Clifton Hill, the street of fun, but was just a short ways away, too cold to walk so had to drive. Overall it was a nice location, hotel, and stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everywhere is a short distance but this hotel was just around the corner from fallsview casino, margaritaville, and the dragon fly nightclub.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PD Daytrippers
Business
Niagara Falls, ON, Canada
Jan 22, 2012

The staff experience, was what made it!

I took advantage of a PD Day, which brought us into the end of the week; great deal for the room. What surprised us the most, is our request for the modest courtyard room, turned into a Fallsview room at no extra cost! The staff were extremely personable. We have stayed at higher end accommodations in the past, and the staff were courteous and professional, but this experience, was warm and friendly. The sauna, had unfortunately been painted; but it must happen at some point. Ample towels, parking was at a cost of $15, though it was brought to our attention, that we can park all day at a couple other locations. Your room key may be required to swipe to gain access to parking. Meals, were to be expected, city prices. We had a great stay, few people..we had exhibits and a ride, all to ourselves! I wish that there were opportunities for families with less than four members. The deals that you can get are great, but we would end up with two extra passes at each destination. Our family downsized, but our budget did not increase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KM56
Business
Saginaw, MI, USA
Feb 18, 2012

great view

We were very pleased with this hotel. We booked the king jacuzzi fallsview suite, and the view of the falls from our room was breathtaking. Definitely worth it! It was relaxing to just sit by the window and watch the falls, especially at night all lit up. The room was huge. Also, the location is great since it is within walking distance to the falls. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We went in February, which is the off season. The room rates were so much cheaper, and the falls were lovely in the winter setting! Just make sure you bundle up. A lot of the tourist-y things weren't open, but if you just want to see the falls it's perfect. Also, it's not a bad idea to bring some of your own food. The food prices are ridiculously expensive in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rsdtigger
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 5, 2012

Great View-Great Prices--blah rooms

If you want a falls view room at a great price then this is for you! However, the rooms are not that great...think Motel 6 with a fallsview!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Paris Crepes Bistro!!! AMAZING Crepes...On Queen Street in Niagara Falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tppp
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 1, 2012

The view makes it worth it

We were up high enough to see both falls perfectly. The room offered very little, but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redsearob
Business
Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Mar 7, 2012

2night getaway

Arrived late afternoon check in was no problem You have to pay for parking and Internet which is a pain really They had a deal with a local restaurant and Applebee's For 69 cad extra we got evening meal and breakfast for 2 with free wifi which was excellent and well worth the money The room was a suite in the 19th floor The view was fantastic of both the horse shoe and the bridal falls from our window Huge room with big jacuzzi bath and stand in shower Separate seating area and 2nd tv

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to see the falls from the American side also the prospect tower is 1 dollar and great views Also goat island gives you easy access to horse shoe falls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMACK
Business
South Hadley, MA, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Great location and great view!

Could not ask for a better location. We had a fallsview room and it was better than we thought it was going to be. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel itself because we wanted to walk around the falls. The beds were a little stiff and uncomfortable which was a bummer. Otherwise it was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

T.G.I. Fridays is right across the street, it literally costs an arm and leg for anything, be careful with any local restaurant, very very pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr yankee
Business
rochester, new york
Apr 1, 2012

Diamond in the Rough

While not flashy in style or in appearance, this hotel is a good value for the dollar. I have stayed there twice now, and while the first time was actually a better experience than the second, I still had a wonderful stay. The staff is always kind and courteous and helpful. The rooms can show some age, but are clean and nicely presented. It isnt flashy as I have stated, so if that is what you are looking for, you may want to go someplace else, but if you are looking for a positive experience while getting exceptional value, book a room here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lscheu
Business
Basel, Switzerland
Apr 11, 2012

Hotel at the Niagara Falls

We received all we asked for. The promised room with view was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brazilian Restaurant Copacabana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jersey devil
Business
New Jersey, USA
Apr 14, 2012

spring vacation

Hotel was nice and cant get any closer to the falls.The only thing that you had to pay to park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top