$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
437 reviews
Great

It was a great expierence, the view was awesome, friendly staff, close to everything. See full review

  • Rene R.
  • Jan 19, 2015
gr8

nice falls view. close to but do keep in mind if you want to use escaltor service there is charge... See full review

  • nileshkumar p.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview

Niagara's boutique style Fallsview hotel, Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls, next door to the Fallsview Casino and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed, and a 14th floor Fallsview observation lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls. The hotel also provides a range of food and drink options to accommodate for guests. Property features a new lobby with pod style check-in, renovated public spaces and rooms, new LED TVs with HD programming in every room and new bedding.

Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a work desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hairdryer, LED TV and Wi-Fi access.
Features

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a boutique destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are newly renovated, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with two on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara offers steaks and seafood served by Canada's only singing servers! There's also an on-site Applebees Grill & Bar for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remingtons of Niagara restaurant is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.

Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview Room - 2 Queen Beds
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Fallsview Suite - 1 King Bed
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Traditional Room - 2 Double Beds
A stylish room located in our courtyard section at an amazing value! Enjoy all of the amenities offered at The Oakes Hotel without the Fallsview. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room comes with two double sized beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Falls Side Room - 2 Queen Beds
A newly renovated room with floor to ceiling windows facing towards the Falls. From floors 4 to 7, this room has a view of the Niagara River. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room includes two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Remingtons of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara is Niagara's award winning steak and seafood restaurant. Remingtons provides an elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remingtons is the ONLY restaurant in canada that features talented singing servers. Try the house specialty slow roasted Prime Rib.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (437)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
437 out of 437
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
X.N.
Business
New York
Apr 17, 2012

The view does not get any better than this!

We booked a fall-view room and cannot be happier with the scenic view just outside of the window. The hotel, while small, is perched on the best spot that overlooks both the American and Canadian Niagara Falls. There are a few cons, but the view really makes up for all of the little irksome issues: 1. The bathroom is a little shabby 2. The coffee maker is difficult to operate (leakage everywhere!) 3. The window sill is dusty (if the hotel boasts a fall view, they should know their customers will open the curtain and will see a dusty window)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

When we went, the hotel has a "Gourmet Package" in promotion. Dinner and breakfast for two at 69 dollars (plus tax) is totally worth it. We didn't drive so was unable to benefit from the winery tasting voucher but it is a good deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJKash11
Business
Philadelphia
May 30, 2012

Couples Escape

My finace and I recently stayed here and were very happy with our visit. We had never been to Niagara and the days were spent mostly trecking around the city. When we were in the room the views were amazing. We had a fallsview room on the 11th floor with jacuzzi tub. The tub was nice also. Rooms and hotel in general could use some updating, but bathrooms were nice and I wasn't disgusted by anything. Parking is $15/day. Biggest plus for this stay was the view and large suite. Great choice for first time visitors but depending on price I would probably try another hotel if I visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veasy
Business
mechanicsville, MD
Jun 1, 2012

Romantic getaway

The location was very convienent to a large variety of restruants and the view from the room could not be beat! We were so close to the falls that our car had spray from the falls on it each day! The jacuzzi tub was big enough for 2 maybe even 3! The pool area was nice, but the fitness center was lacking. Downside was having to pay $15 a day for parking which seemed steep. Nothing at this hotel for kids aside from the pool, really more for adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The brasa brazillian steak house is all you can eat! the keg steak house which is near by as well will cost about the same but is not all you can eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
musakguru
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 29, 2012

Best place to stay at the Falls

It was a great value and by far the best location to the falls. I felt like we had a better viewing experience than the people who paid to go up to the revolving bar to see their view (which is farther away than the Oaks Hotel) I would recommend this place to anyone. The pool was nice, and the staff was pretty friendly overall. Watch out for the expensive soda vending machines though :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy about my VACATION
Business
Destrehan, Louisiana
Jul 12, 2012

BEST VIEW OF THE FALLS!!

Our view was absolutely fantastic, I couldnt close the curtains except for at 5am, when the sun rises. it getss really bright! We were on the 12 floor and you could see all of the falls. No frills at the hotel, but everything was within walking distance, or shuttle. It was clean and comfortable. All hotel personnel was pleasant. I was afraid because of the some of the comments I read before we went, but I was pleasantly suprised!! Lovely vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

ALL dining, directly around the falls is REALLY EXPENSIVE, if you just drive a short distance in any direction, you can find delicious and very reasonably priced food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gurn13
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 13, 2012

best location

The location is unmatched for viewing Horseshoe Falls, but the furniture was visibly worn (this is an old hotel) and the staff was only marginally helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matty ICE 77
Business
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Jul 20, 2012

Couldn't beat this view!!!

We spent 3 nights here hotel was clean, very clean fOr the Price! THE VIEW was remarkable well worth the price of the room. It was a walk to Clifton hills were most of the family activities were but we made it twice it wasn't bad. They did have a few hidden fees 16.95$ per night for parking which they told me was only going to 15$ at check in. The room had no mini fridge they apparently had some that we're for rent but they were all rented out when we arrived didn't verify a price, but we just went to the LCBO bought two reusable grocery bags and filled them with ice to keep the drinks cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go the vinayrds just a short drive down the parkway and you will be amazed at the amazing wineries they have! The bell man at our hotel was great for information about this and even provided a number maps and complimentary tasting card!! Try the ice wine it's something we don't have in the states that was Awsome!! Enjoy !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail Ellen
Business
Oakes Hotel Falls View (Niagara Falls)
Sep 17, 2012

Great hotel

We had a room on the 12th floor and we couldn't have had a better view of the Horseshoe Falls. I'd highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We purchased the $69, plan for a couple which entitled us to a free breakfast and free supper with free wine tasting at 4 wineries. What a deal!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KritiK
Business
Essex
Sep 20, 2012

Perfect view of Falls

Was up on14th floor with a Fallsview room - perfect view of The Horseshoe Falls and can also see the 'Amercian' Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mystified
Business
Niagara Falls, ON, Cananda
Oct 15, 2012

Amazing View

Had a room overlooking Horseshoe Falls, fantastic view! We were able to walk to anything we wanted to do. Make sure you get the upgraded room. We had the $55 a night room which was very dumpy, but were able to upgrade for $30 per night. We didn't expect the $15/night parking cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top