$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
422 reviews
Best View of the Falls

This is the absolute truth and the location could not be better. The hotel staff was friendly and... See full review

  • k white
  • Oct 19, 2014
The Best Hotel Stay

The view was fantastic as advertised and staff cordial and professional. We took advantage of the... See full review

  • Warren and Kathy
  • Oct 3, 2014
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
Niagara Falls Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Maid of the Mist - 1 block Skylon Tower - 1/2 block Imax Theatre - 1/2 block Casino Niagara - 0.5 km (0.25 miles) Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km (1 mile)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (422)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
422 out of 422
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eddieme
Business
Wilmington, NC, USA
Aug 11, 2012

Real dump with a view

The hotel needs all new bedding and a cleaning staff that can see dust. The view is amazing and one can over look the bedding that should have been burned three years ago. The chairs have holes in them and the tv is ancient. It's a shame because this hotel could commend a lot more money but the owners apparently rather suck what ever money they can. Over all if you have low expectations This is the place for you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seriously1234
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 15, 2012

Tricky

We booked for a courtyard room. When we arrived there is a section of the hotel that is unrenovated. The rates pertained only to that section. The carpet was black, you open the door to an ironing board and it was moldy. We complained and our only option was to upgrade to 30 more a night. The staff said this was a discount from the normal 60 upgrade charge, becaue we were getting engaged and my fiance begged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zigy
Business
Wahnapitae Ontario
Sep 9, 2012

Nice view

The view is what you pay for, (plus $30.00 parking for 2 days) the room was OK but not great. No fridge or microwave, these are standard at most motel/hotel's, for what we paid you would think all the bells and whistles would be included!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GrumpyGma
Business
Atlanta,ga
Sep 13, 2012

Great view

Smelled of cigarettes upon entrance to lobby, room also smelled of cigarettes. Had a drainage problem in tub, which I must say was taken care of immediately! Parking situation not great at $15 a night. Need to take brush and clean around faucet of sink (yuck). For the price you couldn't beat the view, wish we had been up 2 or 3 floors. Also thought I read on line that there was a lounge on one of upper floors, was I dreaming? since we spent little time in the room, I guess it was okay! Also could not get the vending machines to take my money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a keg restaurant 4 blocks away and less expensive then at the embassy suites . Take the over the falls tour great time saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RHW1
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 23, 2013

Not worth the money

Not enough outlets to charge phones and iPads.. Lighting is restricted to plug in lamps which use up the outlets availability. There is a $15 charge to park your car in the lot. Wi Fi is not free. The observation area of the falls is nothing more than a window with a bench in front of it. However the view of the Falls from the room was spectacular, but we already experienced the Falls first hand during the day... Could have saved money across the street at the comfort inn which had free Wi Fi and continental breakfast..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy Trip enjoy it
Business
Iowa
Mar 19, 2013

Only good location

I don't know why is it three star Hotel? I stay in courtyard room, there is unavailable WiFi in my room. But location is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
library
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Apr 11, 2013

Great truck stop

Great location to the casino and the horseshoe falls. staff ok. hotel is dirty and needs lots of updates. not a good hotel for a nice vacation. sleeping rooms only

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jimmydgreek
Business
North carolina
May 20, 2013

2* in a 5* location

Barely a 2 star hotel but it was clean but old, hallways old old carpet wall paper barely hanging on but when we opened the door and saw are view we decided to live with the old hallways, are room was 1129 u could see both falls from r room fairly well but the higher u r the better the view, when I booked they guaranteed floors 10 thru 12 We got on the 11 th floor and were satisfied with room beds were ok pillows average small bathroom with sink outside of bathroom biggest complaint no coffee in lobby have to walk to Starbucks in embassy suites across st

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom Dad and Kids
Business
Pennsylvania
May 28, 2013

great visit, bad hotel

At check in we were required to sign a non-smoking agreement with the threat of a $250.00 fine if they determined we smoked in the room. We had requested a non-smoking room, we do not smoke. The room smelled like there was cigarettes burning in it. When I went to the front desk, they told me that the only other room available was on a lower floor, we barely could see the falls from our room, my fault-fall side of the building does not mean falls view. The front desk person went on to lecture me about how they would need to deodorize the room if we smoked in it (non-smokers!) While her workmate rolled her eyes at me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SnyggeSven
Business
Connecticut
Jul 4, 2013

Nice view but not so impressed about the rest

Normally we do not complain but with kids it is a big neg not to have breakfast available at the hotel, wifi didn't work in the room and no one in the staff said good morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skylon tower, an amazing brunch buffe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top