$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
425 reviews
Best View of the Falls

This is the absolute truth and the location could not be better. The hotel staff was friendly and... See full review

  • k white
  • Oct 19, 2014
The Best Hotel Stay

The view was fantastic as advertised and staff cordial and professional. We took advantage of the... See full review

  • Warren and Kathy
  • Oct 3, 2014
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (425)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
425 out of 425
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lscheu
Business
Basel, Switzerland
Apr 11, 2012

Hotel at the Niagara Falls

We received all we asked for. The promised room with view was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brazilian Restaurant Copacabana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jersey devil
Business
New Jersey, USA
Apr 14, 2012

spring vacation

Hotel was nice and cant get any closer to the falls.The only thing that you had to pay to park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
X.N.
Business
New York
Apr 17, 2012

The view does not get any better than this!

We booked a fall-view room and cannot be happier with the scenic view just outside of the window. The hotel, while small, is perched on the best spot that overlooks both the American and Canadian Niagara Falls. There are a few cons, but the view really makes up for all of the little irksome issues: 1. The bathroom is a little shabby 2. The coffee maker is difficult to operate (leakage everywhere!) 3. The window sill is dusty (if the hotel boasts a fall view, they should know their customers will open the curtain and will see a dusty window)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

When we went, the hotel has a "Gourmet Package" in promotion. Dinner and breakfast for two at 69 dollars (plus tax) is totally worth it. We didn't drive so was unable to benefit from the winery tasting voucher but it is a good deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJKash11
Business
Philadelphia
May 30, 2012

Couples Escape

My finace and I recently stayed here and were very happy with our visit. We had never been to Niagara and the days were spent mostly trecking around the city. When we were in the room the views were amazing. We had a fallsview room on the 11th floor with jacuzzi tub. The tub was nice also. Rooms and hotel in general could use some updating, but bathrooms were nice and I wasn't disgusted by anything. Parking is $15/day. Biggest plus for this stay was the view and large suite. Great choice for first time visitors but depending on price I would probably try another hotel if I visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veasy
Business
mechanicsville, MD
Jun 1, 2012

Romantic getaway

The location was very convienent to a large variety of restruants and the view from the room could not be beat! We were so close to the falls that our car had spray from the falls on it each day! The jacuzzi tub was big enough for 2 maybe even 3! The pool area was nice, but the fitness center was lacking. Downside was having to pay $15 a day for parking which seemed steep. Nothing at this hotel for kids aside from the pool, really more for adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The brasa brazillian steak house is all you can eat! the keg steak house which is near by as well will cost about the same but is not all you can eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
musakguru
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 29, 2012

Best place to stay at the Falls

It was a great value and by far the best location to the falls. I felt like we had a better viewing experience than the people who paid to go up to the revolving bar to see their view (which is farther away than the Oaks Hotel) I would recommend this place to anyone. The pool was nice, and the staff was pretty friendly overall. Watch out for the expensive soda vending machines though :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy about my VACATION
Business
Destrehan, Louisiana
Jul 12, 2012

BEST VIEW OF THE FALLS!!

Our view was absolutely fantastic, I couldnt close the curtains except for at 5am, when the sun rises. it getss really bright! We were on the 12 floor and you could see all of the falls. No frills at the hotel, but everything was within walking distance, or shuttle. It was clean and comfortable. All hotel personnel was pleasant. I was afraid because of the some of the comments I read before we went, but I was pleasantly suprised!! Lovely vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

ALL dining, directly around the falls is REALLY EXPENSIVE, if you just drive a short distance in any direction, you can find delicious and very reasonably priced food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gurn13
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 13, 2012

best location

The location is unmatched for viewing Horseshoe Falls, but the furniture was visibly worn (this is an old hotel) and the staff was only marginally helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matty ICE 77
Business
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Jul 20, 2012

Couldn't beat this view!!!

We spent 3 nights here hotel was clean, very clean fOr the Price! THE VIEW was remarkable well worth the price of the room. It was a walk to Clifton hills were most of the family activities were but we made it twice it wasn't bad. They did have a few hidden fees 16.95$ per night for parking which they told me was only going to 15$ at check in. The room had no mini fridge they apparently had some that we're for rent but they were all rented out when we arrived didn't verify a price, but we just went to the LCBO bought two reusable grocery bags and filled them with ice to keep the drinks cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go the vinayrds just a short drive down the parkway and you will be amazed at the amazing wineries they have! The bell man at our hotel was great for information about this and even provided a number maps and complimentary tasting card!! Try the ice wine it's something we don't have in the states that was Awsome!! Enjoy !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail Ellen
Business
Oakes Hotel Falls View (Niagara Falls)
Sep 17, 2012

Great hotel

We had a room on the 12th floor and we couldn't have had a better view of the Horseshoe Falls. I'd highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We purchased the $69, plan for a couple which entitled us to a free breakfast and free supper with free wine tasting at 4 wineries. What a deal!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top